We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
EdPip
Edinburgh, UK

Rather Ordinary Afternoon Tea

Review of Prestonfield
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2016via mobile
We visited Prestonfield House Hotel for afternoon tea following our twin daughters christenings. The weather and setting were wonderful. We decided to sit outside and chairs and tables were kindly arranged for us. However service of our champagne high tea was frankly disappointing. First world issues but Meagre portions, forgotten items and confused timings (tea and champagne were served simultaneously) did not leave an impression that we were valued customers. The location is fabulous but for quality service/food The Balmoral significantly better.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£76
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Prestonfield
Free parking
Restaurant
£181
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.4 miles from Prestonfield
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£115
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Prestonfield
£228
  • ibis Styles
    £228
  • Skyscanner.com
    £210
  • Priceline
    £228
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£227
  • ibis
    £227
  • Skyscanner.com
    £215
  • Expedia.com
    £227
1.5 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£144
  • Expedia.com
    £144
  • Skyscanner.com
    £116
  • Hotels.com
    £144
9.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Free parking
£140
  • Priceline
    £131
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Expedia.com
    £140
1.4 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£70
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
9.1 miles from Prestonfield
Free parking
Restaurant
£84
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£112
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
1,303
151
55
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,303
151
55
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb restaurant owners suite highland cattle leather room benjamin franklin lord provost italian room champagne afternoon tea arthur's seat stunning hotel garden room city centre visiting edinburgh royal mile wedding luxury kilts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We were entertained to a first class display of Scottish musicians and dancers. The meal and wine was right up to expectations for a large event similar to a wedding in a marquee. I am sure that had we been in the main hotel they would have provided an extra level of personalised food and service. The hotel was opulent in style - we had chosen to go there for a drink beforehand. It had very special dining rooms with a different atmosphere in each one. Top class venue.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel as part of a mid-week short break with my girlfriend. After leaving the previous hotel feeling very disappointed, I was hoping this one was going to be as good as it appeared on Trip Advisor. We were not let down. What a fantastic hotel, extremely friendly and helpful staff, large bedrooms with great views of the gardens. Huge comfortable bed and to top it off welcome cookies and chocolates.

We had such a great stay that we stayed for a second night. Need I say more?!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rtharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The Prestonfield is a historic and beautifully adorned and scenically surrounded treasure. The staff is friendly and called us by name. They attended to us hand and foot with dignity and respect with each meal and in arranging transportation and helping with baggage. The rooms huge flat screen TVs is just an added bonus after a long day out. It's such a quick and convenient taxi ride into town (less than 10 Pounds each time). And you get to enjoy the quiet, beauty of Arthur's seat behind the golf club. Love this place!!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jasonh5987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for only 2 days and by the second day we were trying to stay 2 more. The hotel itself was beautiful and extremely luxurious. The rooms were something out of a dream(see picture at the bottom). The grounds are filled with peacocks roaming around and other friendly animals. The restaurant there was just as good as everything else. The food was very very good and all of the wait staff were very friendly. I felt more at home than I did staying at a hotel. If you are thinking of going just do it. This is not something to second guess.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank macgabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Recently dined here with family but was not impressed with the service. We had to wait half an hour for a pre meal drink then during the meal the service was slow lacking precision. The food is nicely presented does lack flavour. It appears to be trying hard to be Michelin class with price tag but is not near that. The ambience is lovely.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mojo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews