We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£576
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
David J
Dorking, United Kingdom

Fantastic

Review of Prestonfield
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Sept 2016via mobile
This impressive building is decorated to death inside, but it is classy rococo rather than rococo cuckoo.

Staff excellent, dinner brilliant and good value, wine list extensive but some reasonable price options if you can resist the £5,000 Petrus listed. We went for a £34 Malbec which was delightful

As one of Edinburgh's top hotels it is pricey but for a treat for a night well worth it
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge
£188
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
0.8 miles from Prestonfield
Free parking
Restaurant
Travelodge
£230
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.4 miles from Prestonfield
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Travelodge
£221
  • Lol.travel
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.7 miles from Prestonfield
Exterior
Travelodge
£120
  • Lol.travel
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
9.1 miles from Prestonfield
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis Budget
£180
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £178
  • Hotels.com
6.3 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£420
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £419
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £216
  • Expedia.com
    £373
1.8 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • ibis Styles
    £476
  • Hotels.com
    £476
  • Expedia.com
    £477
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    £292
  • Expedia.com
    £293
1.5 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveller rating
1,299
151
55
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,299
151
55
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb restaurant owners suite highland cattle leather room benjamin franklin lord provost italian room champagne afternoon tea arthur's seat stunning hotel garden room city centre visiting edinburgh royal mile wedding luxury kilts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

A really nice hotel. Suited a little far from the city center, but it is quiet and peaceful.
Peacocks on their lawn.
The room is clean and have character. They are sister hotel with the Witchery. Staff is extremely friendly and you can see they do care when they ask your opinion just to make your stay better.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Foxx_XX18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We attended as two couples for a late dinner after the busy Festival. A large old manor house impeccably furnished as per the status of a Scottish wealthy gentlemen. Staff were very attentive and meals were uniformly excellent with a quality country uniqueness. Wine selection was one of the best I have seen. Retired to the deer room for coffees.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O1741QKkevinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We visited Prestonfield House Hotel for afternoon tea following our twin daughters christenings. The weather and setting were wonderful. We decided to sit outside and chairs and tables were kindly arranged for us. However service of our champagne high tea was frankly disappointing. First world issues but Meagre portions, forgotten items and confused timings (tea and champagne were served simultaneously) did not leave an impression that we were valued customers. The location is fabulous but for quality service/food The Balmoral significantly better.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank EdPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We were entertained to a first class display of Scottish musicians and dancers. The meal and wine was right up to expectations for a large event similar to a wedding in a marquee. I am sure that had we been in the main hotel they would have provided an extra level of personalised food and service. The hotel was opulent in style - we had chosen to go there for a drink beforehand. It had very special dining rooms with a different atmosphere in each one. Top class venue.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel as part of a mid-week short break with my girlfriend. After leaving the previous hotel feeling very disappointed, I was hoping this one was going to be as good as it appeared on Trip Advisor. We were not let down. What a fantastic hotel, extremely friendly and helpful staff, large bedrooms with great views of the gardens. Huge comfortable bed and to top it off welcome cookies and chocolates.

We had such a great stay that we stayed for a second night. Need I say more?!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rtharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews