We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£328
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
£316
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DavidDundonald
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Afternoon Tea at the higest level.
Review of Prestonfield
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Sept 2016
Pick a sunny day, secure a reservation and there is no better place in Edinburgh to spend a couple of hours.

Eat your own body weight in sandwiches, cakes and scones and wash it down with a selection of teas and Champagne if you're feeling flush.

Quite rightly, people come here not just for the Afternoon Tea, but for the setting. A stunning building which dates back to 1687, superbly manicured lawns and even a couple of friendly Peacocks.

Prestonfield oozes class.
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.8 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior view
6.3 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.7 miles from Prestonfield
Pool
Restaurant
1.6 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
1,295
151
55
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,295
151
55
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb restaurant owners suite highland cattle leather room benjamin franklin lord provost italian room champagne afternoon tea arthur's seat stunning hotel garden room city centre visiting edinburgh royal mile wedding luxury kilts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My mother treated me to a night here for the two of us to celebrate my 30th birthday and the whole experience was incredibly special to match the occasion! I find it impossible to imagine a more lavishly and sumptuously decorated hotel. The attention to detail in the furnishings is surely unsurpassable. It is an absolute feast for the eyes I'm happy to say that our room was as equally incredible as the rest of the hotel. The staff here are extremely tentitive and are always ready with a smile to assist your every need. The breakfast was to die for and while we didn't have our evening meal in the restaurant, we have eaten there before and know it to be simply amazing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to feel like a complete King or Queen for the duration of their visit to Edinburgh....

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful venue! Staff are welcoming and friendly.

The events venue is perfect! The grounds are stunning.

I would absolutely recommend visiting this hotel and restaurant should you have the opportunity. I was really impressed!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter & I stayed at Prestonfield to celebrate her 30th Birthday. We weren't disappointed. We have eaten at Rhubarb previously & so knew what to expect. I can't imagine being anywhere more indulgent, totally opulent,fabulous & sumptuous. Around every every corner there is a surprise....theatre doesn't begin to cover it! I'm pleased to say that the staff were every bit as attentive as you might hope, without exception. They were all very friendly & had great characters! There were 2 functions on while we were there & they were very busy but still attention to detail was key at all times. The room was as impressive as the rest of the hotel - as was the corridor!! The beds were VERY comfortable. Beautiful toiletries & we welcomed the lovely fruit, petit fours & homemade biscuits in our room. My only disappointment was that if I had booked directly with the hotel we would have had a bottle of champagne in our room!
Can't wait for an opportunity to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This impressive building is decorated to death inside, but it is classy rococo rather than rococo cuckoo.

Staff excellent, dinner brilliant and good value, wine list extensive but some reasonable price options if you can resist the £5,000 Petrus listed. We went for a £34 Malbec which was delightful

As one of Edinburgh's top hotels it is pricey but for a treat for a night well worth it

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

A really nice hotel. Suited a little far from the city center, but it is quiet and peaceful.
Peacocks on their lawn.
The room is clean and have character. They are sister hotel with the Witchery. Staff is extremely friendly and you can see they do care when they ask your opinion just to make your stay better.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Foxx_XX18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews