We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world elegance, opulent rooms, superb staff!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #3 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Old world elegance, opulent rooms, superb staff!”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I arrived at Prestonfield in the evening, during the January snowstorm, and the entire building was coated with glittering snow - a setting from a fairytale. The Christmas lights were still up and I was greeted by two adorable, hairy, long-horned cows and some noisy peacocks. The staff were very helpful and friendly - Jenny Matthews at the front desk was wonderful and gave me a free upgrade to a larger suite. The room itself was beautiful - lots of leather, wood, antiques and not too over the top like some of the other rooms. I loved the old fireplace in my room! Guests have everything they need - a soft bathrobe, slippers, chocolate, tea, Moulton Brown bath products. You need it, they have it! I was able to borrow the hotel's laptop computer to connect to the internet as well. The bathroom was small, but the old claw foot tub was nice. I loved the smell in the hotel - it smelled of delicious Papier d'Arménie, or Armenian Paper, which is a fragrant paper that smells like benzoin and light incense when lit. There were also bowls of freshly dried lavender lining the halls. Attention to detail and the restoration was incredible - Prestonfield is like a museum. The restaurant Rhubarb is fantastic too. Staying at Prestonfield is a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it - I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    122
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
193
641
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscany, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Here we are again, happy as can be !! Another trip to Prestonfield ! This time with our grown up children and their wives/partners. What a fantastic time - we were in the Churchill Suite this time. For me, not as beautiful as the Franklin but superb just the same. We arrived to our bottles of champagne and chocolates as it was a sixtieth birthday celebration for my husband. The children (!!) were blown away by their rooms ! Just beautiful. We had dinner that night in Rhubarb and like before the menu had delicious choices, presented with great flair. The staff are fantastic and must be one of the hotels greatest assets. One of the loveliest things about Prestonfield is the peace and calm surrounding the hotel itself. You can look out of the window and see peacocks and peahens, highland cattle ambling in the field next to the hotel and you feel as though you are in the country. I have a real problem with city hotels and the noise but this is a true oasis with the most convenient access to a beautiful city. Hopefully we'll be back again soon ! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Stayed at Prestonfield for romantic break away from children. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea but we love the over the top interiors, the small snug rooms you can enjoy pre-dinner and post-dinner drinks, the entrance and hallways. Our bedroom was spacious, great bed, maybe could have done with slightly thicker blankets or a duvet in this weather. Good bath. Lots of light in the room and great to look out to green fields, absolutely no noise. Had dinner in Rhubarb, service from Alastair was fantastic, very friendly and professional. Food really tasty. Sirloin steak very tasty and cooked how I liked it. Asked waiter where source beef from and could only say Scotland, would have liked to know where beef is from, as beef farmers and foodies. Alastair back at breakfast, again service excellent. Overall love this hotel and having been many times for corporate dinners and a wedding was great to stay with partner and have a relaxing time. Cosmopolitan pre dinner was excellent. Has to be one of Scotland's top tourism experiences.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We've stayed at the Witchery 3 times and decided whilst we really enjoyed the opulance and location we fancied a change. Trusting my proposal and other special events to Mr Thompson we thought we'd visit Prestonfields. For people who are suprised at the decor have a look on the Web before you go and crticise it's exactly what is shown.

We received an offer which included a free dinner included in the B&B price which was too god to miss, yet could be taken at anytime of our choosing.

From the moment we arrived the stay was fantastic. Given a personal guided tour, UPGRADED into the Franklin Suite (who originated from near us), a sumptuous dinner,breakfast of equally high quality. An amazing suite, staff of exceptional quality and very polite.

I normally spot small insignificant thiings that others miss and this place was beyond reproach. There was only one negative.......................it rained for the whole 24hrs....still in a place like this we really didn't care.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

As a local resident I have previously had good, if very expensive experiences as a non-resident. I attended a fund raising Burns supper last week and was appalled. After a good start in the Tapestry room things quickly went from bad to worse. Terrible service and awful food. Everyone had run out of steam by the time the speeches started - some 45 mins late. I have put off my nephew wanting his wedding there this year and in telling this story several other people have also had similar stories of enormous disappointment to tell. There were some well kent people there including James Thomson the owner. I trust he was truly ashamed and embarrassed by this event and will have made some attempt to remedy it by the next Burns supper on 4th Feb 2010

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We couldn't believe our luck when we found this place on laterooms- we'd had a meal there during our honeymoon (we'd stayed at the Witchery) and had always said we'd go back to stay. We were not dissapointed, almost nothing had changed since we had last been, which so often happens when you visit a place you really like.

From the minute we arrived we were met by a friendly greeter on the door who took our bags immediately and showed us to the reception desk. We were then offered a seat whilst they registered us. After this we were taken to our room and showed around and wow! What a beautiful room we had. In Edinburgh it is nigh on impossible to find a luxurious hotel with a car park and a fantastic restaurant for the price we paid at the Prestonfield. We almost felt guilty for the low price we paid. The beds were really comfortable and we had a lovely view overlooking Arthur's seat- very peaceful considering we were only minutues from the hub bub of the city.

We had a dinner package included for one of our nights, this was £30 each and there was amazingly a set menu of 3 courses for £30! )but you could use the amount towards the al la carte menu if you so wished). We ate from the set menu and it was superb, delicious and a lovely atmosphere. Service was attentive and at the end of our meal we were offered a seat in one of their many characteristic lounges to drink our coffee. We chose the a lovely lounge upstairs that had a very cosy open fire. I felt so relaxed I almost fell asleep what with the heavy rain outside and the candle lit, cosy open fire room.

Breakfast was not a dissapointment either. We could both choose from the continental buffet breakfast before indulging in the cooked to order menu. The breakfasts are huge and the high standards of their evening food certainly don't appear to drop at breakfast time.

I must admit that despite being a great lover of late rooms we really are hotel snobs and can be quite critical of where we stay however there is really nothing I can be critical of at this hotel. The staff are friendly and make you feel at home, the food is tasty and exciting, the rooms are luxury, the breakfasts are cooked to order and are well worth the few minutes wait and the surrounding are beautiful. You have the option of a taxi into the city centre which is around £7 or there are regular buses you can catch that are 5 mins away from the hotel entrance. This was worth it to get away for the hustle of the city on an evening when your feet were sore and you wanted a cosy night in.

My final impression of the hotel came when my husband was emailed by the hotel after we had left to advise that I had left my hair straighteners behind in the hotel room. They took the trouble to send them to me through the post with no mention of postage costs etc. These sorts of things are what make customers such as us return time and time again.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone -particularly couples who are looking for a really luxurious and romantic break.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleJlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londre
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

It's designer hell. Dark badly lit rooms. Loo roll holder away from the loo. All surfaces covered in objects so no where to put things.

Lip service rather than real service. Bed not turned down even though we were told to leave off the do not disturb sign. News papers ordered not delivered etc.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank londrepyramid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
596 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing