We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decadence and luxury, almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decadence and luxury, almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

The place to stay in Edinburgh for history, style and a definite wow factor. Lovely rooms, beautiful art and more antiques than you can shake a stick at!

The dining rooms are beautiful and atmospheric although perhaps just a little too dark at night.
Food was very good and felt all the more special in such beautiful surroundings.

We walked into the city centre which took around half an hour (5-10mins in a taxi).
Breakfast was comprehensive and satisfying and was served over several hours, allowing an extra lie-in at the weekend.

We found a couple of minor faults which stopped us from giving a five star rating:
- Room was very cold on arrival - radiator had been turned off
- No coffee or milk in the room on arrival and took a while to come when we asked for it (which we had to do twice!)
- No bottle opener to use on the mini-bar
- We ordered bar meals to have in the room one night and haddock and leek pie was substituted for chicken and leek pie; this was very tasty but it would have been nice to know that the haddock wasn't available and given the option to order something else

Overall would recommend this as a place to stay but the attention to detail just took the edge off what would otherwise have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    119
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
181
620
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Hotel is out of the central Edinburgh area to accommodate the golf course, but it's not that far away. The restaurant was excellent and the black pudding there is possibly the best that I've had.

Service was top notch and the stay did not disappoint.

Extra marks for having peacocks roost in the trees nearby and the black tulips lining the way into the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

An amazing place - so close to the centre of Edinburgh and offers so much more than the other top hotels in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skye
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We've just had our second stay at Prestonfield House. Two nights in October 2009 was a wonderful experience, so we came back again for a further three nights.
As soon as you drive through the gates, the usual pressures of life start slip away. Once in your room or suite, and a few sips of the chilled Champagne that await you; you relax and settle into Prestonfield world.
Prestonfield is like no other, Gothic, quiet, very comfortable, and softly lit. It is a hotel, but it doesn't feel like one, and that is their intention. You are encouraged to feel at home, and enjoy your stay.
Friendly and presentable staff look after your every need, especially Jenni Innes who makes sure everything flows smoothly for you. If you don't have business taking you away for the day, there are several rooms to relax in, wood and coal fires keeping you cosy. Staff are unobtrusive but do not forget you. Afternoon Tea at least once in your stay is not to missed.
The quality of food at Prestonfield is superb, true fine dining at its best. The most comfortable dining room we've ever experienced, we love the ample and cosy chairs, and the views from the windows looking out onto Prestonfield's grounds keep you relaxed until you finally drive away, looking forward to another visit.
We've just booked four days for Christmas 2010, returning to a true and faultless gem hidden away in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

I arrived at Prestonfield in the evening, during the January snowstorm, and the entire building was coated with glittering snow - a setting from a fairytale. The Christmas lights were still up and I was greeted by two adorable, hairy, long-horned cows and some noisy peacocks. The staff were very helpful and friendly - Jenny Matthews at the front desk was wonderful and gave me a free upgrade to a larger suite. The room itself was beautiful - lots of leather, wood, antiques and not too over the top like some of the other rooms. I loved the old fireplace in my room! Guests have everything they need - a soft bathrobe, slippers, chocolate, tea, Moulton Brown bath products. You need it, they have it! I was able to borrow the hotel's laptop computer to connect to the internet as well. The bathroom was small, but the old claw foot tub was nice. I loved the smell in the hotel - it smelled of delicious Papier d'Arménie, or Armenian Paper, which is a fragrant paper that smells like benzoin and light incense when lit. There were also bowls of freshly dried lavender lining the halls. Attention to detail and the restoration was incredible - Prestonfield is like a museum. The restaurant Rhubarb is fantastic too. Staying at Prestonfield is a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it - I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Here we are again, happy as can be !! Another trip to Prestonfield ! This time with our grown up children and their wives/partners. What a fantastic time - we were in the Churchill Suite this time. For me, not as beautiful as the Franklin but superb just the same. We arrived to our bottles of champagne and chocolates as it was a sixtieth birthday celebration for my husband. The children (!!) were blown away by their rooms ! Just beautiful. We had dinner that night in Rhubarb and like before the menu had delicious choices, presented with great flair. The staff are fantastic and must be one of the hotels greatest assets. One of the loveliest things about Prestonfield is the peace and calm surrounding the hotel itself. You can look out of the window and see peacocks and peahens, highland cattle ambling in the field next to the hotel and you feel as though you are in the country. I have a real problem with city hotels and the noise but this is a true oasis with the most convenient access to a beautiful city. Hopefully we'll be back again soon ! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

Stayed at Prestonfield for romantic break away from children. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea but we love the over the top interiors, the small snug rooms you can enjoy pre-dinner and post-dinner drinks, the entrance and hallways. Our bedroom was spacious, great bed, maybe could have done with slightly thicker blankets or a duvet in this weather. Good bath. Lots of light in the room and great to look out to green fields, absolutely no noise. Had dinner in Rhubarb, service from Alastair was fantastic, very friendly and professional. Food really tasty. Sirloin steak very tasty and cooked how I liked it. Asked waiter where source beef from and could only say Scotland, would have liked to know where beef is from, as beef farmers and foodies. Alastair back at breakfast, again service excellent. Overall love this hotel and having been many times for corporate dinners and a wedding was great to stay with partner and have a relaxing time. Cosmopolitan pre dinner was excellent. Has to be one of Scotland's top tourism experiences.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing