We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel and wonderful staff”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed here for one night as a very special treat for my birthday and I am now entirely envious of others travellers who are fortunate enough to stay for longer as it was fabulous.
It was a major extravagence to stay in a suite but the experience was worth every penny.
From the drive up to the steps to the tour around the public rooms to being shown our suite I couldn't stop saying wow.
If you don't like dark and decadent then stay elsewhere but for us this was just as opulent and indulgent as we had imagined.....and had hoped for.
The variey of public rooms to sit and laze, drink or read was a treat - the only down side being that staying for only one night meant that we didn't really have enough time to sample them all.
The suite was fabulous - large comfortable bed, gorgeous drapes and fabrics everywhere - very sybaritic aqnd romantic. A previous reveiwer mentioned that they felt there wasn't a place to put anything as all the surfaces were covered with things. We didn't have any trouble finding somewhere to put things and both rooms had drawers galore so I felt spoilt for storage space.
I'm not sure that the bathrooms quite live up to the bedroom and sitting room in terms of decor but to have two of them was indulgent.
Yes, Prestonfield is outside of town a little way but is easily within walking distance and what you lose in immediate proximity to the city centre is more than compensated but a lovely setting and peace and quiet. We came here to get away from it all and it delivered just that. I didn't want to go anywhere once I'd arrived.
Last but definitely not least the staff were wonderful - efficient, couteous, extremely helpful and most of all achieving it without being overbearing or us feeling uncomfortable - in short quite delightful. Even though the building, grounds and rooms are wonderful I really don't think that i would have enjoyed it quite as much without the wonderful guys on the door who helped us in and showed us around and the lovely receptionist who checked us out when we left. In fact all the staff we met.
I just hope that one day we can stay here again .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziegfeld_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

The place to stay in Edinburgh for history, style and a definite wow factor. Lovely rooms, beautiful art and more antiques than you can shake a stick at!

The dining rooms are beautiful and atmospheric although perhaps just a little too dark at night.
Food was very good and felt all the more special in such beautiful surroundings.

We walked into the city centre which took around half an hour (5-10mins in a taxi).
Breakfast was comprehensive and satisfying and was served over several hours, allowing an extra lie-in at the weekend.

We found a couple of minor faults which stopped us from giving a five star rating:
- Room was very cold on arrival - radiator had been turned off
- No coffee or milk in the room on arrival and took a while to come when we asked for it (which we had to do twice!)
- No bottle opener to use on the mini-bar
- We ordered bar meals to have in the room one night and haddock and leek pie was substituted for chicken and leek pie; this was very tasty but it would have been nice to know that the haddock wasn't available and given the option to order something else

Overall would recommend this as a place to stay but the attention to detail just took the edge off what would otherwise have been perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Hotel is out of the central Edinburgh area to accommodate the golf course, but it's not that far away. The restaurant was excellent and the black pudding there is possibly the best that I've had.

Service was top notch and the stay did not disappoint.

Extra marks for having peacocks roost in the trees nearby and the black tulips lining the way into the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

An amazing place - so close to the centre of Edinburgh and offers so much more than the other top hotels in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puddle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We've just had our second stay at Prestonfield House. Two nights in October 2009 was a wonderful experience, so we came back again for a further three nights.
As soon as you drive through the gates, the usual pressures of life start slip away. Once in your room or suite, and a few sips of the chilled Champagne that await you; you relax and settle into Prestonfield world.
Prestonfield is like no other, Gothic, quiet, very comfortable, and softly lit. It is a hotel, but it doesn't feel like one, and that is their intention. You are encouraged to feel at home, and enjoy your stay.
Friendly and presentable staff look after your every need, especially Jenni Innes who makes sure everything flows smoothly for you. If you don't have business taking you away for the day, there are several rooms to relax in, wood and coal fires keeping you cosy. Staff are unobtrusive but do not forget you. Afternoon Tea at least once in your stay is not to missed.
The quality of food at Prestonfield is superb, true fine dining at its best. The most comfortable dining room we've ever experienced, we love the ample and cosy chairs, and the views from the windows looking out onto Prestonfield's grounds keep you relaxed until you finally drive away, looking forward to another visit.
We've just booked four days for Christmas 2010, returning to a true and faultless gem hidden away in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I arrived at Prestonfield in the evening, during the January snowstorm, and the entire building was coated with glittering snow - a setting from a fairytale. The Christmas lights were still up and I was greeted by two adorable, hairy, long-horned cows and some noisy peacocks. The staff were very helpful and friendly - Jenny Matthews at the front desk was wonderful and gave me a free upgrade to a larger suite. The room itself was beautiful - lots of leather, wood, antiques and not too over the top like some of the other rooms. I loved the old fireplace in my room! Guests have everything they need - a soft bathrobe, slippers, chocolate, tea, Moulton Brown bath products. You need it, they have it! I was able to borrow the hotel's laptop computer to connect to the internet as well. The bathroom was small, but the old claw foot tub was nice. I loved the smell in the hotel - it smelled of delicious Papier d'Arménie, or Armenian Paper, which is a fragrant paper that smells like benzoin and light incense when lit. There were also bowls of freshly dried lavender lining the halls. Attention to detail and the restoration was incredible - Prestonfield is like a museum. The restaurant Rhubarb is fantastic too. Staying at Prestonfield is a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it - I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Here we are again, happy as can be !! Another trip to Prestonfield ! This time with our grown up children and their wives/partners. What a fantastic time - we were in the Churchill Suite this time. For me, not as beautiful as the Franklin but superb just the same. We arrived to our bottles of champagne and chocolates as it was a sixtieth birthday celebration for my husband. The children (!!) were blown away by their rooms ! Just beautiful. We had dinner that night in Rhubarb and like before the menu had delicious choices, presented with great flair. The staff are fantastic and must be one of the hotels greatest assets. One of the loveliest things about Prestonfield is the peace and calm surrounding the hotel itself. You can look out of the window and see peacocks and peahens, highland cattle ambling in the field next to the hotel and you feel as though you are in the country. I have a real problem with city hotels and the noise but this is a true oasis with the most convenient access to a beautiful city. Hopefully we'll be back again soon ! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,951 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £180 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing