We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£580
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
BobfaeDunbar
Dunbar

Didn’t quite deliver

Review of Prestonfield
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024via mobile
Our expectations were high given this well established venues reputation. The grounds are beautifully maintained and show off the setting on arrival. The welcome begins even before you go through the door and initial impressions are WOW!

The entrance had a beautiful display of spring bulbs as you go up the stairs towards the main door, the dark plush interior has a very grand and luxurious feel to it. Every member of staff acknowledges you as you are guided to your table excited about what lies ahead. You already feel a bit special.

We were sat at a window in rather grand chairs facing out to allow us to appreciate the view and amazing setting of the hotel. Sadly this also drew our attention to two cracked window panes and appalling paintwork on the grand old window frames.

The meal ( we were there at lunchtime but chose from the a la carte menu ) was excellent and we enjoyed every mouthful. The cheeseboard came with a card detailing the cheese, sadly two of our cheeses clearly did not match the card and we were not advised of any change. A group at the next table asked a couple of questions about the menu and we noted the waitress had to go to the kitchen each time before she could answer.

Overall a good but not great experience which given the cost is a little disappointing.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£315
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £350
  • Agoda.com
    £218
  • Priceline
    £350
1.8 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£311
  • Expedia.com
    £311
  • Skyscanner.com
    £242
  • Hotels.com
    £286
1.6 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£393
  • ibis Styles
    £393
  • Priceline
    £393
  • Hotels.com
    £393
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Travelodge
£217
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Booking.com
£339
  • Priceline
    £339
  • Hotels.com
    £339
  • Expedia.com
    £339
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£100
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
ibis Budget
£128
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £128
6.3 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Free parking
Britannia Edinburgh Exterior
Booking.com
£89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £89
  • StayForLong
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £109
2.7 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    £346
  • Algotels
1.5 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveller rating
1,300
151
55
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,300
151
55
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb restaurant owners suite highland cattle leather room benjamin franklin lord provost italian room champagne afternoon tea arthur's seat stunning hotel garden room city centre visiting edinburgh royal mile wedding luxury kilts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2024

A wonderful and luxurious hotel where we felt very relaxed and pampered with superb service that wasn’t intrusive. The palatial hotel is simply divine and must be enjoyed to its potential. We couldn’t fault anything. Loved it and can’t wait to go back and experience more.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fassfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening in the drawing rooms enjoying drinks! I called up in the day to see if we could come and have drinks even though not having dinner at the restaurant, and most accommodating!Such a fabulous location with amazing staff! Fab drinks choice with delicious drink snacks. Much to look at in eclectic old world charm☺️ thank you so much!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trail28437540949
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Beautiful hotel.
Stunning gardens..

Spent 3 nights here celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary.
Such a special place.
Fantastic staff who were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Thank you to the hotel for chocolates and card given to us for our celebration. It made it even more special.
Had dinner in the Rhubarb restaurant and it was amazing.
Afternoon tea was an anniversary gift given to us by our family and we absolutely loved it.
All the extras that come with the room were very welcoming and all were replaced daily.
Everything you could want to make a comfortable stay had been thought of.
Luxurious and comfortable.
Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleym550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

Given afternoon tea as a gift. We had a lovely afternoon. Beautiful grounds. Very ornate, classic furnishings in the house itself. We were seated in one of the lounges ( to the left on entering). It was comfortable got a bit cool as the sun went down.

There was not an over abundance of food but what we had was delicious. Nice humus, various sandwiches , fillings from local producers, ham and rubard chutney particularly nice, scones x2 were small with cream and jam and cake selection x4 bite size treats. Large sele tion of ts and coffees. Our t arrived swiftly we had a wait quite a bit for the food. It would have been helpful to know there was a bit of wait.
Our t was as a result of the delay cool but on pointing this out, it was immediately rectified.

Room tip: You dont see much or the rest of the house if you sit in the yelow lounge. Go in plenty time to see the grounds
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenibeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

We were gifted an overnight stay & had a wonderful experience. The room itself was beautifully decorated & we really appreciated the extra touches on arrival such as crisps, champagne on ice, cookies & chocolates. Staff were friendly & welcoming.... They couldn't be more helpful. Prestonfield is a long time favourite of ours & we'll definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LTobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews