We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gardens”

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$331.37*
and up
Private Photo Shoot in Edinburgh
Ranked #9 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Botanics offers visitors peace and tranquility amongst its stunning 72 acres in Edinburgh city centre. Founded in 1670, the Garden is acknowledged to be one of the finest in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely gardens in a beautiful part of Edinburgh. You can easily spend a whole day here. Really good restaurant and shop as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nessy22121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,491
    1,196
    204
    36
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you love plants and nature, this is the place to go !
I visited the Royal Botanic Garden on a sunny Spring day, so it was a really nice walk for me. I discovered a lot of colorful trees and flowers, this is a really beautiful place.
There are the glasshouses also (but you have to pay £5 to see them). It sounded very nice to go and see them, but unfortunatly, it was closed the day I went (in April 2014) and I think they are still closed, so if you are going especially for them, just check on their website before your visit :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucieJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Royal Botanic Garden is a beautiful place right off the main strip of Princes Street. It is a very calm, tranquil place with great views of the city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better than Kew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've visited many Botanic Gardens from Singapore to Oxford over the years. Edinburgh is as gem, the labelling and themed exhibits are brilliant. The glasshouses are very like the biomes they try to emulate, The shop and cafe provide a welcome break from the rain if required. Some of the glasshouses were closed for maintenance when we visited but that provides an excuse to visit again. Well worth a few hours - and its free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Edinburgh delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a few hours to spare yesterday before getting the flight home. As we met the curator at a Wisley "do" recently, we decided to visit.
Easy to find, well signposted and free roadside parking on weekends. Free to enter although we paid £5 each for a conducted tour which was worth every penny as the guide had amazing knowledge of the plants, trees and history of the site that we simply couldn't get on our own.
Fabulous place and a credit to those who run it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing