We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very Royal Botanic Garden - Edinburgh”

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
US$331.37*
and up
Private Photo Shoot in Edinburgh
Ranked #9 of 395 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Botanics offers visitors peace and tranquility amongst its stunning 72 acres in Edinburgh city centre. Founded in 1670, the Garden is acknowledged to be one of the finest in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very Royal Botanic Garden - Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The RBG is free for all, and while they do charge for entry into the enclosed Glass Buildings, this nominal fee would certainly not inhibit active gardening types/aficionados from paying. The grounds are simply world class, as are all the goods and services offered.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RGWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,498
    1,202
    204
    36
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens especially the Chinese gardens.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

What a beautiful gardens we have in Edinburgh. Free entry and a day to spend a picnic in. Walking round and seeing such lovely
Scenery and plant life. Rockery gardens. Ponds and big green houses with tropical plants. Well worth a visit. You would certainly go again. Relax on the grass with a book, while taking in the beautiful views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Loved the place everything so organised and beautiful..It is free but it is worth paying 5pounds to see 10 rooms with glass around where they grow many exotic trees and plants from all over the world..Really amazing!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrpa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, but very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Visited August 2013

The Royal Botanic Gardens of Edinburgh are situated a short drive outside of the centre of Edinburgh by distance but actually driving there is a nightmare, as is all driving in Edinburgh. There is no specific parking for the gardens so you have to rely on street parking so this is pretty much down to chance. We managed to get parked for free nearby because it was a Sunday but make sure you check the parking arrangements on the specific day you go.

There is a large visitor centre as you go in which has a café. Food options in the area are limited to the café in the centre and a snack van outside the park across the road - I don’t like to eat in these places because they tend to be overpriced, so we ended up at the snack van across the road which only has very limited options so I would recommend eating beforehand (just for clarity, we didn’t check out the café in the gardens so I can’t say anything about the price or quality of their food, it’s just my general point of view that such places are poor value for money so we avoid them).

The garden itself is pretty nice and well kept as you would expect. It’s quite large so it can take a couple of hours to get around - there is plenty to see so it’s worth the time, especially as the attraction is free. The highlight for me is the artificial waterfall situated near the back of the garden which I was really impressed with.

It can get quite busy so be aware of this if you’re not a fan of crowds. I wouldn’t say it was a major point of concern, just an FYI for those not fond of crowds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The gardens were absolutely lovely! Well laid out with several different climates and zones represented from areas through out the world. In particular, we enjoyed the green houses, especially the water lilies! We had never seen such large ones before. Well worth the visit, if you go to Edinburgh.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaBatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing