We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Underwhelmed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really Underwhelmed!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed at the Malmaison in Leith in April as we were visiting The Kitchin for dinner. We have a Mal in Aberdeen and was expecting something of a similar class but unfortunately was really disappointed, The hotel needs refurbishing in my opinion, room is no better than any budget chain hotel, nowhere near as good as the Aberdeen hotel. We were also woken up at 4.30 in the morning with the fire alarm going off, obviously these things happen but after assembling outside to await the fire brigade, we were then ushered back to our rooms, just settled back into bed then it went off again, then again and again, obviously a fault with the system and someone was standing next to it, disabling the alarm every time it sounded. We were handed an apology letter on checking out but no explanation and no offer of anything for the inconvenience or disturbance. All in all, the hotel needs some money spent on it and if it wasn''t for the location to the restaurant we were visiting we would not have stayed there. Next time we go to Edinburgh, Malmaison will not be our choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    706
    359
    139
    52
See reviews for
163
1,099
40
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry City Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it. The breakfat was great and the service too especially from the Yorkshire girl on reception (sorry we did not get your name) who looked after us so well and despite a small complaint ensured that we went to Malmaison in Glasgow for 3 nights that we were really looked after thank you. The location is really good with lovely restaurants and cinema and shopping to hand once you navigate through Leith which is much more pleasant once you get to the port. I would return and the hotel was mostly very quiet ensuring plenty of rest which we both do like on holiday

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the side of the hotel and port was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inishowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a romantic weekend break. We chose the Malmaison in Leith because of its location on the port and the number of fantastic restaurants near by. The Malmaison is located right on the port within minutes walking distance of all the restaurants which was ideal. The staff are very friendly and attentive and looked after us well. The room was a little tired but clean and acceptable. I did not choose to eat at the hotel as the choice of restaurants around Leitfh is fantastic, these range from amazing fish restaurants to Award winning Chinese, Indian, French and of course the Michelin star Kitchin restaurant. I will certainly recommend staying in this area and I would not hesitate in recommending the Malmaison.

Room Tip: It is always worth asking for an upgrade as the staff are more than happy to oblige if they have ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Edinburgh. We enjoyed our stay- the hotel was easy enough to find (bearing in mind it is a listed building therefore not allowed big ugly signs) and in a good location if you want to be away from the city centre and instead be near all the restaurants in Leith. The bus route was close by (a couple of minutes' walk) and they took around 20 minutes to get to Princes Street. The buses were regular, around every 10 mins even on Sundays, and a day-pass was around £3.60.

The room was spacious and clean and had more charisma than a lot of chain-hotel rooms. It was a little noisy- I was woken up by the people in the room next door talking early in the morning; I think because there was an adjoining door between our rooms, and I am a light sleeper! We didn't eat at the hotel but we had some cocktails at the bar, which were good, and ordered late-night room service one night, which was quick (just cheese on toast).

The reception staff were friendly and helpful; they let us use their printer to check in for our return flight. There was also free internet in our room.

Nearby restuarants/cafes to try include The Shore (best fish and chips ever) and Mimi's Bakehouse for brunch is an absolute must. Both are within 3 mins walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We went to Edinburgh to attend The Taste of Edinburgh event which was superb. We chose to stay at Malmaison at Leith as we thought it would enrich our weekend experience. How wrong we were.
The building itself, on the waterfront in Leith, is impressive and the decor throughout the hotel cannot be faulted but these first impressions proved to be misleading. We stayed in room 301, a nice enough room but the window looked out on to an extremely squalid enclosed 'pit' which was filthy and infested with feral pigeons. The room was very stuffy and on opening the window we experienced the incessant whir and drone emanating from a bank of air conditioners mounted on the wall across the yard. These were never switched off, even in the middle of the night, resulting in regular sleep disturbance. I estimate that at least another twelve of the hotel's bedrooms will face on to this area.
On a positive note the breakfast was very good but turn up early or you are shifted off into the bar.
You can create all of the style you want but if you cannot guarantee customers a comfortable nights sleep it just doesn't work. (please check out other peoples reviews for photographs of 'the pit')

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out on to'the pit'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

we arrived around 10 in the morning and received an extremely warm welcome at reception. Thankfully our room was ready so we could really get on and enjoy our short stay.

The room was really well appointed and comfortable. It was showing signs of ware and tear, but nothing more than you get in most hotels. We got a great deal, and I think if we had paid full price I might have been a bit disappointed with the general up-keep in the room.

We had a few drinks in the bar, which I have to say wasn't that comfortable and the waitress that was serving had to be the most grumpy and infriendly hotel employee i've ever come across. Before turning in at night we intended going back to the bar, but there was a wedding on and you couldn't even get through the door. So the advertised facility wasn't available - again a big let-down.

Breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection and great quality food. Here the service came back to what we expected with courteous and efficient staff.

Overall the ambiance of the hotel is great and the rooms comfortable. I would stay again, provided I got a good deal - but would probably want to check if they had any events planned before hand!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel it self is very nice, but my only problem was the poor service at the front desk. Anytime I asked for a suggestion to go somewhere I could never get an answer. To be more of a vacationing hotel I would expect the front desk to easily know where to eat. Other than that the hotel was very good

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#63 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,278 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,276 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing