We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough - but daring? Hardly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough - but daring? Hardly.”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Malmaison sits in a pleasant corner of the old dockland area of Leith, nowadays partly regenerated and gentrified though still, it must be said, an area in transition. The neighbourhood is home to several of Edinburgh's better restaurants, notably The Kitchin and Martin Wishart. The hotel is in an old, restored building of some character, at least on the outside. It's easy enough to reach from central Edinburgh by taxi (about£8) or bus - best bet is probably the 22, which passes within about 200 yards.

Reception was friendly, helpful and efficient. Other staff were notably friendly. The room I had was reasonably large, with a good bathroom and excellent shower. It was clean. The products in the bathroom were Malmaison's own but seemed of adequate quality. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The decoration was in good condition with only one or two scratches or marks. The colour scheme featured shades of beige and chocolate. There was a television, radio/CD and minibar. The television picture was poor on some channels and radio reception wasn't great, either.

The only sustenance immediately visible in the room was a 500ml bottle of house wine priced at £14.75. There appeared to be no kettle, cups, or anything with which to make tea or coffee, nor were there any complimentary biscuits; the water was priced at £1.75. All of that made the room seem less welcoming than it might have been.

The public areas of the hotel were in good condition, with few marks or scuffs.

Breakfast was served in the Brasserie and there was a buffet featuring various cereals, yoghurts, fruit, croissants and pastries. A cooked breakfast was also available to order. The breakfast service was a little disorganised; I had almost finished a continental breakfast before I was asked (roughly 15 minutes after sitting down) if I wanted anything cooked.

I didn't eat in the hotel,but I did have a look at the Brasserie menu in the bedroom. Whoever is responsible for marketing has decided that there is something 'daring' about the Malmaison and that theme was echoed in various small ways, though I was struggling to identify anything very daring in my beige box, except possibly the price of that bottle of wine. This theme has been carried through into the menu and the chef tells us that he is 'daring to go local', or words to that effect, elaborating on this by saying that produce from Midlothian is being used. These days, there is nothing remotely 'daring' about using local produce; it's practically compulsory in any restaurant that claims even modest competence. So the claim is idiotic. Secondly, try as I might, I could find nothing on the menu that claimed to be from Midlothian. There was beef from Aberdeenshire and smokies from Arbroath, which is fair enough: but why make vague claims about local sourcing without carrying them through into the menu? Whoever's responsible for this vacuous nonsense needs to get out more. The chef needs to tell the marketing department where to go and then focus on producing a menu that really does celebrate the good food to be found in the Lothians.

Overall, then, a reasonably pleasant stay, enhanced by friendly staff but slightly marred by a rather penny-pinching approach and clumsy, witless, marketing and presentation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suilven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    686
    350
    136
    48
See reviews for
160
1,070
38
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Sadly I did not enjoy my stay here. I haven't stayed in a Mal Maison for a long time. I used to consider the hotel group to be a good solid, easy to stay hotel with all you need for an over night stay.

This trip was a quick over night stay but sadly even though it was just to sleep, I was very disappointed. The hotel is old now and it looks like it needs a good refurb. The corridors are tatty and the paint on the doors and walls is worn.

The bedroom is completely basic. No dressing gown, no slippers - nothing to make the stay comfortable. Sadly I think my days are over with the Mal Maison group.

Location is a little outside of the main city centre but it's only a short taxi ride to get anywhere in Edinburgh. If I was spending £150, I wouldn't choose the Mal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a great location for a stay in Ediburgh, loads of great local restaurants to choose from

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGetalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Malmaison in located in the leith docks are which has loads of lovely bars and restaurants surrounging it. The hotel itself is an attractive old building overlooking one of the dock basins. Staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we definitly couldnt fault the service. Our room although small was adequate, but there are a few issues that made it a less than perfect experience. Issue 1: the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in! The mattress was solid and the springs weren't sounding too healthy either, given the main reason for staying in a hotel is sleep this has brought it down to 3 stars in my eyes! Issue 2: The rain shower was great however the flow seemed to be a little too much for the drain in the bath to cope with and the deluge overspilled the bath resulting in a rather wet floor in the bathroom. The final Issue, and it does have to be said that this isnt just a malmaison issue, it seems common throughout the world of hotels: the hotel room was obviously designed by a man! When mirrors and sockets are being positioned it seems there is no thought given to women putting on make up and doing hair using the numerous instruments of torture that require electricity! The mood lighting is great but we need a bright light and a mirror with a socket under it to allow us to look good enough to put the mood lighting to good use!!!!

Room Tip: The bed in 124 is to be avoided!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My Husband and I stayed here with our three dogs! I am always amazed that hotels of this quality will not only accept dogs, but three at once.

We booked a standard double (£119.00 bed and breakfast) the room was excellent, a good size at the end of a corridor with french doors which the dogs loved, they happily lay watching the world go by, we were offered baskets and bowls, but prefer to take our own.

the bed was enormous and very comfortable, when I booked I was asked if I had any special requests, extra pillows , blankets etc.

The breakfast was excellent, a continental buffet followed by a large choice of cooked to order dishes.

I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Never been disappointed with this place. I use it for business and can normally get a good rate off their website. Food and wine excellent. Yes they take a pre authorisation on your card when you arrive( another reviewer queried this) but that is standard practice in any top quality hotel. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Having stayed in several Malmaison hotels, including this one several times, this time we were distinctly underwhelmed. Reception staff friendly, but the rooms and interior were tired and a bit shabby. Our room on the first floor was very dark, 'complemented' by the brown furnishing (not brown in all rooms!), with frosted windows to distract from the brick wall, was pretty dismal. Our fresh milk in the morning did not arrive, petty, but just annoying when you really need a coffee! Previously this would have been my first choice in Edinburgh, not anymore. The once contemporary black wooden floor in the bar area and restaurant are now just scratched and old looking (not in a good way). It seems this hotel, which was once lovely, requires an upgrade, and money spent to bring it up to Malmaison standard that we have come to expect... and pay for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcG0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing