We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem in Leith”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wee gem in Leith”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A very pleasant stay. the staff were great - kindly making a breakfast roll for my weary husband who didn't make it to the restaurant. The hotel is cosy and whilst small is perfectly formed. Lovely bits and bobs in the bathrooms and snacks in the bedroom which is more generous than most hotels. Altogether a warm welcome and in an attractive quayside setting. .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zantegirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    701
    355
    137
    52
See reviews for
162
1,089
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just stayed in the Mal for the marathon last weekend. Bought a package inc dinner and breakfast which seemed a good deal at £210. The hotel is a lovely building minutes out of the centre on the 22 bus, the journey costs £1.40 or a day ticket for £3.50. The hotel is a little 'shabby chic' and could do with a bit of attention in places, a lick of paint on the woodwork etc..
Dinner in the restaurant and the breakfast were fantastic, really delicious food and a nice atmosphere.
I did feel a little messed around having made a pre arrival telephone call and also having asked upon arrival about the possibility of having use of a shower post marathon. If I had been told 'no' straight away then we would have been understanding and accepted this, I was informed that the manager was trying to sort something out for me but then later my wife received a phonecall whilst the marathon was ongoing to say that the manager would be willing to hold a room for use until 16.00 hours for an additional £50!!
For one thing how fast does he think I can run taking into account a very busy journey back to the hotel from the other side of Edinburgh and secondly c'mon 50 quid?!! I think you could have gone the 'extra mile' there Malmaison and given a little bit more attention to customer service and satisfaction especially as the marathon will draw alot of repeat visitors.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirefox18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently married in Edinburgh and most of my wedding guests stayed here. The reservations team and reception staff were exceptional. They went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly. There were lots of nice little touches and the room service breakfast is unlike anything I have ever seen! Highly recommend it. The only thing that stops me giving the Mal full marks is that the drinks and food are very pricey. However, if you want to be spoiled rotten, eat good food and stay in a beautiful location then this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socialoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed at the mal edinburgh for overnight easter weekend, our room was not up to normal Mal standards, was a bitty rundown & in need of some loving care. I have stayed here 4 times now , but feel that maybe standards are slipping.

We aslo had drinks in bar , which was again slightly untidy , crisps spilled over the floor .

We had food in the the hotel , the food was of good standard & the waiter was very happy to help.

Mal you can do better..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at Malmaison for 4 nights in May and were very happy with our stay. On arrival we were given the option to updgrade from the basic double room that we booked to a superior room for an additional £15 per night or to a suite for an additional £30 per night. We took the superior room and we were very pleased we did. We were given a large room with a view of the city skyline through a floor to ceiling window. We had a comfortable 6ft bed with duvet and feather pillows with a large plasma screen tv at the foot of the bed. For those interested in the TV some premium channels such as sky sport were included in the room rate. There was also a lounge area in front of the window with a coffee table and 2 plump chairs with foot stool as well as a desk with stool. The in room reception of the free wireless internet was excellent as was the TV reception! I had no problems booking various excursions online, picking up emails etc all via my i phone. The bathroom was spacious and inspite of the cold Scottish climate the room was welcoming and warm. Breakfast in the Malmasion bistro each morning was a very civilised affair with a good buffet selection including some rather lovely pastries! Waiters were on hand to seat you, bring you hot drinks and take your hot food order if you wanted. A menu was available but I found the chef willing to cook what I asked for even though it wasn't on the menu, at no extra cost. The location of the Malmaison is very convenient. Is approx 2 miles outside of the city centre overlooking a canal. We walked into the city one day, a fairly level walk which took around 40 mins at a slow pace. There is a cheap and regular bus service into the city however with the number 22 bus coming by at least every 10 mins for those who don't wish to walk. The yacht Britannia along with the Ocean Terminal shopping centre are just a 5 minute walk away. Finally the surrounding area is teeming with seafood and many other types of restuaurants. All tastes are catered for but I have too say most are quite expensive (but worth it). Its worth making a reservation at the more popular ones, such as Fishers which is opposite Malmasion as they get very busy in spite of the hefty price tag! This hotel is perfect for those wanting a quiet, small upmarket hotel a breath away from the city. The hotel overlooks the canal, a nice area - though beware the area is also surrounded by a working dock so there is lots of industry too but we didn't feel this was detrimental at all. All in all a pleasant stay and I would highly recommend if for location, comfort, service and value for money.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a superior or suite if you can for the extra space and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annon191265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The moment you arrive you feel relaxed. Simple as that. A cracking bar, with big comfy cahirs, a super dining rooms and just a wonderful feel to the whole place. I love staying here, so different from too may other hotels in Edinburgh that are a bit chainy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed last weekend at the Edinburgh Malmaison for 1 night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The hotel really is stunning. When we got out of the taxi(which cost £9 from the train station and took about 10 mins) I was quite taken aback by the beautiful building. When you walk into the entrance you pass through 2 structures with flames coming from them. You really feel like some celebrity walking on the red carpet. We were greater by a male receptionist who was very charming and helpful. He offered us an upgrade to a superior room for only an extra £20, but as we were on a budget we opted for the standard we had originally booked. The room was so nice. Spacious with views over the nearby port. The room had everything you could need - a hair dryer, mini-bar, trouser press, iron and board, amazing toiletries and even a nice card from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary with a voucher for a drink in the bar.

We went down to the bar early evening before heading into town. The cocktails were simply delicious. All the staff were so friendly and really sincere (a rare thing these days in my opinion)

We returned around around 1am and were surprised to see the cafe bar was still open and quite busy. A little night-cap followed.

After a great night sleep, we wend down for breakfast around 9:30. The restaurant was very busy and we waited for around 3 minutes for a table. That said, all the staff seemed very organised and efficient. The breakfast itself came out very quickly and the food was simply stunning. I would return again just to have the eggs benedict.

We had such a wonderful trip to Edinburgh and we will be back and most certainly be staying at the Malmaison once again. Highly reccomended!!!

Room Tip: High floors have views of the nearby port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,328 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing