We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like other Malmaison Hotels - Just started all wrong” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not like other Malmaison Hotels - Just started all wrong”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked to spend a special birthday and wish we hadn't. There is so much choice and competition I should have went for a safe bet - I didn't and wish I had!
The moment I walked in I just knew it would be a big dissapointment. After you battle your way through the smokers to get in I was faced with a receptionist that clearly hasn't been trained properly and the check-in was impersonal, robotic and insulting.
The room was fine, nothing special, nothing really wrong, just a room.
Bar service was shocking - just don't bother. Go out!
Breakfast was very good I should add but enough staff to run an empire - all tripping over each other.
Check out was worse than check in - same girl but this time she bawled out my entire bill, item by item including the room rate (which was NOT good value it turns out) to all, including others checking out. I've never seen the like!
Don't get me wrong. I don't mind paying for service and I'll pay £500 per night (and have) if it's equalled by service and comfort but at £150 per night for this place I felt very short changed.
Easy outcome though. I won't be back..

Room Tip: Don't go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bil1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    661
    341
    134
    47
See reviews for
152
1,040
38
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed the hotel using a itison voucher. The entrance was lovely and the staff were friendly. However the fininsh off the furnishings was poor. The carpet in our room was dull and did not join together. The lift carpet and corridor was dated and freyed. The food was nice, overpriced but nice and the breakfast was a bit dry and not fresh. Would our room have been nicer if we paid full price!!! The immediate surrounding area was nice but we ventured out into leith and it was very unappealing. We got a taxi into the city at a cost of £7.Free parking was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandAndyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

my wife and I stayed for one night for her birthday. Admittedly we only paid £80 for 2 for one night but to be honest that was all it was worth. We have stayed in much nicer hotels than this. The fact that it is classed as a boutique hotel is surprising since it is distinctly average. The public areas are quite shabby in places and the decor is dark and oppressive. We had a lengthy wait for breakfast as everyone seemed to go down at the same time. People were queuing in the lobby to get a table. The tables were very close together and it felt cramped. All in all overpriced and disappointing.

Room Tip: you need to be prepared to upgrade to get a room anything like the publicity photographs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We love this hotel!!! We go a couple of times a year for a weekend away, it is great value for your money if you want all the luxuries but not the ridiculous 'Edinburgh' prices. You also get free wi-fi and free parking. LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: Room 216 has a nice view of the water and is a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in a huge room with two double beds, large TV, free wi-fi, mini-bar, 2 comfortable chairs and a table and a well-appointed good sized en-suite, complete with bath and complimentary toiletries. The second night as it was cold and rainy we decided to have room service and this arrived within 20 minutes and was very good. The hotel also has free parking and is close to Ocean Terminal with lots of shops, restaurants, bars and cinema - this too had free parking so after shopping we left the car in the car park and caught one of the frequent buses into town. The only downside to the hotel was that the lighting was very dim. I overheard someone else remarking on this to the receptionist.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a three night mid-week break last week and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We had stayed here last December so knew what to expect, however this time we up graded to a superior room and it made all the difference. The room had a double aspect over the water of Leith, large bed, sofa etc. etc. The bathroom was also a very good size, with the usual supply of good quality towels and Malmaison toiletries.
I also appreciate that they have good quality coffee and tea's etc. available in the room.
The cooked breakfast is excellent value, (particularly if your remember to pre-book the night before it's a lower price), with more than enough to meet all tastes. I always take the opportunity to have the kippers when staying in hotels in Scotland and the Mal’s kippers are very tasty indeed. Free parking at the hotel is also a bonus.
We also ate in the restaurant (which I will review separately but needless to say it was first class).
Finally, what can make any hotel stay memorable is the staff and once again they were perfect, I cannot speak highly enough of them. In summary it was one of the best hotel stays we have had in the last year and I would highly recommend anyone to visit. (However, please note I believe what made this stay special was upgrading to a superior room).

Room Tip: Choose an upgrade to a superious room overlooking the Water of Leith, you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianx17489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just back from a great two night say with my mum. Booked a superior twin and ended up with a massive room with two double beds! Very good size TV and even had a table and chairs that we enjoyed room service at. Good to have free parking and worth noting that Ocean Terminal just around the corner has free parking for the cinema/shops and restaurants if it’s a bit wet and windy to walk and all the buses to city centre go from here. A few bits here and there maintenance wise could be improved such as a few cracks in tiles etc but overall really nice décor and lovely feel to the place. I booked on the prepay saver rate and was very impressed with what a good deal I managed to get.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetheart559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#65 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing