We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Mal. A Tad Out Of Town Though...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Great Mal. A Tad Out Of Town Though...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

You know you're in for a treat when you stay in a Malmaison Hotel.
Alas this Mal isn't as quirky as their Liverpool offering which has a Beatles theme to it, but don't let that put you off - this is a fine hotel.

The Hotel is located in Leith, which is a tad out of town, but has the benefit of a bit more space, and free car parking too. If you do need to get in to town, (Princes Street, etc), it's around 10 minutes away in a cab, or you could take a bus.

There's plenty to do in Leith, and there are some lovely bars and restaurants to enjoy too.

The check-in process was smooth and I was given a lovely room in the newer part of the hotel.
The room had everything I needed, including a lovely big bed.
It was quiet too.

The breakfast was great, with a "help yourself" continental part, and an "order off the menu" part for anything hot.

This is a fun hotel. The design / decor has been well thought out and cleverly implemented.

You'll enjoy your stay in this hotel, and I'm sure you'll like the surrounding area too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    676
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,060
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We've returned today from a 3 night stay at the Edinburgh Malmasion and it was a wonderful Christmas treat. Our room was spacious and bright, with a little plate of mince pies and satsumas on the table with a personalised Christmas card to greet us. The hotel is an old seamans mission building, in an area of Edinburgh that has become more popular and there is an array of restaurants from which to choose for dinner should you wish to give the Malmaison brasserie a miss.

Breakfast each day was perfect, and the staff attentive and friendly. Super Hendricks gin and tonics in the bar too!

Having stayed at Malmaisons Glasgow and Newcastle, the Edinburgh version holds its own, but the bedroom furnishings do not feel as luxurious as Newcastle .... indeed, my only minor point is that the curtains were very dusty at the top, and a very cheap looking curtain pole meant that they did not hang correctly. (Housekeeping, check room 327 curtains in the top left hand corner - they need a brush!)

That said, it was a wonderful stay, and I'd go again for Christmas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, as it overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auldreekie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel after having several lovely meals in the brasserie. Found what was a good rate so booked it for my partners birthday and mentioned his birthday when booking.(I thought we'd maybe get a little something extra) In reality we got a bog standard room looking onto the road and some industrial units. The room itself was nothing special and there was a terrible draught at the window. Furniture was very bland. Lovely looking bottle of wine sitting on the desk and I thought perhaps it had been left for my partners birthday. However on closer inspection there was a price tag round the neck. As stated I got a good rate for this stay but certainly wouldn't pay any more to stay here again. All in all not the worst but not brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougall71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

This is the third Malmaison Hotel we have stayed in,previously stayed in Newcastle and Glasgow Hotels which we loved.I very much enjoyed staying at the Hotel over the Christmas Holiday it was quiet and peaceful,room spacious with a view over the rooftops of Arthur's seat and the Castle.( The only flaws with the room were a) Lighting, i am a big fan of mood lighting but would have appreciated option of turning up lighting on bedside lamps to enable better light to read by,B) Curtains,not as luxurious as in the other Mal Hotels
Nice bar and restaurant, breakfast was pretty good.
Great location close to a Multiplex and the Ocean Terminal shopping Centre,nice bars/Restaurants.
Contrary to other ttavellers comments it is within a 2 minute walk of a bus stop,which will get you into centre of town in 10/15 minutes

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uppercraigorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed for a romantic getaway and Malmaison was enchanting. The hotel gave us a room in one of the turrets - which felt private and lovely, fantastic windows. Lovely toiletries and Malmaison touches, stunningly decorated room, great cocktails (the peach Bellini was the best Bellini ever with fresh ripe peach purée - blissful!) and fantastic dinner in the Brasserie. Great service.

The fantastic city that is Edinburgh - and what a place to stay to see it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I'm a big fan of Malmaison hotels - I think this is the fourth I've stayed in, and I've been impressed by all of them so far. Definitely a cut above other similarly priced hotel groups.

We always go on a Sunday evening when they run the Sunday Stopover deal. You get the room for £25 (or £35 for an upgrade) when you spend £65 in the brasserie - very easy to do once you've had a couple of courses and a bottle of wine. This makes it a really reasonable stay.

Our room, which was just a standard one I think, was very nice - quite narrow but very long, with a lovely bathroom and separate area for the wardrobes and tea and coffee facilities. Malmaison beds are always very comfortable and this one didn't disappoint. As we were in one of the back rooms, the view wasn't great as you could just see a block of flats opposite, but obviously that's a tiny complaint.

Dinner in the brasserie was fantastic as always. The waiting staff were very welcoming and service was good but unobtrusive. We had the steak frites - the steak was cooked to perfection and the whole meal was delicious. Unfortunately couldn't manage a dessert! There was a great selection of wines and the Rioja we ordered was perfect.

We didn't visit the bar or have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on those. If you're staying here but haven't booked breakfast, then I'd recommend The Granary, which is just a few minutes away from the hotel opposite the Cruz boat.

All in all, really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning at some point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer the front of the hotel so you have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINNER, MIDDLESEX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have stayed at the Malmaison Hotel by the shore in Edinburgh a couple of times before, but hadn’t been back for a while until last weekend. Yet again I wasn’t disappointed, with the friendly staff, excellent food and a management who actually care about their customers.
We had a meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening with my cousins and their daughter who is undergoing intensive treatment for a form of cancer. She actually came out of her hospital bed that evening just to come and be with us at Malmaison for the evening. The staff were brilliant and ran about after us catering to our every need, including supplying cushions, making sure that we had the right table for us, for the comfort of our family member and then even helping to choose the best of the menu, even though everything is wonderful. I would definitely recommend the steaks as they are the best I have experienced since I visited L.A. Perfectly cooked just the way you ask them to be and melt in the mouth. The breakfast is also worth going for as they have a wide selection from the continental range, plus various cooked breakfast’s to set you up for the whole day.
The bar area is also very comfortable with a good selection of cocktails etc., and an excellent bar food menu too.
The rooms are boutique style, some being bigger than others, but with comfortable beds and surroundings. The only down side is that the lighting although perfectly adequate can be a bit difficult putting makeup on. I did mention this to the general Manager, who said that they were looking into this, as they are consistently improving their rooms.
The surrounding area is very pleasant with the Water of Leith alongside the hotel with cobblestone pavements, leading to several good restaurants and the centre of town only a five minute taxi ride away.
I would say that Malmaison is a great small hotel away from it all, but not far from any of the attractions of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IR2HELPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing