We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sign of the Times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Forfar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sign of the Times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We take advantage of the Malmaison Sunday Stopover offer. You pay £10 for your accommodation but then have to spend £75 in the bar of restaurant, making the total price for two people £85 for dinner and bed. This was an excellent deal but whilst the rooms etc were still brilliant we found the restaurant more expensive this time. The price of the steaks, which used to be from Donald Russell, have gone up and all you get with them is half a tomato, no hand cut chips like you used to. In the past you could easily get your dinners and a drink each for the £75 but hard pushed to do that now.

Still worthwhile a visit but watch the price of your meal because there is then a 'discretionary' 10% tip, which is automatically added to your bill and if you dont want to pay it you have to ask for it to be removed!

Lots of excellent restaurants are bars nearby

Room Tip: Rooms to the left, accessed via the reception, are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,061
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leigh on sea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I booked this hotel for my partners Birthday and we stayed in early Dec 2012.
The hotel is in the Leith area which is about 15 mins from the centre of Edinburgh by cab (approx cost each way £8-£10) we also used the local bus service which was good value at approx £1.40 each way or £3.5 for a day pass. A word of advice the buses don't give change so best to have the correct fare.
A bonus with staying a little out of the centre was the free parking that came with the hotel.
The hotel itself is in a gorgeous old building, we were lucky enough to have a room which looked out over the front of the hotel.Our room was lovely absolutely no complaints and the bed was really comfortable.
After a lovely day in Edinburgh which is packed with things to do and see we headed back to the hotel for dinner, the menu had a good choice and the food was delicious but the memorable thing about the restaurant has to be the staff they are friendly,efficient and happy.The manager was there when we left at about 11 and was back the following morning to oversea breakfast, still smiling.Breakfast was included in the room rate and there was plenty of choice from cereal, croissants to the full English and considering how busy it was the staff handled every thing really efficiently.
Check out was the only slight down on the weekend as the receptionist charged for the breakfast however as soon as I pointed out her error she rectified the problem, just may be worth checking the bill as it's easy to rush through checkout.
Edinburgh its self is a stunning city and one I would return too at the drop of a hat.We saw loads in the short time we were there too much to mention.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ml29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel and has nothing but positive things to say! After reading reviews from other people o was worried about many things! Yes the hotel is out of city centre but its located on a beautiful harbour with some fantastic bars and restaurants surrounding! We went into town via taxi and it worked out about £7 each way.
The hotel itself us fantastic! Food lovely & service was spot on! This was a birthday treat & I was so impressed! Our room was amazing! Modern, light, clean & worth every penny! Would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaveyBabey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Well we didn't. We stayed at Malmaison because it's close to Martin Wishart's resturant, where we were eating. We got a great rate, purchased breakfast for half price at reception, the room was large, clean and when we finally got back to our room the bed was comfortable & we slept well. What more do you want from a hotel room? Well there's a decent bar that serves great cocktails & breakfast wasn't bad either. Seem to be lot's of good deals going at the moment to stay at Malmaison.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slusheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Malmaison Edinburgh is a beautiful building on The Shore in Leith, there are great pubs and restaurants around here and its a really great area. When we checked in the receptionist was constantly trying to up sell everything as we were booked under a room only basis, all we wanted to do was check in we did however upgrade by £15.00 to s superior room but am not sure what a standard room is like. Eventually we got our key to our room and went up to it - it was a large room with a fab view of the front of the hotel but the room was so dark, even with all the lights on it was difficult to read our newspapers and kindle. The bathroom was lovely if a little cramped but the water was hot and plentiful. The bed however was as hard as a board, now I love a firm bed but this was ridiculous, but I appreciate that bed firmness is subjective. Another gripe for me was the bedside light, it can only be worked by one switch and it switches both lights on, so it was a right pain when I couldn't sleep and wanted to read - I had to get up walk round the bed then put the light on - for both sides.. come on Malmaison sort that out!
We didn't have breakfast there, we went to Teuchters Landing around the corner and was much cheaper and I imagine much better!! In fact for pub meals in the area that's the place to go in my opinion. Ocean Terminal is a 10 minute walk where you can shop, eat or go to the movies. There are loads of nice restaurants around there that's why Malmaison was chosen by us. Also try Mimi's for afternoon tea..yum!
The Bar at Malmaison wasn't cheap and on Saturday night at 9.00pm there was only about 3 tables with people sat down, but as I say there is a lot of choice in the area.
The room wasn't memorable apart from the darkness and the bedside light switch. I would make sure that if I stayed again I would get a discounted rate from somewhere (we used booking.com) and then its worth it but to pay the costs on Malmaisons own website, I don't think its worth it.

Room Tip: our room 419 had good views but was terribly dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allybee0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellshill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We had an overnight stay in this hotel mid January 2013, wish we hadn,t. Booked dinner bed and breakfast in superior room. On arriving at the hotel, our first impression of the surrounding area, was that of industrial estate, scrap yards etc all round. Didn,t realise we were at the hotel, had to ask a few people in the street, no proper sign saying the name etc, wish we had driven off at that moment. Hotel itself was very clean and reception staff friendly. Hotel very dark, with low voltage lights everywhere, even in the bedroom. My husband had problems reading the morning paper, room was that dark. Dinner was instantly forgettable, with soup tastless, main course fish dish with a little potato and some obscure veg, bes part was the old classic bread and butter pudding. Drinks expensive and little quantities not pint measures, average bottle of Pinot Grigo £33, no non alcoholic drinks available only cocktails, expensive mixture of fruit juices. We had a better time in the little pub across the road (Shore Pub). Wish we had eaten there. Wont be back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: pay extra for surerior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in Malmaison Edinburgh in November 2012 after purchasing an Itison deal. I'm always wary with these deals that you're not going to get exactly what is said on the tin but I cannot fault Malmaison at all.

Our deal included an overnight stay in a superior room, chocolates in our room, a 3-course dinner from a set menu and a bottle of wine. The service was excellent and all the aspects of our deal were honoured.

The room was lovely and spacious with a very comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. I was disappointed that a number of the toiletries in the bathroom provided were actually just empty bottles!

The 3-course set menu was varied and both my partner and I had a lovely meal. The free bottle of wine was also of good quality.

After our meal, we took the remainder of our wine through to the hotel bar and stayed for a couple of cocktails. It was very warm and welcoming although we would have preferred table service in the bar as it wasn't busy and there were 2 members of staff just standing behind the bar.

I can understand for travellers looking to explore Edinburgh that it's not overly handy as it is some distance from the city centre but for a romantic night away it was perfect.

All in all, a really lovely romantic night's stay! Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotshoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing