We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in far better bed and breakfast”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Recently booked Saturday and Sunday nights on the way down from gleneagles to allow my son to look around Edinburgh and the university. We booked largely because I have stayed in other malmaison properties and the hotel had good parking behind the hotel and for a fee our dog could stay in the hotel as per Gleneagles. First impressions were good with the hotel in a nice area although a longish drive into the city centre where all the attractions are. The rooms were fine although the corridors were dark and a bit like a youth hostel. The brasserie was shocking with poor food, dirty tables and a waiter with food stains down his dark uniform. The tables were sticky to touch and had much of the vaneer missing from the edges. They would have been better served just having table clothes. My children pointed to under the table where there was cold chips from-the night before on the floor with used plastic tooth picks next to the food waste. The coffee arrived after a long wait and it was served in a dirty cover jug. The room was kept clean so the problem appears to be the brasserie. The next morning I walked the dog and arranged to meet my family for breakfast at 10 the final serving for breakfast. I arrived at one minute past ten and was told sorry breakfast was closed. I did complain at checkout and was told this was not acceptable but the manager was not available. Rather than wait to complain I settled the 800 pound bill and took my family for breakfast elsewhere at my extra cost. I was told the manager would be in touch by email but again he did not bother to reach out. All in all only stay in the Edinburgh malmaison if you have a dog, or just want a room otherwise would stay in family run bed and breakfast close to the city at half the cost. It would be nice if the manager followed this up and took action but suspect not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for one night of 19th October. It is nicely positioned at the Shore and near a number of excellent restaurants and the Royal Yacht Britannia. However as most of the attractions are off Princes Street it is a little out of the way. We were visiting someone in Leith so it suited us. There is a good bus service but coming back the taxis are in excess of £10 and can be £13 if they take the scenic route. The hotel room was lovely with a light airy feel and light coloured furniture and stocked fridge. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. There was tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast was extra but was very good with an excellent choice of hot and cold food. It was very busy but there were loads of staff and the hot food was served promptly. The only negative was that the bar needed the floor cleaned as food was lying under some of the furniture, which made it seem a tad downmarket. The staff were very efficient and helpful. It cost £179 for one night plus £24 for 2 breakfasts, which is expensive, however the rates for the city hotels were much higher for that weekend and the overall feel of the hotel and the room made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend (25/10/2013 to 27/10/2013). Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly lady on the reception, who pulled out a map and showed us how to get to The Kitchin (where we were having dinner that evening), and the Peacock Inn (our dinner for the next night) and the buses which would get us into the city centre.

The room itself was a great size, decor to our taste. View was of a wall, but oh well, we weren't planning to spend that much time looking out at the view. We had a drink in the bar, which again, had great friendly service. Only had breakfast at the hotel on the last day - the food was okay, not the biggest selection I've ever seen, but fine for our needs.

Overall, a lovely experience with very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is a good property but the staff are sloppy, some not well presented (our waiter in the bar had several food stains I
on his trousers) and the tables in the bar were sticky and covered in crumbs and food waste which the staff took no interest in cleaning up. A very poor experience.

Breakfast in the brasserie was average - cheap supermarket bread for toast and arrived cold, a stark contrast to the home made breads served at my two previous stops, the Traddock in Dumfriesshire and the Trigony House in North Yorkshire.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed last weekend for our first wedding anniversary. Our room was worth the upgrade to a suite. It was very comfortable and a generous size. We ate in the brasserie which was very good as was the continental breakfast especially the home made granola. Overall a lovely stay in a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07cinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from three nights at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was lovely and well appointed. The restaurant was a little on the pricey side but the food was worth it. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and the home-made granola was to die for. Its out of the main city in Leith but buses run regularly to the town centre. There is an excellent shopping mall near by with good shops and places to eat as well as the Royal Yacht Brittania. I've always wanted to stay at a Malmaison and was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The bar and restaurant areas are pleasant and comfortably trendy. They offer a good mix of laid back and more formal dining. We opted to eat in the bar and the food was pleasant and well cooked, but the service was slow. Wine by the glass was very expensive and we would have been very much cheaper sharing a bottle. My room was quite small but adequate and tastefully decorated in typical Malmaison style.
All in all, a good stop-over and venue for catching up with friends or workmates but don't expect it to be particularly special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayjaysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,028 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £83 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing