We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Slow Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #90 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold and Slow Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After waiting 40 minutes for the cooked to order breakfast, it duly arrived, after prompting waiting staff, cold and shriveled ... total rubbish... not what I expect. The potential rip off of the bottle of wine and crisps sitting on your desk in room is a trap for the unwary. This old building with its warren on rooms, nosiey plumbing and dark corridors is not to be recommended. If you need to stay in Leith .. who does? ... use the Holiday Inn Express it does exactly what it says on the tin!

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesoap t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    689
    350
    136
    48
See reviews for
161
1,070
39
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PRESTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Located about 15 minute from the centre of Edinburgh but the Bus service was regular and the stop was 1 minute from the hotel and dropped you off right in the centre., so we though was idea.(gbp3.50 for a unlimited day return). The service at the hotel was friendly and the customer service was second to non...even to a point when my husband could not find sky sports on the TV for golf at night, because another guest had re-tuned the TV ...the hotel duty manager changed the Tv in our room !!!! . We enjoyed Breakfast the selection for the inclusive continental was limited but when you can upgrade for GBP2.00 for the full hot cooked you don't complain it was high quality.
I would stay again and recommend this to people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUGSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've stayed in quiet a few hotels in the Malmaison chain, although not very recently, and was quite excited at the prospect of staying in the Edinburgh one. However, as others have said, it just didn't feel like the same high standard as others - it felt a bit run down, the room was very average and tired, the bed not very comfy and the breakfast, while nice, just wasn't the standard I was expecting. The 'big mal breakfast' really wasn't very big, and the poached eggs with the eggs benedict were overdone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClareOnTheShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I like the Malmaison chain. The service, rooms, feel & enjoyment are always great. For me the hotel has an independent feel but with the consistency good hotel chains deliver. This one isn't exactly in Edinburgh as it's in Leith but that's a stones throw (taxi ride) away & anyway I love the calm of the dockside in winter. Plus let's not forget great restaurants, top pubs & Restaurant Martin Wishart!
My only gripes are that the wifi wasn't working when I stayed (a nightmare for a lone traveller) & they serve schooners instead of pints (but at pint prices) which I find pretentious. Overall it's a great place to stay & explore such an amazing city.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Second time at the hotel, coming through from Glasgow in the car so needed somewhere with a car park. As I'd stayed here before, decided to go back and not disappointed.
Hotel located in centre of Leith docks and about £7 in a taxi back up to castle hill.
Staff friendly and helpful, room, clean bright and spacious. Breakfast plentiful if a bit busy when there's a bus tour staying but on the whole nice. Would return again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Malmaison Hotel for our second year wedding anniversary for a weekend break to Edinburgh. We told the hotel a few weeks before we arrived. We were surprised that when we arrived we were automatically upgraded to a superior room!
We ate in the restaurant for the first night and the food is exceptional. There is no need to go anywhere else outside in the area, we looked around and couldn't find anywhere to match it.
Breakfast both days was a really good standard. We stayed on the continental B&B rate but you could upgrade to a cooked breakfast for an extra £2 each day. This was well worth it and ended up having smoked salmon and eggs Benedict both days!

Well worth the money and stay. You won't be dissapointed!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamesbirmingham20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and were really happy with the everything except, £11.00 for a glass of wine - admittedly a large glass - in the bar is ridiculous! There was a bottle of wine in the room at £13.95 which we could have had but we had had a long day and just wanted a nice relaxing drink in the bar. That was the first night - needless to say we went out on our second.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#92 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing