We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overnight stay in gorgeous Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #91 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent overnight stay in gorgeous Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mal Edinburgh for an overnight stay in October. We have stayed several times over the years and the standard never drops. We had a gorgeous superior room on the 3rd floor. The bed was large and really comfortable and as usual there was the added bonus of the fabulous Mal toiletries!
We decided to have dinner at the restaurant and as ever the food, wine and ambience was perfect.
Leith is such a lovely spot and Mal Edinburgh the perfect host again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,062
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay for our wedding anniversary and expected a little bit of luxury for the price we paid..... We were sorely disappointed! First impressions when we checked in weren't brilliant, the staff were pleasant enough but the decor and layout weren't very welcoming. The corridors were painted in very dark colours and made for quite a gloomy atmosphere. Our room was on the shabby side, with lots of the furniture chipped and scuffed. The continental breakfast was average but my husband paid extra for eggs benedict and said they were lovely! We have never stayed with the mal maison chain before and based on this hotel we wouldn't stay with them again. We are not negative by nature and always try to look for the positives in situations so on that note I will say the hotel is clean and the staff are friendly!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommytuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Another 'trendy' hotel with minimal mood lighting in the bedroom. So you will spend alot of your time 'looking' for things. A shower that run out of water mid way through my morning rinse. A bathroom sink that was clogged and took over 5 mins to drain. A sink faucet that also ran out of water. A bedroom window smeared in pigeon poo and feathers. A room located beyond the reach of the lift system so if you are elderly or carting a heavy bag then good luck negotiating the steep staircase. Buffet breakfast was fair value. The location is out of town and to the east. It's either £10 taxi fare into town or £1.50 on the no.16 or no.22 bus which run frequently but do take 30 mins to get you into town centre. YOu are not exactly passing through the most salubrious part of twon either so walking into town not really an option. One plus is that you are directly opposite one of the bestter seafood in towns called ''Fishers''. Surely there must be a better 'boutique' hotel offering better and closer into town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

After waiting 40 minutes for the cooked to order breakfast, it duly arrived, after prompting waiting staff, cold and shriveled ... total rubbish... not what I expect. The potential rip off of the bottle of wine and crisps sitting on your desk in room is a trap for the unwary. This old building with its warren on rooms, nosiey plumbing and dark corridors is not to be recommended. If you need to stay in Leith .. who does? ... use the Holiday Inn Express it does exactly what it says on the tin!

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesoap t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRESTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Located about 15 minute from the centre of Edinburgh but the Bus service was regular and the stop was 1 minute from the hotel and dropped you off right in the centre., so we though was idea.(gbp3.50 for a unlimited day return). The service at the hotel was friendly and the customer service was second to non...even to a point when my husband could not find sky sports on the TV for golf at night, because another guest had re-tuned the TV ...the hotel duty manager changed the Tv in our room !!!! . We enjoyed Breakfast the selection for the inclusive continental was limited but when you can upgrade for GBP2.00 for the full hot cooked you don't complain it was high quality.
I would stay again and recommend this to people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUGSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've stayed in quiet a few hotels in the Malmaison chain, although not very recently, and was quite excited at the prospect of staying in the Edinburgh one. However, as others have said, it just didn't feel like the same high standard as others - it felt a bit run down, the room was very average and tired, the bed not very comfy and the breakfast, while nice, just wasn't the standard I was expecting. The 'big mal breakfast' really wasn't very big, and the poached eggs with the eggs benedict were overdone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClareOnTheShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I like the Malmaison chain. The service, rooms, feel & enjoyment are always great. For me the hotel has an independent feel but with the consistency good hotel chains deliver. This one isn't exactly in Edinburgh as it's in Leith but that's a stones throw (taxi ride) away & anyway I love the calm of the dockside in winter. Plus let's not forget great restaurants, top pubs & Restaurant Martin Wishart!
My only gripes are that the wifi wasn't working when I stayed (a nightmare for a lone traveller) & they serve schooners instead of pints (but at pint prices) which I find pretentious. Overall it's a great place to stay & explore such an amazing city.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing