We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, but they should finish checkouts before starting checkins!”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were given a large, spacious room, which was clean, quiet and with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean.

At the checkout time on Sunday morning, people were being allowed to check in (even though it was more than 2 hours early) which caused a very large queue of people trying to checkout. They should complete the checkouts before starting checkins, its just common sense.

Great location in Leith with free parking, and a £10 taxi ride up to Princes Street if required.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

2 night stay at the Mal in Edinburgh for New Years Eve with my partner. Lovely location - down by the port (shame about the weather though!), easy free parking, great building surrounding some excellent restaurants - I recommend 'The ship on the shore' to eat in (just down the road). Quick check in, pleasant reception staff. We booked the superior double room which was spacious and clean. I agree with the other reviews that it could do with a lick of paint here and there, but it was nice enough. We dined in the brasserie on NYE, staff were excellent and food very good. Cocktail bar is great, offering lots of favourites.

There is a regular bus into Edinburgh (no 22) from near the hotel, this took 15 minutes and was £1.50 each. A taxi was about £6.50 from Princes St. It would have been more ideal to be in the city centre but it didn't bother us too much to get in and out.

Only downsides were that we waited a good 30 minutes to check out and the lady on reception was getting confused with which room number we were and gave us someone elses bill. Then when we got ours, we were confused with the breakdown of the bill and extra service charges we weren't actually informed of and she didn't explain. Reception staff need better training and a smile wouldn't go amiss. Apart from that, the hotel was great. Make sure you book in advance though to get a good deal - I wouldn't pay the standard rate.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginag798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Malmaison to celebrate New Year's Eve in Edinburgh. Booking early meant that it cost less than staying in the Travelodge!
The hotel is in a brilliant location surrounded by great pubs and restaurants and only a short bus ride into the city centre.
On the first night we had dinner in the brasserie. A perfectly cooked steak and the nicest (and strongest) manhattan I have ever drunk.
The rooms were clean and the bed super comfy.
The only thing we would have changed is to be able to get a cooked breakfast delivered to the room and not just continental.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Debbiesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and was not dissapointed. The room was lovely and clean, the public areas were also very clean even though the weather was shocking. We ate in the restaurant and it was tastey and well presented both the evening meal and the breakfast. We got an offer price which was discounted from the normal cost so I'm not sure I would pay the usual price

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed over New Year for two nights. Comfortable but the rooms need attention. No hot water and not much interest shown by reception staff when they were informed of the problem.
The bar area is disappointing and dull for standard of hotel. Gym equipment good but not enough room to use it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lovely night at Malmaison. Friendly staff, efficient without being fussy. Rooms were modern with free wifi, coffee/tea, TV and minibar/fridge. We had dinner at the Brasserrie which was excellent. Food and service we could not fault. The hotel is right on the Shore in the Leith which is surrounded with nice pubs, cafes and Michelin star restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretg672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two lovely nights here again. Hotel is super and staff so nice and friendly. We had dinner first night and the steak was perfect. Some great shopping! Visited the ocean terminal and went to pictures. Lovely restaurants around leith. Will definitely stay here once again. Thank you and Happy New Year to all at malmaison.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,594 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing