We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with great local restaurants by a canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great local restaurants by a canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is lovely, rooms well done up, stylish and comfortable. Great beds. However, the room (no. 129) had the coldest bathroom with the most useless blow heater. It spoilt our overall experience of what would otherwise have been a great stay. The restaurant and bar were busy and friendly. Staff were helpful.

Room Tip: The room was at the end of the hallway, so had outerwalls on three sides, which probably aggravated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalManager, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Karen

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you think the hotel is lovely and that our staff are friendly and helpful. Something we very much pride ourselves on. Also thank you for your feedback with regards to the bathroom temperature. My Maintenance Manager will be looking at this as a matter of urgency so we can rectify this problem.

I do hope this will not put you off visiting us again in the future and I very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,061
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

From when we arrived we were made to feel special.

...ish

It was a good 4 star experience but I have to say that I have been felt more welcome at other Edinburgh hotels, especially Hotel du vin.

Look, it was good. And deserved 4 stars, but it was a long way away from five.

The room was nice, but very dark. No matter what we did to the lighting, it still came up dark.
And we had a high-lift outside our window on the Sunday morning!

A note under the door asking us to draw the curtains, or a mention from the desk, would have been nice.

A generous 4 stars. Probably sentimental as we used to live in Leith. Less subjective folks would have given Malmaison a three.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Years ago when I started out as a chef in 1996 I worked in the kitchen here for 2 years. Not only was that a special time for me but it was also the deepest talent pool id ever worked in. The smartest people in the business in Edinburgh at the time ALL worked at the Mal. Over the years Ive watched the commercial side of hospitality take over. Gone are the days of being black and white back of house. Today its all customer focused. I was delighted to check out the cafe bar. The extension to the hotel and the restaurant. It was really a walk down memory lane. The standards here are strong. Something I really think other businesses should appreciate. I watched a waited over 45 mins walk past a woman who's child was left to amuse himself by throwing scrambled egg on the floor. Everytime the waited passed. He would clean it up. Make a big smile at the baby and he would carry on. Most restaurants these day wouldn't tolerate that. I just enjoyed the temperament of the situation. The lady who was obviously spending a lot of money on wine or a regular customer knew her boundaries and the waiter took control of the situation. Its pretty old school. We ate good food and the waited recommended a great wine. Even managed to get our emails to send us some info on a deal they are doing at all the Mals. It was a nice afternoon so you can hang out the front of the bar on the dock and look what leith dockyard has become after millions of pounds invested in regeneration. It was not too long ago the Mal was surrounded by old boozers and girls working the street. For me the area was on its knees and the Malmaison was the only real attraction. Now the area has been boosted and stands alone. Check out the sunday lunch menu. If your heading.

Room Tip: Stay in any of the rooms from the second floor up facing the dock year. The car park isn't to pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlamMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mr Yates

Thank you for your fabulous review which I really enjoyed reading. I can only imagine the change you will have seen from Malmaison in 1996 to todays product. Whilst the building may have changed, the one thing we hope has not is our passion to provide great food and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The Sunday Stopover deal offers a room for £25 when you spend over £75 in the Brasserie restaurant which sounded a good deal. Unfortunately, the food is well below the standards we expected of a hotel like Malmaison. The menu prices mean nothing as the portions are all small. We had pate and chicken lollipops starters. The pate was tasteless and a small piece of brioche was wrapped In a napkin. The chicken lollipops were 4 small pieces of chicken on skewers set in a wooden stand that would have looked okay at a children's party, priced at £8.50. The main courses of chicken tikka and a burger were also disappointing. The burger was in fairness tasty but never came with fries as it was meant to and priced at £15, it's the most expensive burger I've had. There is a "discretionary" 10% service charge added straight onto the bill and so the waiting staff made little effort and the atmosphere in the restaurant was poor. We had booked for breakfast but cancelled after the dining experience and went to Frankie & Benny's at Ocean Terminal instead which was proper 4 star food at less than half the price Malmaison would have charged. We went to get a drink in the bar in the bar and found that they don't serve pints of beer, only 2/3rd pints ! The hotel room was at least decent and we had booked this hotel as the review rating was good. The dining experience has put us off ever going back or recommending it.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the standard of food served to you during your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing the very best quality of food on our menus and I am deeply saddened to hear about your experience. I have carried out a thorough investigation of the issues raised and they have been the subject of my meetings with my Head Chef and Brasserie Management.

I would like to reiterate my sincere apologies and can assure you that steps have been taken for us to deliver our usual very high standards of food quality and I am confident on your next visit you will notice a marked improvement.

I ask you to contact me directly at scampbell@malmaison.com to enable me the opportunity to restore your faith in Malmaison Edinburgh.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post this review, your co-operation and constructive comments have been very worthwhile and will help to ensure our standards are restored.

I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed door 3 nights, got a good deal with breakfast and dinner on first night so were very happy with the experience
We opted for an upgrade to a superior room, this was lovely with a great view over the water.
Bed was large and very comfortable
Even though we had niggles we had a fantastic stay but I'm not sure this I'd the best Malmaison

Good:
Fantastic location, lots of bars and restaurants in the immediate area
Public transport links were on the doorstep and buses abundant, very easy to use and good value
Food was excellent, both cooked breakfast and evening meal were superb. I would opt for the £2 extra for cooked breakfast - although the continental was good (fantastic Mal muesli and fruit compot) there was no cold meats which I would have expected for £13.95
All the staff were lovely all very friendly and really helpful

No good:
Room was usual dark decor, but expect this in Mals, it would be nice to have enough light to read a newspaper
Even though we were supposed to have a replenished room paint was peeling in bathroom
Weird coffee, it was some sort of filter vague, I never got the hang of it!
Would have liked smaller more plentiful toiletries which were replenished (no body lotion)
Christmas posters were still in evidence on 18th January

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade with a view 320 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

First time at a Malmaison Hotel, was not disappointed. Stayed from Christmas Eve for two nights. Free car park is a bonus for a city hotel. Room was ready on arrival, we had a room on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Lots of bars and restuarnts nearby. We had Christmas Day dinner which was absolutely delicious. The hotel is a ten minute walk. To the Ocean Terminal shopping centre and only two minutes to the bus stop with buses every 15 minutes to Princess street and surrounding areas. Will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's been over a year since we last stayed at this hotel and once again we had a great experience. We stayed here between Xmas and new year for a few days break. We had a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel, which had a separate lounge and bedroom area, large TV and WiFi that worked and a large comfortable bed. Having stayed here before, we knew what to expect and were pleased that the staff were all still very friendly but slick and professional.
Evening meals and breakfast are excellent, with plenty of choice and you never feel under any pressure to leave your table.
There is a terrific selection of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep if you are staying for a few days or longer, to suit every budget, each of them with a different character.
It's great to have free parking in an Edinburgh hotel and we always take the car when going into the centre as there are plenty of convenient parking places in town. (There is also a bus service less than a few minutes walk from the hotel).
Would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianx17489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing