We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keith's best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Keith's best kept secret”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wonderful staff, wonderful rooms. Delicious cocktails. Great sandwiches and chips! Rooms could do with a quick overhaul as wallpaper was peeling off in our suite. However, lovely bathroom, massive bed and wifi access. Lots of nearby restaurants and bars along the waterfront as well as the iconic Royal Yacht Britannia. We intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the main Port of Leith Suite. It is the best room at the Malmaison and has a pretty spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlen664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    700
    355
    137
    52
See reviews for
162
1,088
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Valentine's weekend. Great Hotel, room very nice and clean, all amenities provided. Cocktail bar was top notch, even breakfast was good. Horrible mattress!! For a 4* hotel the Mal should really be ashamed of the quality of their beds. Great hotel, romantic setting, all really spoiled by a bad mattress. I did find out at checkout that you can request as mattress pad, a little too late.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLN489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights, just last weekend. The hotel itself is quite nice, though tricky to find by road. Sat nav tried to send me down a one way street! My main complaint was the evening meal I purchased, Caesar salad. The lettuce was so bitter I left the whole course. Not a bad hotel as such, more attention to the food would be great! Try tasting before serving chef!!! Is that not a chef basic??

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very nice hotel, near the Ocean Terminal Shopping Center. Peaceful location and extremely friendly people.
Regard to the hotel, beautiful, and the size of the room is spacious. A bit of TLC in the room and attention to detail to make it fantastic. Pillows were not too comfy however. Will visit again for sure

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOSH_DEZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a large group booking plus hire of Mal One & Mal Four for 3 days for a business meeting. Having never stayed at a Mal before I was really impressed with the décor and hotel facilities. The delegate rate is quite reasonable compared to other central Edinburgh hotels and we had all the facilities we needed. All the staff I dealt with were excellent and so helpful, which really helped our event run smoothly. A big thank you to Marta in Events, she was so helpful when I was organising things. If you are booking taxis into town then I would recommend leaving plenty of time, as we had some problems with taxis turning up late, etc. Maybe traffic is an issue at certain times of day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catl0ver2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We came for Valentine's weekend and enjoyed our stay (and the 12noon check out time!). The staff are fantastic and very friendly. The rooms are spotless and the room service is enjoyable however the temperature of the food could do with being a bit hotter. Another little touch would be to replenish the toiletries when the room is cleaned. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Just bare in mind it is a £10 taxi ride to the centre of Edinburgh one way.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Decided to book this hotel for 2 nights for valentines with my fiancée. She had stayed in this hotel several times previously for work and had always been impressed with the rooms and service she had received during her stays. She always stayed in a normal double so I thought as it was for a special occasion I would upgrade the room type to a superior double and was given room 129 upon arrival.

The first disappointment of the weekend was the fact the room looked nothing like the picture shown on the website. The bathroom resembled an igloo in temperature and was impossible to heat up. Tiles next to the shower on both sides were crumbling to bits at the bottom. The room itself took a long time to heat up which wasn't helped by the large gap under the door creating a draft. For it being an upgraded room I wasn't expecting to be woken up early due to the fact there was a fabrication workshop opposite our hotel room window. Both morning we woke up with sore backs as well due to the bed, not really a great start to the day!

We ordered room service on our 2nd night in the hotel. It was a valentines only menu on that night yet the chef was more than obliging to go out of his way to cook us something off the regular menu. We ordered the chicken lollipops as starters they were ok I guess but not much of a portion for £8.50 each! We ordered the pan pasta dish with prawns etc as well which was much better.

Having stayed in several Malmaisons across Britain I can safely say this has to be my worst experience and one I would not like to repeat in a hurry! If you decide to stay here please stay away from room 129!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickTerlouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,327 reviews
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#58 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing