We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room and very quirky”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for the last night of our trip with my girlfriend. We had emailed before requesting a room with the bath in the living room. And the room was amazing. Really unique place. The beds were quite firm but comfortable. The prices are quite high but if you can, treat yourself for one night. Would definitely book again if I was staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed here twice now & loved it. It is a small hotel with lovely decorated themed bedrooms & comfortable beds. Lovely friendly helpful staff too. The restaurant food is great & it also has a lovely cocktail bar & underground nightclub with priority entry, perfect location for all the Edinburgh tourist areas, 5 mins walk to Harvey Nics, & Princes street gardens .

Room Tip: We loved the Bejing themed bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Right in the heart of trendy Leith, the Malmaison is most certainly worth a visit. The Spanish receptionist was very pleasant, friendly and helpful, the room was all that anyone would wish for and breakfast was great. Only slight irritant was that you could not get a pint in the bar, only a 'schooner' which looked much like a half pint to me - not sure what that was about. Plenty good bars and restaurants in the area (Nobles recommended) and not that far from Edinburgh, great spot for a break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wonderful staff, wonderful rooms. Delicious cocktails. Great sandwiches and chips! Rooms could do with a quick overhaul as wallpaper was peeling off in our suite. However, lovely bathroom, massive bed and wifi access. Lots of nearby restaurants and bars along the waterfront as well as the iconic Royal Yacht Britannia. We intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the main Port of Leith Suite. It is the best room at the Malmaison and has a pretty spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGlen664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Valentine's weekend. Great Hotel, room very nice and clean, all amenities provided. Cocktail bar was top notch, even breakfast was good. Horrible mattress!! For a 4* hotel the Mal should really be ashamed of the quality of their beds. Great hotel, romantic setting, all really spoiled by a bad mattress. I did find out at checkout that you can request as mattress pad, a little too late.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLN489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed two nights, just last weekend. The hotel itself is quite nice, though tricky to find by road. Sat nav tried to send me down a one way street! My main complaint was the evening meal I purchased, Caesar salad. The lettuce was so bitter I left the whole course. Not a bad hotel as such, more attention to the food would be great! Try tasting before serving chef!!! Is that not a chef basic??

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very nice hotel, near the Ocean Terminal Shopping Center. Peaceful location and extremely friendly people.
Regard to the hotel, beautiful, and the size of the room is spacious. A bit of TLC in the room and attention to detail to make it fantastic. Pillows were not too comfy however. Will visit again for sure

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOSH_DEZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,705 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing