We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a fantastic stay and 'Lab'”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just wanted to thanks Marta and her team for a really fantastic stay at Malmaison, Edinburgh, in the heart of the harbour in lovely Leith. We've been here for five days and the "Crossover Scotland" Lab that we have been running here has been a fantastic experience, made all the more pleasurable by your wonderful food, room service and professionalism. Thank You! We've had such a good time, we are booking our next Lab at Malmaison... Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantKeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Helped run a conference over five days, least stressful week I've had in a long time! The food was delicious, exciting and varied. Every member of staff was enthusiastic and took pride in what they did. Particular thanks to Marta for making the whole process streamlined and simple. Also just the right distance from city centre bustle but not so far as to be completely cut off! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaliMedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great food, great service, great rooms but overpriced drink.

The food was fantastic throughout my stay and the staff were very professional and helpful. The only downside was the price of the drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have had the pleasure and privilege of staying here for four days. I cannot fault the staff or the service. The room was beautiful and comfortable and clean. The meals were mouth waveringly delicious. I loved the little extras. I loved the warm welcoming staff. This is a lovely friendly place and i loved my stay there. Thank you Malmaison staff for making my break so relaxed and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

great time one week at Malmaison edinburgh really well looked after
food, fantastic - the morning breakfast in particular was delicious
lovely comfy room thank you
very kind staff and very accommodating when I wanted to change rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We visited Malmaison Leith on sunny Monday for a couple of beers and a light lunch al fresco.

Full marks for having outdoor seating available unlike many places. Full marks for presentation and good food. A trio of mini-burgers and a shrimp club.

Waiter was very charming and the service was good ........ UNTIL other tables started to fill up and being on his own, he was unable to cope. Sadly the service then deteriorated to very poor and slow. This culminated in a 10-15 minute wait for the bill which we eventually had to go inside for.

Restaurants please realise that when people want to go, they want to go. Keeping them waiting for the bill achieves nothing; they aren't going to order more drinks nor food nor coffee, they are occupying a table which fresh customers could use and it leaves a frustrated taste in the mouth, no matter how delicious the food had been prior.

We don't mind paying premium prices in a self-styled premium establishment but the service must be premium-plus to satisfy us.

"Does the bill include a service charge?"
"No, Sir."
"Good."

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbuDhabi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful sunny Monday and met a friend here for a beer and lunch alfresco. Nicely sheltered from Leith's winds but maintains superb views. Food was beautifully presented and tasty. Waiter was charming. But as a few more people arrived the service became extremely slow. The loan waiter was unable to cope. This understaffing took the gilt off the gingerbread for us and spoiled what was otherwise a very pleasant late lunch. When we wanted to go, we asked for the bill. It didn't arrive within 15 minutes we and had to go inside and seek someone out to settle up. Annoying: When you want to leave, you want to leave not hang around.

Also, we were slightly surprised to be told that beer was only served as half pints or schooners. (2/3 pint). Pints not available. Why not??

I am NOT criticising the waiter. He was very good but couldn't cope on his own. Had there been an adequate level of staffing, I would have given five stars but lack of service is not acceptable in a premium establishment, charging premium prices. Management need to address this issue.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Redxjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing