We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and nice room”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night with work but it was great. Nice location at the water front in Leith. Comfy bed and good size room. Room service meal was tasty and quick. Reception staff smiley and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,925)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a couple of nights away. The first of which we decided to treat ourselves to a night in Edinburgh's Malmaison. Sunday night stopover deal, which we thought was excellent value for money, given the chain's reputation and the four star rating of the hotel. We were even more delighted that we were upgraded on arrival! Then it all fell apart. Room 321, despite the upgrade this was a fairly small room. The décor was tired with peeling wall paper and cobwebs in the corner, the room hadn't been cleaned properly for some time. The bathroom was the real disappointment, an ill fitting towel rail, peeling paint on walls and ceiling, rusted light fittings, and the most disgustingly brown, spongy looking tile grout I've ever seen and the opaque privacy stickers on the windows that have so obviously been falling away for some time (the peeled corners were black with dirt). What a shame, it put a damper on the whole evening.

As part of the deal we had dinner in the brasserie. The food was OK, but again, not the dining experience we were expecting. Appetisers, Thai chicken lollipops and fritto misto, Lollipops, they are BBQ wings, but still a lot of skin and fat on a fairly small morsel, fritto misto got the thumbs up as did the rump steak main, not so much the Danish blue cheese burger, average at best along with the fries. Wine with dinner and liqueur coffees helped numb the pain of the experience, more so the room than the dinner. I must say the staff were all very courteous and pleasant.

Foolishly, I felt at the time, that complaining when we were on a stop over deal and had been upgraded, would be a little extreme, but then we had still paid a considerable amount of money for an experience to remember and to celebrate an important date, if only to my wife and I! I'm now kicking myself, but we'll vote with our feet and I doubt we'll return, just put down to a poor experience. It seems Malmaison Edinburgh is resting on it's laurels and complacency is the order of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RitchieFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We love this hotel for its location. We usually stay here at Christmas and during the Edinburgh festival. For a 2-3 day stay it is spot on.

Good points:
Location, location, location. Right next to the shore in Leith means it is really handy for travel to the city and there are lots of restaurants close by.
The breakfasts are excellent
The bar has a great decor and feel

Less good points
The rooms are a bit dated and don't live up to the promise of the downstairs areas and not what you would expect from a Malmaison hotel.

All in all a great place to stay and would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbdale25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was the 2nd time that my wife and I had stayed at the Malmaison Edinburgh and again we were not disappointed.
We got a great deal on a room upgrade (which was great for our 2yr old daughter) to a Suite and had an awesome view over the city as we could see Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat.
The hotel has great parking facilities, easy access free wifi and is on a bus route if you dont fancy taking the car into the city centre (we never do!). Buses are £1.50 for a single adult trip.
The staff and food are brilliant and we will definately be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask about a room upgrade when you arrive as you might get a good deal
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris7X7X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to return to the Malmaison in Leith as we had enjoyed staying there last year. The staff were, once again, very helpful - even offering to make a cocktail that they no longer do. Breakfast was ample and there was lots of choice. Looking forward to returning in the future!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GillP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In its heyday this was the place to be. But its communal areas are very tired and in need of a revamp. It doesn't have a nice aroma on entering. The rooms we had were superior twins and were very large and roomy. They used to supply robes and slippers but no longer do so.
I stayed in a cheaper hotel the night before that offered a central town position and much better toiletries.
The good fish restaurants in Leith are right on the doorstep so this is a bonus.

Room Tip: we had rooms 317 and 417 which were very nice overlooking the dock gates
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a suite, which was nice enough though nothing special. Overlooked leith harbour which was nice but gather from the photos there are nicer rooms than the one we were allocated. Great bar downstairs. Fab location if you're going out in Leith (which makes a pleasant change from Central Edinburgh).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £83 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing