We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday date night deal”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked into Malmaison, Edinburgh last Friday on the date night deal.

Initially, we were a little disappointed when we arrived, as we hadn't realised that the hotel was actually based in Leith, about 5 miles outside of Edinburgh - not in the cente of Edinburgh as we had imagined. However, it turned out to be a great location.

We upgraded our room, which was lovely - very large, spacious and stylish. Only a short walk from the hotel were several bars and restaurants (one of them with a Michelin star).

We had a meal booked in Malmaison Restaurant and opted for the a la carte menu. Food was very good and staff very attentive. After our evening meal, we ventured out and spent the rest of the evening in one of the bars just around the corner, listening to a live band, which were excellent.

All in all, a very pleasant weekend. Would I recommend it to anyone? You bet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Second stay at the Mal in Leith and will book again if back in Edinburgh. The setting is excellent and relatively quiet, even at the weekend, close to good pubs and restaurants and perfect for strolling, away from the crowds. Superior room probably not necessary but for a couple of nights it was nice to be able to spread out. Having only one window in the corner of the room was no problem - who wants to spend the day staring out of a window when you can be down by the port itself. Plus point for those who hate noise - no air conditioning or noisy heating! Open the window if it is too hot (there are fans as well) or turn the radiator on if it is cold. Wonderful.
Breakfast was good - continental more than sufficient but the hot food even better for setting one up for the day. Generally a good and unfussy hotel with amusing touches.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalEsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Purchased the overnight package titled 'Cocktails & Dreams' at the 'Mal' in the Leith area of Edinburgh. The building is impressive, the area a great place to explore and our room (standard) was fabulous. We ate in the restaurant which was delicious and the breakfast next morning was very good (well worth upgrading to the cooked brekkie for £2). Staff were excellent, especially our waitperson on Thursday evening of our stay (8th May). One word of caution, if you are wanting to stay in Edinburgh city centre, this is not the hotel for you. However the benefits of being outside the city centre is free parking and a great vibe in the up-and-coming Leith area. We shall return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmcroberts622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May for a special occasion. I had originally booked a standard room but on arrival asked if I could upgrade. There was a suite available which we were able to upgrade to for a very reasonable price.
We got room 120 which was a delightfully big room with a four poster bed a large sitting area. It overlooked the front of the hotel and the quayside - perfect. The front of the hotel gets the sun in the afternoon and evening.
Breakfasts are good with a good choice of cooked food as well as continental.
The hotel is situated in Leith which is about 2 miles from the centre of Edinburgh, near the Scottish Assembly. This didn't matter to us as we needed to be in this area, but might be a bit off putting if you want to be in the centre. What I would say is that there is a great bus service to the Old City or Princess Street, from a buss stop a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Catch a 35 to the Old City or a 22 or 16 to Princess Street. It costs £1.50 or you can get a day rover for £3.50, using the buses as often as you like. Take plenty of change, none given on the bus.
This area has been regenerated in recent years and there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ILStourton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights for business with several colleagues.

Check in was efficient considering all 8 of us arrived at once. When we all conferred over dinner it seems that our rooms varied greatly in size and views. Mine was small, clean and had a view over the water and seemed to be on the quiet side of the hotel. One thing we all agreed on was that there was only a 'heating' option and no 'cooling systems for the room'. It was over 20 degrees during the day and some found the rooms quite warm. Mine was ok with the large window open all night.

The bed - a personal taste issue - but I found mine to be very hard and this meant I struggled to sleep through the night.

Dinner - expensive but tasty and well cooked. we opted to eat out on the other night.

Drinks - in the attached bar area were very expensive. and only schooners are served 2/3 of a pint. lager was £3.80 cocktails varied from £8 up to nearly £10. so don't expect any change from £20 if you are getting a few drinks in!

Breakfast - one of my colleagues ended up leaving the breakfast area as his order was still not delivered by the time we had to leave - considering he arrived with half and hour to spare this was not good. I suggest getting there with plenty of time - checking the menu quickly and getting your order in fast! From my orders I would say the breakfast was very tasty - it just took a while for the waiting staff to get themselves organised in the mornings it seems. Perhaps not an issue if you have plenty of time to spare or are there on a leisure break.

mini bar - as usual for hotels ridiculously expensive, but some unusual and different products supplied....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Avoid room 203! The room has no outlook at all - faces a wall and is over I assume the kitchen extractors. The window has obscured glass, combined with the dark (ambient!) lighting makes you feel like you are in the basement. The room was so hot - I dread to think what it was like in the summer. I had no choice but to endure it as, with the window open, the humming noises from the extractor were loud and every 10 or so minutes kicked into to extra loud for about 10 minutes. The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor, I like a firm mattress but this was so uncomfortable. The curtain only just covered the window, drawing it was a hard job - the rail desperately needed a clean I thought. In tugging it closed, three hooks came out and when I climbed up to fix it I realised the proper curtain hooks had long since broken and the curtain was being held up by a combination of a a few curtain hooks and the rest bent wire replacements - no wonder the curtain was so tough to close. Not what you expect for a £100+ room rate.

There is no sound insulation - I could hear quite clearly the person in the next room using the toilet and everyone walking past the door. The doors are heavy and close very loudly so you are kept awake until the last person is in bed!

Breakfast doesn't start until 7am - not great for the business traveller and so I never got chance to try it out.

There are pluses....free parking, nice toiletries and lovely fluffy towels, but I would happily forgo these for a good night's sleep.

Overall, thoroughly disappointed with MalMaison and would not consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

booked a suite as a surprise for partners birthday,after finding check in was asked for voucher,sorry paid in advance no vocher deal.Having to check this with another staff member ..this was confirmed. was given two cocktail vouchers included in price.Room was lovely ,very cleanand nice street facing views to cobbled front.Free standing bath at window great until you realised flats opposite looked in and you have no blind.At checkout was asked if I had used mini bar or had lunch ,sorry no I hadn't and was looked at in disbelief,again after checking cocktails had been billed to room.Eventually it was clarified but with no apology.sorry but this is not good customer service Iwas left feeling as if I had tried to avoid payment .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,030 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £83 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing