We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband had booked us into this hotel as it is in walking distance to The Kitchin restaurant. First thing we notices was, that in the time span from asking for the car park to check in, the receptionist could not remember my husband's face. Our room was on the 2nd floor, had a bleak view out of the window, no air con and the furniture looked more than tired. I do not expect chipped wood everywhere. The bathroom floor was not very clean either and i was not impressed with the toiletries. The breakfast and service also left a lot to be desired. We mentioned all the foregoing points on checking out and were told, that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. Well that was never mentioned during booking and check in.

We live in the Midlands and on the journey up to Scotland we stayed in a Budget hotel, which for its price, was miles better.

i know, that what I am going to say might not be fair but I will not stay at any Malmaison Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    706
    359
    139
    52
See reviews for
163
1,100
40
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My boyfriend picked this and it looked good on paper. The greeting was only lukewarm and the whole inside decor was a bit scruffy, looked like it could do with a bit of work. The room was dark, very quiet and very comfortable. Great sleep and nice and clean. Only thing was the extra journey from the city, it's a bit of a way out for me to be perfect. Would probably stay closer to the center next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with my wife and 4 month old in room 415. I think we were upgraded to a superior room as it was large and there was a separate dressing area which was useful. It was however very dark with one small window. The decor was tired and carpets required replacing, with gripper rods sticking through them and hurting your feet. The bathroom was no better than a premier inn, nothing at all special about it. The holders for the cotton buds and face pads in the bathroom were cardboard and had obviously been reused many times. Loo roll was cheap. No robes or slippers. The curtains were also hanging off. The room was clean and large and we enjoyed our time in Leith, but Malmaison really need to try harder; painting the walls dark grey might have made it a boutique hotel 10 years ago, but not now. There was just nothing at all special about the hotel for £134 per night room only.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate, yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Some of the recent reviews of this hotel had made us quite nervous however we have been pleasantly surprised. Stayed for just one night in a superior twin room which was spacious with 2 double beds (quite hard mattresses) and a sitting area; everything was very clean and tidy. Most notable was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who have been much criticised on trip advisor. We were a little early and our room wasn't ready but the staff arranged a room for us so my daughter could change for an interview she was due to attend in Edinburgh. Edinburgh city centre is an easy 5 minute drive away and there are plenty of restaurants nearby - we went to Guillianos Italian which was decent food at a reasonable price. Continental breakfast included in the room rate was good but not exceptional. Overall a good option for a short break in Edinburgh - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed hear on a business trip to Edinburgh and found it a great place to stay. Rooms were rather quaint and were well stocked with tea/coffee and a mini bar. We didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant as it was pretty pricey, but there were loads of pubs/restaurants near by.
Breakfast was hot with a good choice, although it did take a while to come.
Will definitely use again if need be.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great time - al fresco eating, quiet location, convenient for visiting Britannia.

Spacious room - fridge to chill a bottle to down on return from sightseeing.

Beware its not close to the city but you could use the hop on hop off tourist bus to travel in to see other sights. Plenty of car parking available. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annegill1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Yes, this absolutely loveable character from the well-known and much loved old British series was my first thought after my dining experience in Malmaison. Wondering if tripadvisor existed back in Mr Fawlty’s time, what kind of feedback he would have received.
Having been reading all the negative tripadvisor reviews about this place prior our arrival (and ignoring all the positive ones – oh what a typical human behaviour!) I prepared myself for an enjoyable but average visit.
How wrong I was – and I am old enough now to admit it. Arriving at a nicely busy restaurant was just the beginning. We were promptly greeted and shown to a table. Menu seemed interesting enough and reasonably priced. The usual ceremony followed: water, drinks, order taken and starters arrived.
I really appreciated the presentation and flavour combination of the goats cheese salad… elegant and traditional, nothing like building all the dozens of ingredients up like the Eifel tower – what you get in many places now days. As a main course I picked the chef’s special – seafood trio. Absolutely delicious and creative.
I am not an easy person to win, but I have to say, it was really a memorable experience. The friendliness and efficiency of the team on the night, the delicious food and the whole ambience… they all made this occasion an immaculate one.
I cannot stop thinking about all those (not too many though) negative reviews I read and made me think about other guests, how they could have experienced such a different dine out. Or maybe it is not the place, just the people. Or the weather, the moon, the stars… who knows.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#63 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,281 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,277 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing