We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but slightly below expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but slightly below expectation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first experience of staying in a Malmaison hotel. We selected it because the alternatives in the immediate area were not much cheaper, and we were only staying for one night. Without being too 'unbritish', our rate for B&B was closer to £100 than £200.

Checking in was straightforward and the receptionist booked us a taxi as requested with no fuss. Our room was on the first floor and towards the end of the corridor. I later observed that this was in an extension to the building; this wasn't a problem for us. Other guests in the 'old building' make reference to a lack of air conditioning and slightly tired rooms. Our air conditioning and all facilities worked perfectly and the room was spacious, with a high ceiling and large comfortable bed.

The area around this Malmaison is really interesting; with a collection of very upmarket restaurants some nice relaxed bars, and within walking distance of all of the developments at Leith docks.

If we could pick up a room at an equivalent price, we'd stay again. It's unlikely that we'd pay the rack rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    700
    355
    137
    52
See reviews for
162
1,088
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I was originally brought here as a birthday present, first time the stay was ok, rooms very hot and uncomfortable to sleep in as no air con due to the building (I was led to believe) and the room we stayed in was a tad scruffy looking. Second time was purchased by myself for my partners birthday, this stay was much better as we were in s different room and was nicer than the first, slept a lot better. Breakfast is fantastic here and the location is also fab!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis whilst away from home on business. I had a large and very comfortable room with excellent bathroom facilities. It was well stocked and had a mini bar and allied goods which could be taken and accounted for on departure. I was also supplied with a robe and slippers.

Breakfast was more than adequate with good service and a fine selection. My only slight gripe was with regard to a free glass of 'bubbly' on offer to guests. The quality of this 'wine' was truly awful. If you are going to 'reward' your guests with such an offer, make sure it is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neville r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Despite the title of my review, there are lots of nice things about this hotel, including the nice breakfasts, attractive bar area, good bath products in the room, and good location for Leith. It is a bit dark and gloomy in the reception area, and although very light, the room was looking a bit tatty. So a bit disappointing given the 'boutique' label and the 'dare to be different' logo. Some nice things, but rooms could do with a bit of smartening up to match the rest. Perfectly fine and comfortable though, but not as nice as I had hoped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was looking forward to a great experience staying here but wasn’t to impressed at all. check in was very average & check out took over 45 mins due to the amount of people waiting with only 2 staff on. Bar staff were very helpful and doing a good job.
Room was ok with the 4 poster bed facing the front of the hotel, but as everyone saying it could be done with a upgrade, bathroom was clean but very small.
What made the stay was the warm weather outside sitting with drinks and chatting to other couples. Still had a great time in Edinburgh.

Next time will pick hotel in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband had booked us into this hotel as it is in walking distance to The Kitchin restaurant. First thing we notices was, that in the time span from asking for the car park to check in, the receptionist could not remember my husband's face. Our room was on the 2nd floor, had a bleak view out of the window, no air con and the furniture looked more than tired. I do not expect chipped wood everywhere. The bathroom floor was not very clean either and i was not impressed with the toiletries. The breakfast and service also left a lot to be desired. We mentioned all the foregoing points on checking out and were told, that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. Well that was never mentioned during booking and check in.

We live in the Midlands and on the journey up to Scotland we stayed in a Budget hotel, which for its price, was miles better.

i know, that what I am going to say might not be fair but I will not stay at any Malmaison Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My boyfriend picked this and it looked good on paper. The greeting was only lukewarm and the whole inside decor was a bit scruffy, looked like it could do with a bit of work. The room was dark, very quiet and very comfortable. Great sleep and nice and clean. Only thing was the extra journey from the city, it's a bit of a way out for me to be perfect. Would probably stay closer to the center next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#90 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,327 reviews
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#58 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing