We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special Hotel”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #90 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a special Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Everything from the comfortable bed, bright light airy room, spotless bathroom and generous lovely bath products made the stay special. This hotel is quirky as well as comfortable and there are even coloured candles burning in reception to give you that homely atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble . Food was delicious and I left feeling relaxed and as if I had been there for days rather than a one night break.

Room Tip: As you are close to the Docks I think that all the rooms would be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    718
    362
    140
    53
See reviews for
168
1,117
40
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our tour of scotland, the hotel is lovely and staff are all well trained. Room was beautifully decorated and hotel is in a good location for Edinburgh sight sightseeing.

Breakfast was also very good but service was a bit rushed.

Hope to be back in the future

Duncan

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend. Room was very spacious and everything was there in the bathroom that you required. Meals in the hotel were good.Walking distance to the shopping centre and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Lots of restaurants nearby including Tom Kitchen's.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35aileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend for the Ultimate Sunday Brunch (normally £19.95) per person but we had an ITison voucher. Well I can honestly say food was superb, and I would have paid the full price for the three courses we had, it was that good ! The staff were so friendly and made sure your visit was all you wanted it to be. It started with a help yourself buffet, lots of salad, fish, etc and soup along with lovely breads. Then we both opted for the Sunday Roast which was delicious. I then had creme brûlée and my friend had hot chocolate with white chocolate ice cream and marshmallows ! Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here for a few nights last weekend. We were disappointed as the room given - room 115 - looked over the back of the building, & this area is used as a cigarette break area for staff. There was some renovation work taking place which was quite noisy.

The hotel is easily accessed from the station, & has lots of nice bars & eateries close by.

Our room was spacious & comfortable, & absolutely spotless. The staff were professional, but we had few contacts with them.

An OK stay, but we were a bit disappointed overall & with such variety available in Edinburgh we would likely look elsewhere if returning.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nrs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Rooms were very spacious by European standards and the service was excellent. Staff were very friendly and informative about tours to take, etc. Moreover, went out of their way to ensure that all our needs were attended to.

Breakfast was not included in our package and on-site buffet was quite expensive so we did not indulge and hence cannot comment. Suggestion to Hotel: The breakfast buffet for Veggies must be priced differently as the spread is much limited.

The hotel is slightly far from the main areas - old town/royal mile/ prices street, but is well connected by buses. Day tickets are a best buy as it costs 3.5 per pax for unlimited travel. There's free parking on site, so hiring a car is always a good idea to navigate around the rest of Scotland.

No Air conditioning in rooms though they provide us with good table fans and coolers (complimentary) if required. Nights are very pleasant and the need does not arise.

Excellent rooms and great service made it a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaketSutodiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We didnt exactly choose this hotel - it was more of a "this is all that is left at a reasonable price" selection as we had tickets for the Commonwealth games.
Stayed here for two nights. Shopping in Edinburgh city centre on the Saturday before checking in - the hotel is a short drive from Princes Street where we had parked the car. In hindsight we should have parked at the hotel and made our way back into town as the usual extortionate parking charges in Edinburgh were present.
We checked in around 4pm - no issues, staff were polite and friendly.
Easy access back into Edinburgh city as we had dinner plans - the number 22 bus leaves from round the corner and takes you right onto Princes Street in under 10 mins. Regular service - we did the journey to and from the hotel 4 times in total and were never waiting more than 5 mins for a bus - could be a fluke but they did seem to be very reliable.
We did not eat at the hotel however we did have a few drinks at the bar - service was good, no complaints. Bar / mini bar prices as are you would expect from a hotel, however if you grudge it, dont use it!
The room itself was nice, no air con which was a bit of a let down as it was a hot weekend, would have expected this from a chain hotel but it did cool down a lot at night so we were not put out.
Cleanliness was good, although when we arrived there was a lot of towels dumped in the hallway - may have caught the housekeeping staff at a changeover as they were gone in less than 20 mins though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayleighMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,362 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#62 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,349 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing