We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights in great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two nights in great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel provided everything expected. Great room, great service. The continental breakfast was ok but not great.
Located near plenty of pubs and other eateries. Bus 35 a short walk which takes you right to the old part of Edinburgh.
The fire alarm did go off at 3am one morning and although it is good to know the alarm works, there didn't seem to be anyone in control of the gathered guests. No head count, advice on what was happening or blankets to keep people warm or dry in the rain.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,061
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Annes on Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We decided to pop into the bar area of Mal Maison mid afternoon for a quick drink. I chose to have a small beer whilst my two friends opted for a hot chocolate.

The drinks arrived after a few minutes. However, although my beer was fine, the two hot chocolates were most definitely not okay.

Not only were they thin and watery, they were also barely luke warm ! Bearing in mind we ordered HOT chocolate we were not best pleased.

One of my friends elected to go to the waitress at the bar to complain in a polite manner. The waitress said she would deal with the problem.

We watched her make two fresh cups which consisted of powdered chocolate dissolved in hot water and cold milk added, rather like making a cup of instant coffee.

When they were brought to our table they were a little thicker but still luke warm. At no point was a check back made to see if we were happy.

We paid £7 for the two drinks, yes, £7 !!

My advice would be at this hotel bar would be to avoid ordering any hot drinks - luke warm seems to be the order of the day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 99trip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

A lovely hotel, luxurious yet unpretentious, modern yet classy, with welcoming, generous-sized, very comfortable rooms with free wifi. Staff were friendly and efficient, and our room had a minibar, kettle, tea and coffee, bathrobes, ironing board, iron, and a very nice bathroom with one of those great deluge showers. Can't comment on the restaurant because we didn't eat there. Really wanted to give five stars but the bar let it down - it could and should have a lovely wind-down place at the end of a long day, but instead, in the run-up to midnight, what we got was loud rock or pop music blasting out. This didn't create a relaxing atmosphere, and may be why the bar was largely deserted and those who did pop in barely stayed more than five minutes. Someone should realise what sort of music people want at this time of night..a hotel of this calibre shouldn't need to be told this. Having said that the bar staff were great, made some of the best cocktails, and special mention must go to the French guy in particular, for being extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Although expensive this hotel was modern, clean with a very nice brasserie and helpful staff. The location in Leith was not the most convenient in terms of access to the festival, (50 minute walk!) but the bus service was every 15 minutes, (No., 16), abd was cheap at £1.50p. Some very nice restaurants nearby with prices to suit all pockets. Definitely go again with the free car park a real bonus.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the Water of Leith were beautiful but it depends how long you intend spending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir-Oswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no comment
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Came for a weekend away with my partner. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, service was particularly good in the bar where staff were very attentive. The room itself was very spacious. We had booked a superior double and it was more than big enough and very clean. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tommo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for two nights during the Festival. Breakfast was good and the brasserie was nice but the welcome on reception was very poor and the young lady who checked us out was horrendous - we asked for a copy of our bill and she did't even make eye contact, just typed away printed it off and put it on the counter and walked off. No "thanks for staying" or "safe journey home" etc. Not even a smile. The rooms were also very tired (we stayed on the first floor). Not up to the usual Malmaison standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my apologies for the less than satisfactory service and customer care that you received during your stay with us. I will be carrying out a thorough investigation of the issues raised in your review and they will be the subject of my meetings with staff and management.

We in Malmaison Edinburgh strive to ensure that all of our customers receive friendly, efficient service in comfortable surroundings, so I am very sad to hear about your experience whilst checking out.

I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Malmaison Edinburgh, as I am confident that you will notice a marked improvement. In addition, on your next visit I would appreciate if you would contact me directly and I will ensure that you are upgraded.

Kind regards,

scampbell@malmaison.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Malmaison is a gud place to stay, It s close to the newly developed harbor site, but close enough to town to enjoy the city. Best to take one of the many busses. Nightlive around the hotel includes pubs and restaurants

Room Tip: All rooms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing