We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$843
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
701
772
401
154
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
772
401
154
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreleith docksocean terminalmini barsuperior roomcontinental breakfastan upgradeeggs benedictroyal yachtbars and restaurantslovely hotelclub roomhotel is situatedan overnight staystayed for one nighta lovely staycomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,160 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I like the Malmaison hotels - slightly less standard with more character than the "normal" hotels, but still reliable. And our weekend in Edinburgh confirmed this again. We enjoyed being further away from the centre and it was easy to arrange taxis or the bus to get around.

We booked a superior double that had more than enough space (including the extra bed) and a great view. There are many great restaurants nearby and the staff were happy to help with recommendations and reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

While the hotel has external character, the rooms are small and could use updating, the hallways are dark and uninviting. From our second floor room, we were very aware of street noise on the ground level in the wee hours of the night (windows closed). Our bed was too firm for us, like sleeping on the floor. We were able to sleep but it wasn't pleasant.

On the positive side, the staff were friendly and the room was kept tidy. There are many great restaurants in easy walking distance including the Roseleaf cafe and Mimi's bakehouse for breakfast/brunch and the Michelin starred Kitchin for a lavish dinner. There are three buses at the corner which take you downtown. It was £3.50 for a day bus pass, a taxi called for us by the concierge charged us £8.5 to get to city centre. The buses run frequently and are easily navigated with the Lothian Bus app.

We booked our trip to Scotland at the last minute and thus did not have much choice - this hotel was the lowest priced "four star" available according to Kayak. It is more a three star than a four star experience. Had it been priced appropriately, we would not have been as disappointed (though the beds would have been uncomfortable for us at any price). It was not value for the money $210 CAD avg per night ... but the Fringe and Edinburgh were wonderful. So plan ahead and look for other accommodations if you are able.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's hard to fault the Malmaison Edinburgh (which is actually in Leith), in that it sets itself limited challenges of providing a nice room and a nice breakfast, and achieves them. Nothing really remarkable happened, good or bad, but that is kind of the point.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

10 minutes drive from Edinburgh centre. A lovely building but dark , rather drab and tired in places with lack lustre service. Our room was on the top floor and was quite small, dark and a bit shabby with a normal sized, hard double bed (not king size) and an average bathroom with no bath robes ( for this money!!) Not good value by any stretch of the imagination. The paintwork was shabby ( wine glass stains etc ), poor quality furnishings, dreadful view of a scruffy wall and no air con so we were very hot in the night. I see one of the previous reviewers mentions very similar issues .
Our travelling companions were equally disappointed with the hotel and said it wasnt normal Malmaison standard.

We had stayed at the Fairmont near St Andrews the night before ( I have also reviewed that hotel) - our room there was considerably cheaper than the Malmaison and FAR FAR better. We will not be going back to the Malmaison .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lipsticklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here several times and must say I have been always happy.
The food and service is always good and polite.
The bar could have better selection of single malts being in Scotland but there are several whiskey bars in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Istvan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews