We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

This is a very nice hotel. Rooms are clean, modern and a decent size. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We had a few drinks in the bar which was very relaxing and had a lovely atmosphere. There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs nearby. We had the best mussels and chips at The Kings Wark, definitely worth a visit!

If visiting Leith again I would certainly stay at Malmaison.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,061
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

First of all have stayed in the Malmaison on numerous occassions and can now say that that our recent stay will be our last.
Our first request was to be able to check in early as we were attending a wedding and we had quite a few rooms booked we didnt want all the rooms just one to get changed we were advised that rooms was full the previous night so not possible.
Rooms were not full as they still had a fair bit availability online !!!!
Room was unbearable to sleep in I know we stay in scotland and dont get that much great weather however june had its fair share of sunshine and room was like a sauna,however we did get a fan that could only be plugged in at bottom of room as no sockets beside the bed!
Breakfast turned out to be nightmare went down to find half empty restaurant only to be told that we would have to take a seat outside in reception and be called in had to wait 20 minutes I dont know if the kitchen are unable to cope with the demand?
I think standards of this hotel have slipped and can see why it is so low down on the tripadvisor rankings there are far superior hotels in edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Well, there are mainly good points however a few bad points too.
It was a 4.5 out of 5 (although I scored it 4)

Good Points.
Very nice hotel, clean and tidy.
Nice location and plenty of bars and restaurants in the immediate area.
Bar, Reception and Restaurant area, plenty of polite staff ready to help.
Room and Bathroom was large and the bed very comfy.
Breakfast nice although a little small

Bad Points
Old big square TV (not plasma or lcd), although the picture was fine and a decent selection of channels.
Very noisy room, my wife had done a marathon on the evening so during the afternoon prior and after wanted to sleep. Slamming of doors and loud conversations. Even though we put a “do not disurb” sign up the cleaners (I presume) tried to enter the room. They opened the door, realised we were in there and then closed the door, later we found fresh towels outside the room.

Would I go back, yes i would if the rates were decent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trollking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

The carpets are dirty, the widows are filthy, the headboard is stained, the TV is grubby, the free soaps/washes smell crap.

The worst breakfast I've ever had....avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussy-Bstard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

The Malmaison is really a nice place to stay. Not only is it so much different from all these 'standard' hotel mammoths, such as Holiday Inn or Ramada, but they spend a lot of attention to those 'small details', such as nice toiletries, a unique-in-its-kind branding,...
The rooms are 'design', although it must be said that slight ageing is commencing...
The restaurant is OK, and they have a specific menu with local specialties. The breakfast is also OK. I must however say that in the many years I'm visiting the Mal in Edinburgh, the diner and breakfast menu cards didn't change even a bit. It would be nice to at least have some of the meals changed, certainly if you're aiming at business travelers.
But anyway, this hotel is largely advizable for anyone visiting Edinburgh, be it for business or pleasure. The location is nice: the trendy Leith area. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

On arrival to the hotel we were greated at the door by a very smart gentleman who helped us with our bags and directed us to the reception. The girl checking us in was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. One tip is that you can pre-book breakfast on arrival and only pay £10 per person. We were offered an upgrade also on arrival, but we declined as we were on quite a tight budget.

On arrival in our room, we were very impressed. Very bright and clean with a great bed. Nice furnishings and great bathroom and shower. My only small gripe is that the room had an old boxy type tv, but it did work perfectly and there were over 12 channels including sky sports.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but the menu looked fantastic. We opted to have a drink in the bar and again the service was perfect. The young barman was very attentive and gave us great advise. He also recommended and made us delicious cocktails.

This hotel is slightly outside the city center. We took a bus (the number 22) which stops very near the hotel. It takes just over 10 minutes. I would say however that location is actually a plus. The city center is very busy and noisy, but the Malmaison is in a tranquil setting on the waterfront. It was great waking up and watching swans landing in the water. The hotel does have a very nice outside terrace area, but the weather was not too good when we visited, but I can imagine on a sunny day it would be very nice.

This is the third uk hotel I have stayed in this year and I would definetely say it was the best. We will stay there again if we are back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0rkie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Visited the Malmaison in Edinburgh for Valentine's Day weekend and for a gig in the centre of the city. Got an amazing deal as I pre-booked through an online agent (rang the hotel directly to check if it was genuine as it was that much of a bargain). It is a really charming hotel. Our room had a lovely bathtub and the free toiletries which in other hotels can sometimes be a bit rubbish were really substantial and smelt lovely!! There is also a dvd player in all the Malmaison hotel rooms so after a long day sightseeing and shopping it was nice to come back and watch a film in a warm, comfortable room. We bought some CDs and listened to them while reading the Sunday paper (which was free). It is worth noting that the Malmaison chain do some of the most delicious food too -- if you plan it properly and get up nice and early you could easily have a three course breakfast as the selection is incredible... I had some Eggs Benedict that would give Delia a run for her money :-) The only negative things I can say are that unless you book dinner on arrival you'll probably struggle to get into the hotel restaurant in the evening and that you do have to get a bus into the centre (or a taxi if you're slightly more affluent). It is possible to walk to the centre in about 30/40 minutes but the bus ride is much, much quicker and really frequent. Hope this helps!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mademoisellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing