We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I think this was the fist Malmaison to open and I have to be honest and say it's showing a few wears and tears now. The room I was in was showing it's age with scuff marks on the walls, window latches which weren't working, a stain on the bedsheet and a bad patch up job in the bathroom. Most of these I wouldn't raise if I was staying at another hotel but I'm so used to Malmaison being top notch in everything they do, it was a surprise to see these things. Location is a fair distance from Edinburgh City Centre but Leith is a great area with good seafood restaurants nearby and a nice place just to walk around.
One thing Malmaison never fail on is their breakfasts. Absolutely superb whichever hotel you choose to stay.
All in all, good value for a midweek stay and a good, trouble free stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0bn0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    700
    355
    137
    52
See reviews for
162
1,088
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Mal is a very nice hotel, clean well appointed rooms and comfortable beds, good facilities including the gym and a nice cocktail bar. A good sized car park at the rear was good as we had driven there. emediate locale is pleasant right on the waterfront of the docks but it is a distance away from the city center and some of the surrounding areas are in need of development. However there is an excellent bus service across Edinburgh. a day ticket costs just £3. we left the car at the hotel and got the bus into the city.
Although the prices were not cheap we thought we would treat ourselves to a meal in the Brasserie for our first night. I thought we had seen an end to the nouvelle cuisine cooking in restaurants. Not so at the Mal. We dined in the Brasseire and ordered Roast loin of lamb with mutton and caper dumplings served with a puree of carrot . It arrived looking lost on the plate, six slices of lamb about the size of 50p pieces and three small “dumplings” on a smear of carrot puree all this and a glass of wine each came to £60. I have had starters more substantial than this so called main course, we did not even consider a dessert but went elswhere instead.
If you want a good meal, a few doors along the front is the Ship on the Shore sea food restaurant and bar, great atmosphere and service by friendly staff and excellent fresh seafood, booking is advised though as it is popular.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashtestcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Myself, my daughter and the dog, stayed at the Mal Edinburgh as part of visit to the city for the Fringe. The hotel is quite out the way, about 15 mins bus ride into Leith, a run down urban part of the city, would be a dodgy walk if not getting the bus or driving/taxi. However, buses were very regular, but very busy, cheap to travel at £3 daily for a day rider ticket. Also, on the bus, be careful where getting off, as we learned too late that if getting off the bus at Ocean Terminal, its a dodgy 10 minute walk along ocean Drive to Tower Place, where the hotel is. Once we found the hotel, we were pleasantly suprised by the funky decor or the lobby and reception. We were greeted by a lovely young lady called Vicky and check in was easy, and Vicky very kindly prioritised our room so we could get settled, then leave our bags to go out and explore. We had a drink on the terrace of the bar, which was lovely as views were fab, although drinks prices are very steep at £10 for two drinks! 250mls glass red wine at £7! a coke for £3! wine was just ok, but much needed after trying to find the hotel. Room (standard double) was nice, although very tired and dusty, windows were dirty, view from room was onto the noisy sidestreet. No air con, due to being a certain type of building, so room was very hot, especially after hot shower. The bed was very firm but comfortable and clean. Tv was average, dated and only some channels worked. Not a problem though as we soon drifted off to sleep after exploring the Royal Mile, Sailsbury Grags and Holyrood Park. Bathroom was small but clean with a tub and a lovely power shower with good toiletries. Towels were big, fluffy and clean, towel heater was good too. After much searching online for a good deal, especially at peak festival season, we were glad we tried the Mal, which is one of a handful hotels that promises a good brand, a good sleep and eats, and also allows dogs to stay. Jack, our Scottie was provided with a little dog bed and water bowl, and enjoyed a well earned rest after lots of climbing the hilly crags and streets. We did not eat at the hotel as we were out and about until 8pm then snoozed through to mid morning, missing breakfast. This was a plus, as check out was good at 12 noon and also because we were on room only board. Although the Mal has some good deals (check out the website) the bar and resturant was quite pricey. On passing, the brasserie looks very nice, modern and funky. The food looked and smelled nice too. Overall, a nice stay, made better by Vicky the receptionist. Be prepared to pay more for a better room in the hotel, and look for the best deal. The total cost of our stay was £115, inclusive of a £10 charge for the dog. This was via Booking.com.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east scotland
Level Contributor
677 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Malmaison is different , in a good way , who would take on an old seamans hostel and turn it into a hotel that dares to be different - congratulations to those who did. The walk down the Shore pass a number of interesting pubs and resturants. The optimism of the Malmaison is immediately obvious - this is Scotland and there are tables outside.

The building is amazing , towers and turrets. We were only having one night in the capital - and we were upgraded to the 'Port of Leith' suite - room 121 ( one to one ) yes the mal likes a bit of fun with words - and I laughed at every one of them.

This suite is really fine - four poster bed - plenty of room to swing a cat and a bathroom with a tartan bath - a massive shower - two wash hand basins - oils , lotions , towels and robes - i loved it. At the foot of the bath is a television - yes the remote is water proof.

TV - DVD - all there - tea coffee - mini bar - with access to room service you could easily shack up for a long weekend without coming up for air. However that would be a shame - the food is excellent - i tried a simple steak frites - magnificent - breakfast all you could ask.

The bar was very quiet when we visited - however the selection is good and the service top class - in fact everyone we met was professional , friendly and very helpful.

Will we go back - yes.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed at the Malmaison in Edinburgh with my mother during a trip we took around Scotland to celebrate my birthday.
Although the hotel is a little difficult to find - out in Leith, it has free parking out at the rear and a lovely view. It is well decorated as are all Mal's. The staff were friendly and happy to assist me with the luggage as my mother is disabled.
The room was well appointed, although our windows didn't open properly and there was no air-con so it was very hot during the night!
Cleanliness was first class, extra pillows and towels. Nice linen, well designed, good mini bar selection and an option for room service 24hrs.
We ate in the bistro - another review on that one. Breakfast first class.

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSpacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night on 24th July. We had been given a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast voucher as a wedding present. Our first impression of the room was that it was somewhat neglected. The windows and window frames were incrediby dirty considering this hotel is not exactly on a busy main road. On investigation, the windows opened inward so it wouldn't have been difficult to clean them. The TV looked out of place as it was a chunky old-style one and didn't quite fit with the marketing image of the hotel. There were grubby marks on the furniture which came off with gentle rubbing and dust on the tea/coffee tray, so I guess the housekeeping staff were not paying attention to the details! Having said that, the bed was really comfy and we enjoyed the nice toiletries BUT the shower leaked because there was no rubber trim on the bottom of the shower screen and we therefore ended up with a puddle on the floor - very annoying.

Dinner was fabulous. We enjoyed every course and the service was very good and attentive. Breakfast was equally good, especially the eggs benedict.

What a pity the restaurant was let down by the housekeeping side of things.

We WOULD recommend - but mostly for the food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

hotel was very nice, short drive from city.
food was very nice, room was also very nice
the only small irritation was the hotel lift was very very slow lol

but very nice hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_and_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,327 reviews
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#58 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing