We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely going back!”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Usually when brushing my teeth after a night in hotel accommodation I find myself making a mental note never to stay in that said accommodation ever again. I have to say the opposite was true as I brushed my pearly whites in the crisp and elegant surroundings that were my en suite. I surprised myself by planning ahead to the next time that I could possible fit in a stay at this lovely hotel. I was part of a classy hen weekend group and we were all greeted by champagne on ice, large bars of cadbury's chocolate, olives and peanuts... all kindly provided and part of a deal for the pre-nuptual party.

The meal was lovely including the best chocolate parfait I have ever tasted. A good selection of wines on the menu but unfortunately the one my sister (sommelier in one of Frank Bruni's top five) picked was not available. The replacement was suitably good.

I loved the bedroom, a huge, comfortable bed with a good colour scheme and good quality linens. I slept in no time at all and wasn't disturbed by anything. ( Another one of our party was however kept awake by pigeons on her windowsill.) The hallway decor was mainly in a dark cobalt blue and felt a little constricting when matched with a navy carpet.

The main feel of the hotel is politely friendly with a sense of humour, even down to the little notes around the taps etc It is positioned on the water of Leith and there are little coffee shops etc in walking distance.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made the experience all the nicer!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caprice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    689
    350
    136
    48
See reviews for
161
1,070
39
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

What a beautiful hotel in such a strange location. We stayed their last night and really enjoyed ourselves the room was well furnished and a good bathroom. Very quite during the night and the temperature was ok. The staff are friendly and helpful. The most surprising part of our stay was the fantastic breakfast no bog standard buffet a freshly made and served menu with a good range of choice I had the eggs Benedict which was to die for my wife had the scrambled egg and smoked salmon quality as good. The selection of help yourself was outstanding.

Only negative the pillows were to soft but we can live with that

No problem going back maybe for longer

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stewartdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We booked a few nights at malmaison to start our honeymoon after our wedding before we head overseas. Although it was extreemly pricey due to the festival, we had thought it was a good chain to stay at, how wrong.

When my husband booked the hotel, we were asked if we would like to upgrade to a suite which we thought would be a nice touch as a treat. He mentioned that we were newly weds, and they said they would give us a few perks to make our stay extra special. When we arrived at the hotel, no one mentioned the fact we were just married at all, we had no extras, only hidden extras we had to pay for in the crazy service charges they seem to add everywhere. The suite was a bit on the scabby side, however the bathroom was quite nice.

The staff were not that friendly, and the service at breakfast and for dinner was awful! When the eventually took our order, the starters were slow to appear and we didn't bring our drinks until the second course, which they forgot half of and brought it along once we had finished our meal. They then added a service charge to our meal, what service?!?!

After the awful overpriced meal, we went off to bed in the super warm bedroom, with no air con, only to be woken at 5:30am by the fire alarm due to someone smoking in their room. No one said sorry to us for being dragged out our beds to stand out side in the pouring rain for 45 minutes!!!

Luckly the rest of our honeymoon was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I think this was the fist Malmaison to open and I have to be honest and say it's showing a few wears and tears now. The room I was in was showing it's age with scuff marks on the walls, window latches which weren't working, a stain on the bedsheet and a bad patch up job in the bathroom. Most of these I wouldn't raise if I was staying at another hotel but I'm so used to Malmaison being top notch in everything they do, it was a surprise to see these things. Location is a fair distance from Edinburgh City Centre but Leith is a great area with good seafood restaurants nearby and a nice place just to walk around.
One thing Malmaison never fail on is their breakfasts. Absolutely superb whichever hotel you choose to stay.
All in all, good value for a midweek stay and a good, trouble free stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0bn0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Mal is a very nice hotel, clean well appointed rooms and comfortable beds, good facilities including the gym and a nice cocktail bar. A good sized car park at the rear was good as we had driven there. emediate locale is pleasant right on the waterfront of the docks but it is a distance away from the city center and some of the surrounding areas are in need of development. However there is an excellent bus service across Edinburgh. a day ticket costs just £3. we left the car at the hotel and got the bus into the city.
Although the prices were not cheap we thought we would treat ourselves to a meal in the Brasserie for our first night. I thought we had seen an end to the nouvelle cuisine cooking in restaurants. Not so at the Mal. We dined in the Brasseire and ordered Roast loin of lamb with mutton and caper dumplings served with a puree of carrot . It arrived looking lost on the plate, six slices of lamb about the size of 50p pieces and three small “dumplings” on a smear of carrot puree all this and a glass of wine each came to £60. I have had starters more substantial than this so called main course, we did not even consider a dessert but went elswhere instead.
If you want a good meal, a few doors along the front is the Ship on the Shore sea food restaurant and bar, great atmosphere and service by friendly staff and excellent fresh seafood, booking is advised though as it is popular.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashtestcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Myself, my daughter and the dog, stayed at the Mal Edinburgh as part of visit to the city for the Fringe. The hotel is quite out the way, about 15 mins bus ride into Leith, a run down urban part of the city, would be a dodgy walk if not getting the bus or driving/taxi. However, buses were very regular, but very busy, cheap to travel at £3 daily for a day rider ticket. Also, on the bus, be careful where getting off, as we learned too late that if getting off the bus at Ocean Terminal, its a dodgy 10 minute walk along ocean Drive to Tower Place, where the hotel is. Once we found the hotel, we were pleasantly suprised by the funky decor or the lobby and reception. We were greeted by a lovely young lady called Vicky and check in was easy, and Vicky very kindly prioritised our room so we could get settled, then leave our bags to go out and explore. We had a drink on the terrace of the bar, which was lovely as views were fab, although drinks prices are very steep at £10 for two drinks! 250mls glass red wine at £7! a coke for £3! wine was just ok, but much needed after trying to find the hotel. Room (standard double) was nice, although very tired and dusty, windows were dirty, view from room was onto the noisy sidestreet. No air con, due to being a certain type of building, so room was very hot, especially after hot shower. The bed was very firm but comfortable and clean. Tv was average, dated and only some channels worked. Not a problem though as we soon drifted off to sleep after exploring the Royal Mile, Sailsbury Grags and Holyrood Park. Bathroom was small but clean with a tub and a lovely power shower with good toiletries. Towels were big, fluffy and clean, towel heater was good too. After much searching online for a good deal, especially at peak festival season, we were glad we tried the Mal, which is one of a handful hotels that promises a good brand, a good sleep and eats, and also allows dogs to stay. Jack, our Scottie was provided with a little dog bed and water bowl, and enjoyed a well earned rest after lots of climbing the hilly crags and streets. We did not eat at the hotel as we were out and about until 8pm then snoozed through to mid morning, missing breakfast. This was a plus, as check out was good at 12 noon and also because we were on room only board. Although the Mal has some good deals (check out the website) the bar and resturant was quite pricey. On passing, the brasserie looks very nice, modern and funky. The food looked and smelled nice too. Overall, a nice stay, made better by Vicky the receptionist. Be prepared to pay more for a better room in the hotel, and look for the best deal. The total cost of our stay was £115, inclusive of a £10 charge for the dog. This was via Booking.com.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east scotland
Level Contributor
645 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Malmaison is different , in a good way , who would take on an old seamans hostel and turn it into a hotel that dares to be different - congratulations to those who did. The walk down the Shore pass a number of interesting pubs and resturants. The optimism of the Malmaison is immediately obvious - this is Scotland and there are tables outside.

The building is amazing , towers and turrets. We were only having one night in the capital - and we were upgraded to the 'Port of Leith' suite - room 121 ( one to one ) yes the mal likes a bit of fun with words - and I laughed at every one of them.

This suite is really fine - four poster bed - plenty of room to swing a cat and a bathroom with a tartan bath - a massive shower - two wash hand basins - oils , lotions , towels and robes - i loved it. At the foot of the bath is a television - yes the remote is water proof.

TV - DVD - all there - tea coffee - mini bar - with access to room service you could easily shack up for a long weekend without coming up for air. However that would be a shame - the food is excellent - i tried a simple steak frites - magnificent - breakfast all you could ask.

The bar was very quiet when we visited - however the selection is good and the service top class - in fact everyone we met was professional , friendly and very helpful.

Will we go back - yes.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing