We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Ashlyn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashlyn Guest House
Ranked #108 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 12 years. Peter and Lindsay been here approx 7 year and they are fab. Very friendly and helpful. My partner as been with me last 3 years and loves it too. Lovely place cosy warm n very comfortable. Av stayed in most rooms all lovely. Breakfast fabulous set up for day. Yum yum. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterhouse_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed at the Ashlyn guest house for the last 3 years for Hogmanay and my partner has stayed here every year for the last 12. Neither of us can find any fault. Very clean lovely breakfast very comfortable rooms and the proprietors couldn't be more welcoming and friendly if they tried. Home from home and would highly recommend to anyone. If visiting Edinburgh for business or leisure you must stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed 1 night in Sept to go to an exhibition at The Royal Botanical Gardens, which were just a few hundred yards from the Guest House, so perfect location for us. Easy to find. Had Room 4 at front on 1st Floor.
Parking an issue - but easily overcome with Peter's help.Had to drop off our luggage, then go about a mile away to park our car, as no long term parking outside. Only meters for few hours.
Peter met us on arrival & kindly took our (heavy) luggage up to our room.
Offered us tea, but we had to go park the car & dash off to the exhibition.
Lovely Georgian building, with delightful rooms, beautifully decorated & lovely furniture & soft furnishings, plus period features. Very nice Guest lounge with comfy sofas, books & magazines to read, board games to play, & lots of useful Tourist info available.
Nice big bedroom, en suite shower - rather small, but ok for 1 night. Spotlessly clean. lovely furnishings & linens. Some road noise, though didn't really bother
us.
Peter recommended an Italian Restaurant to us for dinner - about a half mile away. Could walk there or handy bus just outside B&B.
Bright Breakfast Room facing garden at back of house. So nice to have a linen serviette, Lindsey! We only had Continental breakfast + porridge, but others were enjoying cooked breakfasts. Very reasonably priced at £80 for B&B.
Would have loved to stay longer, but, alas, not possible! Would definitely recommend it, as Peter & Lindsey so very kind, helpful & friendly, & run a lovely Guest House. Will definitely stay here next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A lovely guest house. Our room was number 4 at the front of the house. Very clean and beautiful, with a queen bed and an ensuite. Breakfast was wonderful and Peter and Lindsey were very kind and helpful. Parking was a bit of a problem but certainly would not stop us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in August, and it was our first stop after flying in overnight and driving from Glasgow. Four of us showed up on their doorstep at 11 am, long before check in time. Peter and Lindsey fixed us tea and coffee in the common room, pulled the door shut gently when they saw we'd all fallen asleep across our bags, and had our room cleaned promptly so we could nap upstairs. We hadn't changed any currency yet, so Peter found us the exact change for the bus when we were ready to explore town. We had the family room, which was quite large enough for me, my husband, and two adult children. It has a sink and blow drier in the room, handy when we were trying to get ready at the same time. The bathroom is across the hall, private for our use, with bathrobes provided. I never bumped into another guest while crossing the hall though it is possible. One thing I hadn't planned for was how much longer it takes the 4 of us to get ready when rotating through one shower, but that reflects on my planning, not on the Ashlyn! The bathroom was pristine and attractive, and the beds were comfy. Breakfasts were delicious with options that suited all of us. The location is an easy bus ride away from downtown and by the end of our three days we'd gotten the hang of reading the schedule. It's also walkable, but we did so much walking it was nice to rest a bit and save some time. Originally I'd thought I wanted to stay downtown, but I'm glad we didn't. It's a bit of a mob scene in the main areas (during festival time atleast, we visited during the end of august, other times i doubt it would be quite as crowded) and it was more restful to get away from it to sleep. Try the Orchard for a nearby lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in one of the twin rooms, was pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the proprietors. Stayed here for 2 weeks during July and August, would have given better review, but the bathroom facilities for this room I felt were falsely advertised. The toilet was a flight of stairs down and the smaller than a stamp shower was across the hallway. There was a perfectly good bathroom right outside the door of the nice little bedroom too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlyn21, Owner at Ashlyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hi - thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
Just to clarify, it was our single room you stayed in with private shower and toilet, not one of our twin rooms. We are really sorry that you felt you had been misled on the description of where the facilities were - we would never intentionally mislead guests, and based on your feedback we will make it clearer on our website that the toilet is a few steps downstairs and the shower is small. What I would like to highlight however, is that the facilities for our single room are reflected in the price for the room, which also includes full quality breakfast and free wifi. In August in Edinburgh I'm not sure you would find similar facilities for the same price.
The other bathroom you mention is for private use for the Family Room as we explained during your stay.
We welcome feedback from all our guests and we hope that the amendments to the website description will ensure no other guests feel misled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our friends were married in the Botanic Gardens in August - and we were after a place to stay which was walking distance home afterwards (instead of battling to find a taxi after midnight on a Saturday night in the middle of the Fringe Festival!).

Ashlyn Guest House was approx ten minutes (slow) walk from the East Gate of the gardens - so perfect for us. About a 25 minute walk into town (up a smallish hill - take the bus if you're lazy).

We stayed in room 7 in the very top of the building - usually a twin, they joined the beds up for us, and it was fine. Bathroom was across the hallway, and solely for our use - so fine. Bedroom window looked out the back of the property, so very lovely and quiet. Another guest staying in one of the rooms that faced the front of the property said the traffic was quite busy at night (okay if you're a heavy sleeper).

Breakfast was lovely - some of the best bacon I've had in a long time. Struggled to get up in time for 8:30 - 9:30am slot for breakfast on the Sunday morning, but can understand why the breakfast window is so narrow....but it would have been nicer to have the option of a later breakfast on Sunday :)

Would definitely come back and stay here again when in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper / disturbed by traffic - ask for a room facing the back of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimBuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlyn21, Owner at Ashlyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hi - thanks for taking the time to review our guest house and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and didn't get sore feet walking home from the wedding! Thanks for your comments on the breakfast times - we constantly review our service and will take your feedback into account for the future.
Hopefully see you again in Edinburgh.
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,602 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#103 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlyn Guest House

Address: 42 Inverleith Row, Edinburgh EH3 5PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlyn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashlyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlyn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing