We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Spent a night here after our holiday the rooms are lovely and new and the bed was very comfortable,also the bathroom new as well had a lovely shower but went hot and cold on it's own which was not very pleasant.We found the room to be noisy could hear next door talking,the worst part of our night was the restaurant.The menu choices were 3 starters-all £5.95 (mushroom soup) Then i had the steak-£19.95 it was tasteless and the veg also no taste(£3 for the veg) My husband had Beef casserole and could not eat it as it was so tough and dried up (£13.95) also a cheap bottle of Italian wine cost us £19.95-that bad we only drank half.Prices are very expensive considering you have to order and pay at the bar,and help your self to cutlery,even the salt and pepper.A shame because the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityHotelGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Brenda A

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read of the poor food quality you experienced. The beef casserole (£10.95) and the entire menu/service delivery are new to us and we working on strategies to improve. It will improve.

Thank you for mentioning the shower temperature – we’ll look at this issue immediately.
We appreciate the positive comments about our brand new rooms and the team.

Regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here after as our flight landed late evening. The room was bright, bed comfortable and tea and coffee facilities were available in the room. However, only decaf coffee (yuk) and only 2 sachets of coffee and 4 little milks.

The bin in the bathroom hadn't been emptied, someone's' tooth brush and tooth paste were still in there! and only one bath towel was available in the room!

Breakfast.... a choice of sausage, scrambled egg and beans or cereal. No vegi option, and my partner was looking forward to bacon and fried egg!! However, there were no sausages when we arrived for breakfast at 8am, however, they did arrive at 8.40am!.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityHotelGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Wendy p

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read that the room wasn't quite ready for your arrival – this is not acceptable.

Our Free Express Start breakfast is a Holiday Inn Express standard. There is no reason the sausages should have taken 40 minutes to replenish. We’ll keep a better eye on our buffet items. In the future if you have a specific dietary request, just email/call the hotel in advance of your arrival and we’ll sort for you.

My kind regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

i use this hotel for business and was delighted to see they have changed to holiday Inn Express as this is a brand I would use at other airport locations. You can clearly see that money has been spent in this property as the new rooms are fantastic and the new lobby area is perfect for working and a bite to eat.
I have always found the staff excellent and the proximity to the airport and car parking is excellent

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonderryamoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed on 25/01/14 we had booked for the Quality Inn only to discover it had been taken over the night before we were staying so had not option but to go an e mail informing customers of the change would have been appreciated. The room was ok clean and new furniture but very poor soundproofing could hear noise all during the night from all over the floor not just rooms next door. The restaurant was a disaster when we checked in we had to ask if the deal we had booked ( 3 course meal in what was a higher quality restaurant ) informed just to tell the staff when ordering food.Only problem was no one knew how the deal was to be implemented and that you had to order all 3 courses at once you are unable to choose your dessert after eating your main course. Turns out they had decided that each couple had £50 to spend on food but they did not tell us that . After ordering a starter and a main course each, discovered the rule about having to order 3 courses at the same time . The duty manager eventually said we could order a dessert and he would do the order manually and come and get our order.After finishing main course waited and eventually went to the bar he grudgingly ordered our desserts which we bought tea to have with. Finished our tea sat at least 35 minutes with no sign of desert so left and went back to our room without dessert, approx 10 minutes later our room phone went and then again a few minutes later I presume it was the duty manager as we had had enough and decided not to answer the phone. Total chaos and not even busy. Reception staff were pleasant but again clueless. Would pay the extra and stay at the Hilton next time as we have previously done.Very poor for such a large chain.

Room Tip: pick another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couple372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityHotelGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear couple372

Thank you for the review – and please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion regarding your dinner package.

While we are still in the midst of change, there is no excuse why we failed you on this occasion.
We are working towards making our guests’ stay more seamless so that you can enjoy your stay and leave feeling refreshed. We will get there and we are focused through this period of major change.

Regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Breakfast is very poor, cheap feel of hotel, very noisy in rooms, beds not good, the bar will not accept cash after 22:30?? Holiday inn franchise has ruined what used to be a good Quality Inn. If you use the long stay car park you better take a 4x4 as the potholes ( craters) are over 6 " deep. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to any one. Maybe the management should read some of the recent reviews and act on the advise-comments since they took over 4 weeks ago.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lloyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityHotelGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Lloyd R

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay.

We have, just in the past few months, installed brand new pocket spring beds in all guest rooms through an entire hotel renovation; I am disappointed and surprised you didn't find them comfortable.

We do plan to do some remedial work on our long term parking area once winter is over. Please note though that our guests should always drive slowly/carefully as ultimately the parking area is a secured field which allow us to keep our prices low for Park Stay and Fly packages.

Thank you for your comments Lloyd R . We are the same team who have always been here for years. We are listening to our guests. Our bar is open 24 hours to our registered guests but to ensure only registered guests use the facility we ensure all charges are billed to guest rooms (out width our license period).

Regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Drove down from Aberdeen the night before our ski flight in the morning, have used this hotel many times in the past and it has been fine. When we arrived what used to be a reasonable restaurant is no longer there, you have to eat in the"Great room" where the food is on par with a motorway service station! We stayed in room 146 and had no sleep due to it being next to a boiler, we mentioned this in the morning, but it fell on deaf ears "which would have been useful the previous night". Next time we'll drive down in the morning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityHotelGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Andy M

I am sorry to read of your poor and disturbed stay.

We do have a full dinner menu available each night. All items are freshly prepared by our chefs in the kitchen. It is true though that the standard (and price) is not as high as our previous La Bonne Auberge restaurant. We really tried to listen to our guests who often suggested our La Bonne Auberge restaurant was too expensive for the dining option the majority of our guests required. We knew some of our regular guests would miss our restaurant. But we will strive to improve our food standard.

We will research today the cause of the noise from room 146 and ensure it’s sorted. There is no reason for a disturbed stay.

Thank you for the comments and for the repeat patronage. We will improve.

Regards
Jason Dombrower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familleschiller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Address: 101 Ingliston Road | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated at Edinburgh Airport. Guests enjoy free parking, free WiFi and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing