We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC ACCOMADATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed overnight on late arrival from Cyprus, my car was left on way out to holiday ,
arrived at 1.30 am and was warmly welcomed by the desk staff , room was on ground flat so no problem ,a lovely room and very comfortable bed , bathroom spotless and very modern ,
Breakfast was excellent , plenty choices ,
Had no complaint of this little gem

Room Tip: room with views to inner area very quiet . deffo be recommended and ideal for leaving your car , sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PATSY448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

A tired hotel with no air condition.

When opening windows there was of course a lot of traffic noise from the plains. I wouldn’t stay here again, not so much because of the hotel and that you are stuck there until your flight departures. Because you can get a better hotel in town, where you can explore Edinburgh all night long. The airport is only 30 minutes from the city centre, and along the journey of the bus to the airport, I saw a lot of hotels... The coach to the airport runs very often.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jepperdi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear jepperdi89

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you had a disturbed stay.

It is true we sit right at Edinburgh Airport - only a 5 minute journey on our 24 hour shuttle bus. Fortunately the Edinburgh Trams will start running in the next couple weeks from Edinburgh Airport which will make visiting our country's capital city even easier whilst staying at the Holiday Inn Express Ediburgh Airport.

As we don’t sit on Edinburgh Airport's flight path (we sit directly on its runway), we don’t often hear comments regarding noise from planes. Equally being in Scotland the temperature rarely rises above 19C (in the heart of the summer) so Air Conditioned bedrooms isn’t often requested. None the less we would have happily provided a fan to help!

Thanks again for the review and for communicating with us. We do find it useful for our continued improvement.

Regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel and was impressed by the fresh new decor (we stayed there when it was the quality hotel)
Both front desk staff very helpful and we only had a short wait to checkin but we were early so not a big deal.
Room spacious and very clean bed comfortable and as we were on the ground floor at the back very little if any aircraft noise. Though the hotel is very close to the runway so any aircraft noise is going to be heard to a degree.
Breakfast provided in the morning was basic but enough to keep you going.
Shuttle bus as before prompt with only a short wait on our return.
Only thing is the doors to the room slam shut very loudly so this can be an issue.
Overall very happy and would continue to use this hotel anytime we fly from Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you don't want too much aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staying here for the night (30th April) got a early morning flight so made decision to come and stay, first time since hotel changed hands. What a difference with the refit it's smart clean and modern and the rooms have been revamped with very comfy bed and the shower is amazing. Had dinner in hotel had the burger and was very impressed was thinking it would b one of those frozen burgers u buy at asda type but it was very nice and looked like a proper burger should! Would def stay here again . Also they provide parking for your duration in a car oark across from hotel for a very reasonable rate on top of room price

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simple_stoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked the Hotel online on a non-cancellation deal and the price was reasonable. Our car was parked in the Hotel car park at a cost of £4 per night. The receptionist was a very friendly and pleasant man who was very thorough in explaining everything he felt we needed to know, and answering all our questions. The room was as I saw it brand new. Comfortable, clean, modern and well equipped. Being close to the airport we expected a certain amount of noise, however the room was very quiet apart from the occupants of the adjoining room who seemed to continually bang the door every other minute till I got up and strongly told him to stop. That is not the fault of the Hotel, just an indication of the thoughtless people that one experiences in travelling. We had a 3:45 rise for a 7:00 flight so maybe people should try and remember that wherever they are staying. Breakfast was included and at that time of the morning it was a Continental Breakfast which was sufficient for us. We would recommend the Hotel as a stopover for early departures or late arrivals.

Room Tip: Airport noise is always a problem when location is as close as this so a back room is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryUK1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good location, near to the airport. Breakfast lovely, but dinner a bit expensive for the quality of food. Most of the staff very friendly and helpful, ( night receptionist was a bit rude, but that was maybe coz it was the middle of the night!) Rooms very spacious and comfortable - would use this hotel if flying form Edinburgh airport in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of hotel, this will cut down on the airport noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felixfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear felixfaescotland

Thank you for this review.

We appreciate all the comments. I am sorry to read that our nights' team member was rude. This is unacceptable and as you aware we've spoken so that the issue can be addressed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great place to start a journey from, especially if you have a morning flight out of Edinburgh. Staff were warm and welcoming. Breakfast starts early, but eggs and sausages are not out for the first couple of hours. Free parking. Shuttle to Airport ($). Good restaurant recommendations. Glad we stayed here, work well for us. Careful sitting down in the room - the club chair was much softer than expected. The beds were soft as well.

Room Tip: The south end (Lower room numbers: 001 - 020) of the hotel smells like it has been recently updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smackArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear smackArkansas

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
As you mention we specialize on serving our guests who have an early flight or late arrivals. Our Free Express breakfast starts from 4am with Continental options then at 630am the hot food is served till 10am. Dinner is served from 5pm daily and a 24 hour food menu is always available.

All our guests receive Free Breakfast, Free WIFI and Free parking!

I am sorry to read you felt the beds were soft - they are all brand new pocket spring mattresses!

Thank you for the comments.

Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Address: 101 Ingliston Road | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £84 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated at Edinburgh Airport. Guests enjoy free parking, free WiFi and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing