We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but NO A/C!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have to say, this is a newly opened and renovated hotel not a new building. It was clean, and the menu was good. We were checked in (ground floor room) and kept noticing the room very warm and no air flow. My husband asked the desk clerk where the a/c unit was and this is when he was informed there are none, and to open the window. Well problem with this is that the hotel sits on the same property as a warehouse loading facility and the windows open ALL THE WAY OPEN, completely unsafe. So we had to open the window, turn on the bathroom fan to suck some air in the room as the 1st floor wasn't high enough to get any breeze. When we went to sleep we had to lock the window & back to no air at all. So for convenience to the hotel and shuttle it was prefect! But the no a/c issue was not great and made for a miserable night sleep with no air movement. And if you are driving there is not enough parking spots, it is VERY restricted parking available. Even the desk clerk was amazed that we found a spot when we arrived. We soon returned the rental car though and took shuttle back to hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going during the summer months make sure you stay above the 1st floor so you can utilize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDaniel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

First visit as a Holiday In Express Hotel, the clue is in the name, so for dinner, bed, breakfast, flight, leave your car, this is the place. Friendly welcome from chatty reception staff, they no longer have the bar & large restaurant that the Quality Hotel had, these has been replaced by a smaller bar and restaurant area but still adequate. Room clean and modern sadly not much of a view we looked onto a loading bay type area, but your not staying in the area for the view, really comfy bed, modern bathroom. Food really good although not a large menu, for dinner, we were served by a really friendly waiter Chris, who was luvly and chatty, beakfast also adequate, pick up - return service to the airport excellent, also the 15 day parking deal is very handy, will return Thanks :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the HIE as we had an early flight the next morning & wanted to be well rested before travelling to AGP. We were very disappointed with whole experience. We had three cases with us plus carry on luggage & our beautiful three year old who is always trying to 'help.' We were given a room on the second floor & the elevator was out of action & remained so throughout our stay. No rooms were offered, or available, on the ground floor. The hotel is isolated & they have a captive audience for the restaurant & this shows: the food is diabolical. We were also told not to use the toilets downstairs as they were flooded! The breakfast was 10 minutes late the next morning, very important if you are pushed to catch a flight; it wasn't worth waiting for. The shower thermostat was useless, with water temperature varying from stone cold to scolding with you having zero control of the water temperature. One of the worst airport hotels that we have ever used & we won't be back. All this & I am an IHG Ambassador Member, not impressed.

Room Tip: Don't use the second floor with this hotel's dodgy elevator. Don't waste your time with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Glenn F F

Please accept our sincere apologies for your poor stay.

The lift did break down and was fixed by a lift engineer by 11am the next morning.

I do hope you communicated your specific dissatisfaction upon departure; I am certain we could have ensured you left satisfied. It would have been handy to know the room number you stayed in, so that we could have checked the shower mixer unit. Sometimes there are issues that need fixing and sometimes it's user error. Either way we could have helped - even with the bags!

There were no reported 'floods' of the guest toilets though. Maybe someone was just cleaning?

We do enjoy when our valued IHG Rewards and IHG Ambassador Members' stay with us. I am personally sorry we let you down.

Regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

An very good place for an overnight stay.
Next to the Highland Showground. Being alongside the runway you have to expect some noise.
Reception staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere very relaxing.
The inclusive breakfast was as expected from Holiday Inn Express.
Would stop here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked as the old Quality Hotel but were pleasantly surprised by the service from Holiday Inn. Free breakfast was great and rooms very clean. Parked our car for 2 weeks and everything was fine. Would recommend this hotel if looking for somewhere to stay before a holiday and to park your car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay57-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When your booking Holiday Inn's to stay in for a few nights as a base its not a first choice to book an Airport location especially when the runway runs parallel with the hotel. This unfortunately was our only choice on a wet Saturday night with all other Edinburgh Holiday Inn's full.

The decision was looking like a disastrous one when we arrived to check in, the Reception Staff was a young girl who was very slow and indecisive and it felt like an age before we finally got to our rooms. There was also the fact that they had messed up our room allocation meaning we didn't get two x two single beds but that was the end of our bad stay, our experience from that point was excellent and this was all made possible by the extremely spacious rooms, plenty of plug sockets, good shower, clean rooms, great pillows and a bloody good bed.

In summary the staff here were saved by the quality of the rooms. As for the sleeping on a runway it wasn't too bad, l will stay again and would recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Best feature for me was the freshly refurbished modern rooms and bathrooms. Pub style evening meal was OK and saved going out to eat. Free wifi did not work at all in my room but I was able to make a Skype video call from lobby area . There was a sofa bed in my room that I did not need but was unable to fold away to use the sofa. I found the room cold despite having the small radiator on high. Free breakfast basic but OK. Charge for shuttle bus that made long detour through long term car park and then dropped off a long way from the terminal is not really justified. Would stay here again for early flight.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear sanuk6991

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read the WiFi wasn’t working in your room; I hope you mentioned it to the team so that we could ensure the issue was resolved. We also could have helped with the sofa bed if asked (and we have extra heaters too!). I have to admit I do wonder why some guests choose not to speak to us while staying and then leave suggestions of improvement on Trip Advisor….

Sanuk6991, our 24 hour shuttle is provided by a local car park - and they provide an excellent service. The shuttle bus leaves from this hotel and goes to their car park - which can take an additional 1-10 minutes maximum (I've timed it during the busiest mornings). On the way back from the Airport the shuttle stops at the hotel first and then continues its loop back to their car park and to the Airport. As I hope you can appreciate, the Airport decides where the bus stands are located; it is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the terminal.

Thank you again for the comments and we'll will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

My kind regards
Jason Dombrower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Address: 101 Ingliston Road | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated at Edinburgh Airport. Guests enjoy free parking, free WiFi and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing