We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Ranked #78 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Left our car in their secure parking while we flew to Tenerife returned early Saturday morning to check in as we had also booked accommodation awakened after about 3 hours sleep by noisy extractors.
Breakfast was open until 10am when we went for breakfast they began closing the buffet at 09.55
& closed at exactly 10.00 whether you are finished or not.

Room Tip: Consider other accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveS1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi DaveS1950
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbance. I can’t understand what noise could have awoken you. Our kitchen does have typical extractor fans but they are not activated in the middle of the night. In any case I hope you mentioned your dissatisfaction upon departure so that we could have ensured you left happy. Although I am very surprised to read you didn't feel our hotel was a value for money. I am certain you realize that our Park Stay and Go packages are often cheaper than buying parking alone from area car parks. You'll always find these Park Stay and Go packages directly on our IHG.com website for the cheapest rates guaranteed. Thank you for the comments. Jason Dombrower General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    278
    94
    35
    15
See reviews for
107
328
43
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

3rd stay at this location, previous two as the Quality Hotel. Not just a change of name but a whole new experience. It was always handy for the airport and now has a bit of class about it. The rooms are very nice indeed, beautiful bathroom and really nice soap. (We priced it after our holiday - it is quite expensive). As I said great for the airport, bus £2.50 return, car parking just across the road. Free breakfast, available from around 04:00 I believe - we had the extra sleep and missed the breakfast to be at the airport for 04:45 - it only takes a few minutes. We had a late bar meal the night before, probably only rate it as average, but it was perfectly adequate. We will use this hotel again no problem. Did I mention friendly staff too :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Overnight stay for an early flight. Room immaculate, great facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Also included parking and got a good deal on the combined price. Very pleased and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebusFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is very closely located from the Edinburgh airport, which makes it perfect for flights at inconvenient times. There is a shuttle that takes you to the hotel and back for 2,50 GBP (departs from bus stand 3). The rooms are very comfortable, with nice beds and a good bathroom. The breakfast is quite complete.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Attended a conference here some years ago when it was a Quality Inn (complete misnomer)
Stayed there en route to Italy and found it much improved, Standard much the same as other HIEs but very handy for the terminal and excellent value. Possibly the closest of them all and so will use again. Staff very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teuchter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Previously stayed when it was the Quality Inn. It has had a big upgrade and is so much better. Friendly helpful receptionists, lovely rooms, a shower so powerful it made me believe I wasn't really getting up at 4am. I loved staying here, the comfort was all that was needed before an early morning flight. The shuttle to the airport was smooth and easy too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We last stayed in this place about a year or so ago when it was in a real state being reorganised and building work was being carried out. This was again just a one night stop off before flying out on holiday, a sensible way of guaranteeing you are at the airport and nothing can hold you up. The impressiveness begins when you walk down the corridor to your room with that fresh carpet smell and a lush pile beneath your feet. The room was immaculate, as if they'd just taken the wrapping off it? Pristine double bed, very comfortable with pillows labled as soft or medium, a small recess with coat hangers, well you wouldn't need many for a brief stay and tea and coffee making facilities in another recess. I did notice there wasn't a hook anywhere, not that I needed it but I suppose it's one less thing to break off in time? Then we come to the bathroom which was breathtaking, a black tiled, shower cabinet with a shower control you didn't need a degree to operate and a shower head to feel like you were in a downpour. A beautiful, accessible, high sink area sat beneath a wide wall-to-wall mirror. A great size room, not too small or cavernous, just perfect. High quality shower gel and soap is supplied in dispensers not those icky little bottles they expect you to lift and then end up ditching because they stink? The bedroom has no view through the window but what would you expect in a one story airport hotel? All in all, a brilliant hotel room, and decent meals in the restaurant although the beer was at extortionate prices, but aren't they all in hotels?

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms that are located beyond the bar area. Quieter than at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiebard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Address: 101 Ingliston Road | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated at Edinburgh Airport. Guests enjoy free parking, free WiFi and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing