We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay but was pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Ranked #80 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good stay but was pricey”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed for business and was not disappointed, I later found out this was the quality hotel previously.
The rooms where nice and plenty of room within the actual room. I ordered room service then had to go and collect. Very efficient in having the dinner ready what is not the best is getting the tray from the bar to the room, if you are on the ground floor it is ok however on the first floor you have to navigate through the lift making it slight testing(You need steady hands)

I found the hotel to be slightly higher then where I normally stay, however it was peak season so shouldn't complain really.

Bathroom was of a high standard so no complaints there.

All in all not a bad stay and would book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you are having dinner in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilesy0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    278
    95
    35
    15
See reviews for
107
328
43
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wanted to position here to travel the next day, but found the noise, small beds, and limited buffet a fairly unpleasing experience. For my money it would be worth staying in another property in the area if I had an early flight. The staff was very nice and helpful here. WiFi was very slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for the review Bob M. It's great to hear you found the team helpful. We are sorry to read you found the hotel noisy, beds tiny and our breakfast standard limited. Our Express Start breakfast includes a selection of breads, rolls, pain au chocolate, croissants, tinned fruit, fresh fruit, flavored and natural yogurts, a wide selection of jams, marmalade and spreads, 6 different cereals, cheeses as well as sausages, scrambled eggs and beans accompanied by a selection of cold juices and hot beverages so we are disappointed that you felt the breakfast was limited. Our beds are the typical UK (and USA) sized double and twin bedded rooms. We appreciate the feedback. Jason Dombrower General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Average room with expensive price ( but what do you expect in such a place ?).

Breakfast service quality is below average - unfriendly waiter, filthy cups, low food quality.

Shuttle to airport: They charge 2.5 £ for ~ 400 meters !!!

Room Tip: Spend a night there only if you absolutely need it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear bruno h - thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the poor breakfast standard. There is no excuse for the issues you communicated although I hope you mentioned your dissatisfaction upon departure so that we could have reacted! But yes bruno h, as mentioned on our IHG.com website , we have a 24 hour shuttle available - the cost is £2.50 per adult (kids travel free) for a return journey to/from Edinburgh Airport. Regards Jason Dombrower General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Booked for the Commonwealth games as much cheaper than Glasgow prices and was not disappointed, good room, no 123 overlooking the runway but was not too intrusive.
recognised as a platinum member and booked in very pleasantly by SARA who was extremely courteous and helpful. She offered to change our room before we had even seen it as it faced the runway, but this was not too intrusive and we were happy to stay.
Being disabled I was in need of mobility assistance to the airport from the shuttle terminus for our return flight, no problem LAURA spent considerable time to arrange this for me successfully, SARA excelled again by printing out our return boarding pass's.
Chris of the bar staff was also a very helpful member of staff, with a good sense of humour.
SCOTT head chef served us with a most delicious bowl of soup and was kind enough to let us have his secret recipe.
the hotel is an express, but it has all the attributes that that standard H Is have with the exception of the breakfast.
a good stay and will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank vailly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It was very convenient location for one night while travelling to catch an early flight - modern, clean, good value, friendly staff and good wi-fi. No problem sleeping despite being near runway. Only minus - room needs better ventilation or Air Conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king_arthur93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The quality of sleep at the Edinburgh Airport, Holiday Inn Express is very good. Even with the runway just over the fence, landing and departing aircraft are barely heard. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are neat and clean. There is a good selection of TV channels to choose from as well. Pay-per-view movies are available as well. There are no laundry facilities here which is something we were hoping for. A hot tub would have been a welcome amenity as well.

On the downside if a traveler is staying for an extended period and is required to use the internet to work or book travel he or she will find it near impossible to log in while in a room. The only way I was ever able to log into the internet was by going down to the restaurant and lounge area.

Breakfast was included with our room and consisted of the traditional continental items as well as scrambled eggs, sausage, and baked beans. The eggs were of a very unusual consistency and the sausage was a bit tough. Much could be improved in regards to the breakfast.

For lunch and dinner guest may order off the menu located in the bar area. The food is good but very expensive. I would suggest grabbing the 100 bus from the airport for a good meal in downtown Edinburgh.

The Staff was always friendly and helpful. I did have to get my room key re-keyed nine times and they always did it with a smile.

The one elevator that the hotel has is just off center of the hotel so depending on the room one is assigned the trip up and down may be quicker using the stairs. At one point I waited fifteen minutes for the elevator to show and the building is only 2 levels.

We stayed here for two nights and would stay here again if in for just one night. If longer we would stay somewhere else.

See you on the trail and remember, don't be one of "those."
John Eric

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the runway side are of course a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi John F thanks you for the review. I would agree - we are perfect for those guests who need to be close to Edinburgh Airport. As we are located directly on the runway, we couldn’t be more convenient. I am sorry to read of the issues you experienced and I hope you mentioned them to the team. We have struggled with obtaining the connection speeds that some guests desire in their guest rooms (due to our location). But we are listening! We have just organised an additional high speed WIFI line to be connected to the hotel. It will take a couple months for the new fibre optic line to be installed but should improve the speeds throughout the hotel. Thank you again for all the comments and for the patronage. Regards, Jason Dombrower General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel in itself is the best Express I've stayed in. It still has the new carpet smell everywhere.

Staff were really helpful especially Nic on the front desk she was great.

Rooms decorated to a tasteful and high standard.

The wifi is terrible it's on and off like a strobe light not the best when your trying to work.

Food is great too.

I'll be staying here again. But if the wifi isn't sorted it'll be my last as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank D11EVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Address: 101 Ingliston Road | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated at Edinburgh Airport. Guests enjoy free parking, free WiFi and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing