We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad I found this lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Broughton Place

Broughton Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broughton Place
Ranked #224 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So glad I found this lovely B&B”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the stay greatly. There's something about this B&B that makes it really charming - perhaps it's the cobbled street called Broughton Place, the quiet neighbourhood, the room window view of the greeneries; perhaps it's the presentation of the breakfast; perhaps it's the delicious homemade granola, smooth-tasting yogurt, silky scrambled eggs, aromatic tea, tender portobello mushroom; perhaps it's the down comforter, the elegant dressing table, the hot tea/coffee in the room; and perhaps it's the literature books on the shelf... You can feel the character of the owner (Wendy) in many small details, and you can tell that she really cares to make it an enjoyable stay for the guests.

The next morning after coming home, I found myself craving for the breakfast at Broughton Place. Two days afterwards, I had decided to get the ingredients so I can attempt to replicate the breakfast there. I will go back again, even just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MangoSorbetYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmolton, Owner at Broughton Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hello Annie
And thanks so much for such a lovely review and your generous comments regarding my little B&B.
It was a pleasure to have such appreciative guests to stay. I hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at Broughton Place for a couple of nights whilst visiting Edinburgh for the start of the Fringe. We arrived to be met by Wendy who can only be described as a perfect hostess, totally charming and helpful. Shown to our room which was eclectically appointed, everything was spotless and in great taste, very comfy bed and a nice, private view out of the window. The bathroom was effectively en suite but so much better as it is large and again very well equipped with nothing but really good quality.
Breakfast is a gastronomic delight, Wendy does not skimp or save on anything! Everything has to be enjoyed at a slow and comfortable pace!
Broughton Place is well situated for central Edinburgh and we walked to all the venues we visited though taxis are cheap and easy if required, locallyn there are numerous bistros cafes and resturants to from as well as bars and pubs. A few minutes from Waverley Station and also has on road parking which is free at the weekend.

We had a great stay, it is unbelievably quiet for a place so central! Everything was as described and so, so much more!! Well done Wendy, we can't thank you enough and look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rustedandrotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really nice stay. The room is very cute and spacious and everything you need is supplied. A lovely bathroom is also right next door to the room and this is a private bathroom. Wendy (the owner) is very helpful and makes delicious breakfasts but also gives her guests privacy and space to come and go as they please. The location is brilliant; it's very close to nice cafes, bars and shops and a short walking distance to the city center. The area is also very quiet. We will definately stay here again and would not hesitate to tell others about it.
Cara and Ben

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Shimna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My experience at this Bed and Breakfast was absolutely lovely.

The owner, Wendy, is one of the nicest people alive, and accommodated every and all wants and needs I had.

I really was lucky to find this place, as there is no website, and it isn't listed on many review sites. However, now there's a yelp page, so hopefully more people will discover it. The really only way to contact the B&B is by email (which is robertsonwendy@hotmail...).

The room is very private, and very comfortable. I absolutely recommend this place for any getaway with the wife/girlfriend, and really just about any time you travel to Edinburgh.

Wendy cooked my girlfriend and I an amazing breakfast. We started with cereal with milk or yogurt, fresh fruit/berries and tea or freshly pressed coffee. This was followed by eggs, toast, English muffins, tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon and sausage. It was a delicious way to start our mornings in Edinburgh, and probably the best breakfast I've ever had.

Every night, we came back to water, milk and sugar for tea. The second night, Wendy helped us find and book a last minute table at a wonderful restaurant downtown. The restaurant was really busy and we wouldn't have gotten a table without her help.

Whenever I come back to Edinburgh, I will be staying here.

Room Tip: There's only one! and it's quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattSmidebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#18 of 444 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#50 of 444 in Edinburgh
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Place

Property: Broughton Place
Address: 34 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful and cosy apartment in the centre of Edinburgh - 400 metres (TWO MINUTES' WALK) from the airport tram-link, located near the coolest street in town. Own front door. Sleeps up to five people. Three-night minimum stay. Broughton Place Holiday Let is a delightful apartment tucked away in a Georgian (1809) basement flat. While in the heart of the city, it makes a calm and relaxing base, situated in village-like Broughton full of wonderful independent restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. •Fantastically convenient location in Edinburgh's historic New Town only five minutes by cab ride from Edinburgh Waverley railway station, and in ten minutes you can walk to Princes Street. •Comprises two double bedrooms (one with additional single bed), bathroom, second WC, kitchen, outdoor patio.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broughton Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing