We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful haven in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Ranked #49 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at Emmaus recently and had a wonderful few days .The atmosphere was so relaxing after a busy day sightseeing and eating together around a large table was great .I also appreciated the prayer times .thank you everyone for making my stay so enjoyable.I shall certainly be telling everyone about this little gem in the heart of the city .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannercarton39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at Emmaus House in August this year. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Wonderful people and great atmosphere. Excellent accommodation. I can thoroughly recommend staying at this B & B. Judy.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the property. Lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have stayed at Emmaus House a number of times, and I keep returning because of the wonderfully warm welcome, and comfortable rooms, and great location close to the city centre. a real home-from-home. thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariec111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My stay at Emmaus House was one of the highlights of my 3 month trip. Janet, Andrew, Jonathon and their helpers were always warm and friendly and my room was very clean and comfortable. The meals were delicious and I enjoyed the idea of the communal eating so that I felt that I was amongst friends - not just passing through yet another accommodation. It is also handy to the city centre. I will certainly return when I am in the city next.

Room Tip: Try to book early especially if you want to be there during Tattoo/Festival time - rooms this nice g...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Emmaus House on august 2013, the host is so kind (very welcoming and she called a taxi for us) and our room was cleaned and lovely! The house is closed to the city-center (15 min by walk) and we really fell in love with the city which look like a medieval city, enjoyable, with a lot of restaurants (the thai in front of the castle is amazing) and bars. Visiting cimetery at night is a must to do!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alabama713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was my first stay at Emmaus House yet i had the sense i had been there before - i feel this is because of the warmth and made to feel at home sense that i experienced as soon as i walked in. This has much to do with Janet who if you're lucky will be the first person you meet. She is an amazing host.

It is a guesthouse and retreat. Open to all from different walks of life. And maybe that has something also to do with the acceptance that is tangible here as well as a sense of some 'spiritual arms'. The latter are not imposed on you though and indeed if one does not adhere to any spiritual belief, my feeling about Emmaus is one of an unconditional loving community.

I came here with a friend, who already knew about Emmaus and who also was keen to stay with me at this little treasure in Gilmore place. We came to explore the last of the Edinburgh festival. I loved it. I also want to add that my stay here felt just as exciting and inspirational. It is not your traditional guest house. It is more like a home with a something else that i cant find the words for. So i hope i can encourage others to come here and find the words that i'm looking for!

i enjoyed the spaces of sharing -there if we want to share. As round a breakfast table filled with all the tasteful essentials to wake us up. And i love the coffee!

And i'm remembering the quiet holding spaces. To keep me going until I visit you again.

So thank you Janet. And see you soon hopefully...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Edinbrough was a great start of our holiday in Scotland and was made perfect by our stay in Emmaus guesthouse. We've met amazing people and heard the best stories and traveling tips at the breakfast table. The building itself is very nice as is the garden wich looks perfectly suited for spiritual and religious purposes as well. Above all it was a great place to relax and we were really enjoying the hospitality.

Thanx guys

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jpmdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 393 in Edinburgh
478 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 393 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 393 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#46 of 393 in Edinburgh
996 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#39 of 393 in Edinburgh
297 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#55 of 393 in Edinburgh
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Address: 14 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £42 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Christian community offering accommodation for holiday, business/study or retreat. Warm welcome irrespective of age, gender, sexual orientation, religious tradition. Guests welcome to share in meals; meet others from around the world & local visitors. Near city centre,so easily reached on foot or by bus. Convenient to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, pubs, EICC, universities. Georgian terraced villa. Accommodation: family, double, twin, single - most en-suite. Ground floor room available. Sitting room. Wifi internet. Happy to help with enquiries about the house, this wonderful city, local transport, and other local attractions in Lothian. Our visitor reviews give a very good perspective on staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing