We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emmaus House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Ranked #45 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Emmaus House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were guests of Emmaus House in August 2013. This lovely B & B was the luckiest find of our trip. Our room, situated overlooking the garden and chapel, was comfortable, cosy and very nicely appointed. Andrew carried our bags to our room then made us a welcoming cup of tea. Emmaus House is within easy walking distance of town or you could catch one of the very frequent buses on the main road just around the corner. There are eateries and services close by. Emmaus House is very clean and reasonably priced.
There is a peaceful atmosphere about Emmaus House and after a day's sightseeing, it is a lovely place to come back to.
I particularly enjoyed chatting around the kitchen table with Andrew, Janet, Jonathan and the other guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My mom, my 2 sisters, and I all stayed at Emmaus House and had a absolutely wonderful time! We really enjoyed the group meals because it gave us a chance to meet people from all over. The home is really lovely and warm to receiving guests. Jonathan was there to greet us when we arrived and really is such a love. Anything you need, he's got it. :) My mom even forgot her umbrella (don't forget yours!) and he was kind enough to let her borrow one. We didn't get to spend a lot of time with Janet but the time we did she was a fantastic hostess! Not a far distance walk to the castle, Jonathan can give you the directions to get there the fastest. :) Don't second guess staying here. It is clean, it is cozy, and it has some of the most beautiful people running it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Believe the reviews, kind, welcoming, clean but basic accomodation at a brill price in a central location and don't stress about the christain backdrop to the place. They don't ram it down your throat if you are not intereted and everyone is welcome. Thank you Emmaus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at emmaus house from the 15-19th September . We were initially greeted by the warm and friendly Janet, who made us a lovely pot of tea on entry with biscuits. We were then shown to our amazing room , it was room no. 3, it was well decorated and very spacious . The evening meals and morning breakfasts were lovely not only because the food was great, but the people were to . There were people from America , Canada , Australia , Italy , Prague , Scotland , England and i am sure that there were many others . It was a wonderful experience to have the ability to talk to literally the world at the dinner table . I would definitely recommend emmaus house to anyone , whether you want to see the sights or meet some wonderful people .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleygh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Andrew and Janet were welcoming from the very get go! Gorgeous en-suite room, and the B&B was very central, within great walking distance to lots of sights. Myself and my boyfriend stayed there for 4 nights and our personal highlight was the dinner special at £7.50 for two courses. This alongside meeting different people from around the world was something really enjoyable for us! Would definitely recommend and go back again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyinponderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at Emmaus recently and had a wonderful few days .The atmosphere was so relaxing after a busy day sightseeing and eating together around a large table was great .I also appreciated the prayer times .thank you everyone for making my stay so enjoyable.I shall certainly be telling everyone about this little gem in the heart of the city .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tannercarton39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at Emmaus House in August this year. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Wonderful people and great atmosphere. Excellent accommodation. I can thoroughly recommend staying at this B & B. Judy.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the property. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#48 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Star Villa
#133 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#131 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adam Drysdale House
#189 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Property: Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Address: 14 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Christian community offering accommodation for holiday, business/study or retreat. Warm welcome irrespective of age, gender, sexual orientation, religious tradition. Guests welcome to share in meals; meet others from around the world & local visitors. Near city centre,so easily reached on foot or by bus. Convenient to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, pubs, EICC, universities. Georgian terraced villa. Accommodation: family, double, twin, single - most en-suite. Ground floor room available. Sitting room. Wifi internet. Happy to help with enquiries about the house, this wonderful city, local transport, and other local attractions in Lothian. Our visitor reviews give a very good perspective on staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing