We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilmerton Cove

Gilmerton Cove
Ranked #25 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enter one of Scotland's most curious heritage sites. An archeological mystery that has baffled investigators for over 300 years. Gilmerton Cove is a series of chambers and passageways lying hidden beneath the streets on the South side of Edinburgh. Join us on a guided tour and help us unravel the mysteries of this strange mysterious labyrinth. Please note this attraction is by appointment only, please call to book a slot.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Totally unique and fascinating! I wasn't sure what to expect but we want to go back and explore some more. Our guide was lovely and the guys there couldn't do enough for you. Bargain at only a fiver!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison82Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    137
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting......but.....”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

For the money this was good value. But, with so few facts relating to the true origin of this hole that has been dug I can't help but feel a little 'done over'. It wouldn't surprise me f this wasn't some persons folly who found they could make some money out of early tourism, having illegal drinking sessions and holding a bit of a boys club down there. I built a tree house once. This seems to be a far more elaborate version of the same.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robski67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetteren, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mysterious”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went to the Gilmerton Cove on the 28th of july 2012. When we arrived on the spot, we were waiting outside since the door was closed. You have to knock on the door and they'll let you in. Margaret welcomed us inside and we waited on 3 other people. For our own safety we had to wear a helmet when we went down the stairs. This attraction is inaccessible for people in a wheelchair. Margaret was a wonderful guide and she told us about the different theories about the cove. We were very intruiged by all the things we've heard and seen down there. We really enjoyed our visit and will recommend it to other people. This is well worth a visit when you're in or near Edinburgh.
The guided tour took around 45 minutes and after that you could wander around to explore some more of the cove and take some pictures. We've paid £5 p.p. There are no toilet facilities inside, but you can use the toilets next door (in Ladbrokes)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and unique tour”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Fun and interesting tour- Wonderful tour guide! I really enjoyed hearing all the different theories surrounding this cove.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank joyfultx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A secret place well worth a look”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hidden in a quiet cottage you would never guess what lies beneath. With a fantastic knowledgeable guide Gilmerton Cove is a place you must visit. The price is very reasonable and information fascinating. A real treasure worthy of looking at. There is more waiting to be discovered underneath our streets .......

Helpful?
3 Thank Gillyanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilmerton Cove also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Gilmerton Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing