We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Spent 3 nights at the Royal Scots Club with my mum in a twin room. Initial impressions were excellent as the entrance etc was clearly very historic and interesting. Reception staff were very friendly. Our room was on the top floor and to the rear of the hotel. the view was right out to the Firth of Forth over the roof tops, but below was back yards of other properties. Our room was spacious enough and the beds very comfortable (only downside was the sheets and blankets and no duvets) ,pillows were really plump though!
The room was kitted with everything that you would need. The TV wasn't working properly (one channel and no remote), but we were told that the hotel is undergoing TV upgrades.
Breakfast was great - very good variety from choice of cereal to all types of hot breakfast dishes all served in/on full china dinner service. Breakfast is served in the members dining room and is quiet a grand affair but a little reserved and quiet for our liking (could of done with some quiet background music) Didn't have chance to sample any other meals at the hotel - too busy out and about in Edinburgh. Location of the hotel was in the new town and just a few minutes walk up a slight incline to Queens Street/George Street, which runs parrell with the street that the hotel is on
Overall, the hotel was very traditional and oldy worldy and slightly reserved, but we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFDICheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Scots Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2007

We stayed at the Royal Scots Club for a week during the Edinburgh Festival August 2007. I booked it in Nov 2006, I overheard him saying that for August 2008 you definitely need to book by Feb 2008.

This is a private members club, which is also a very nice, slightly formal, historic, central hotel. The walk up to Princes St is not too long (though quite vertical!), & as the previous person pointed out - there is no lift & most rooms are 2 floors up. However you do need this exercise, because the breakfast is excellent & huge.

The rooms are pleasantly decorated, with ok beds (sheets & blankets - I personally prefer a duvet) & a fixed shower head (I personally prefer one I can move), but otherwise very nice. Very pleasant & helpful people, expecially the housekeeping staff.

Mostly an older clientele, but I think if you are over 30 you would fit in fine.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Had a great 3 nights at the Club. Everything was first class, would recommend to anyone. However, if requiring a lift is a problem to you perhaps you may wish to think it through. The rooms are on three levels with no lift. Not a problem to most people but might be to some.
Great experience, would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights whilst attending a family wedding. We booked a room with a four poster bed; as a member I get a reasonable discount. The room had excellent views over the local private garden and acres of space. Decor wise, the room was traditional and comfortable but not overblown.

The Club has a great deal of character. Breakfast is excellent with table service and ample helpings. The bar is also very reasonably priced.

Be aware that when you stay here you are coming to a private club - this gives it a unique and friendly atmosphere not seen at hotels. In reality, the premium rooms are luxurious and extremely well appointed. However as a member I expect this as part of my annual subscription. As a non member you would be well advised to pick a large room, and make sure you enjoy the dining room for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunc_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Just had a lovely overnight stay at The Royal Scots Club. Booked a standard double room but because there was spare capacity they upgraded us to a kingsize bedroom. Found the hotel well sited for all the attractions, the place was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Just returned from a weekend break in Edinburgh, during which I was absolutely delighted by the Royal Scots Club hotel. Not somewhere I was previously aware of, and probably not somewhere I would have sought out if it hadn't come to my attention on the Visit Scotland website, but one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in over the course of many years of travel. The setting is perfect - 5 minutes' walk from the main shopping area around George street, 10-15 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and 5 minutes' from Stockbridge. The location is peaceful and quiet and the hotel overlooks gardens across the road at the front. The ambience inside is superb - very genteel and traditional. The reception staff are lovely - the perfect combination of friendliness and politeness, and extremely helpful with even the smallest request. Rooms are large and comfortable and some have superb views. Breakfast is excellent with a good range of choices and all nicely cooked and presented. The lounge/bar is both formal and cosy with an open fire and large sofas to relax in. There is a dress code but it is nothing onorous - no shorts, cut-off jeans etc, and men need to wear a jacket in the dining room. All in all, a delightful and very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

We got back yesterday from a 3 night break in this Hotel/Club and found its position to restaurants, sight-seeing and - though we didn't intend - shopping - totally convenient.

We'd upgraded our room before we went as we felt we needed a bit more space as at this time of year we would be spending a little more time indoors. We'd got a very good deal from Checkin2 so this was worth it. The 6ft bed was mmmm...so comfy.

The staff are very friendly , breakfasts good, not all greasy, but it's a shame the fire in the lounge wasn't on all the time (it does get put on if you are in there!) as it does put the lid on sociability. Not an issue but rather mean. We met more of the guests in the street when the fire alarms went off at 11pm and we had to evacuate!!

Overall, a nice stay and would not hesitate to go there again.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank Krassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,279 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing