We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We did had a great time at this historical hotel! Very friendly staff, very clean rooms, nice view at the gardens, a nice tv, clean bathroom. Many spaces for your luggage. Iron, hair dryer, everything you need to enjoy your trip. A nice patio also for smokers :). Very nice bar and they had a great coffee! Totally recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

And now for the bad things:
Maybe I was just very unlucky that I stayed in of the 2 lower bedrooms, but it was COLD and I couldn't heat up the room. It was late April and I think the room was colder than it was outside. Had to sleep with socks and a long sleeved shirt! In the +50 cities in +25 countries I have visited, I have never experienced such a cold room. The Bathroom had a nice size, except in hight. I am 186 cm, and I couldn't stand under the showerhead.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. Not only to me, but I also noticed that they provided good service to others. They deserve a top grade. However, I think that my experience with the cold room and lousy bath, I can't defend to give it higher than 3 stars. The general condition of the hotel isn't high, but on the other hand it's rather cheap so you can't expect too much.

All in all I'm sure that the're better places, and the next time I come to Edinburgh, I'll choose another hotel, and I won't recommend it to friends or family.

Thank AllanBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2013

top class hotel, very clean, you have to dress for breakfast, which is OK. fantastic location just 2 streets behind the famous princes street. rooms are spacious with a dressing area and seating for enjoying a spot of reading. rooms to the front over look a lovely park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

5 - 10 minutes to walk to Waverly Station, the Hotel is opposite a park and not far to the town Center and the old town. In the nearer area a lot of bars and Restaurants. The public area in the Hotel is beautiful, but the wooden furnishings in the room are slightly used. But our room was very clean.
Cold and served warm breakfast was good. The coffee set with the HRH-Emblem.
The staff (especially the Lady with the curly hair at the reception) was very nice, very helpful and very friendly. We enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great service, friendly staff and brilliant location. Usually stay here when in Edinburgh as part of my IoD Membership - good discount and superb location near the city centre. Fantastic breakfast served in wonderful setting. Happy for you to leave overnight bags for pick up after check out - great touch which saves real hassle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNicolInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked to stay here for two nights in March 2013 using reciprocal membership of a club in Bristol.

The room was amazing. It had a four poster bed, tv, excellent bathroom and beautiful wooden fittings. The tea and coffee facilities were very good. Everything in the hotel smacked of quality and lent a luxurious feel to our stay. The public rooms were equally nice. The dining room served bespoke breakfasts and à la carte dinners. Breakfast portions were huge and definitely set us up for the day. The dinner menu displayed traditional Scottish food, which was well cooked and served by friendly and attentive staff.

The only downside to staying here is that parking is virtually impossible without paying the hefty Edinburgh prices, but this is a problem throughout the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We chose the venue because of location and the events team made us feel so welcome. The food was outstanding all the staff were outstanding, we were made to feel very special. Nothing was to much trouble. We stayed on the night and the rooms were fabulous. In our option a excellent wedding venue.

Room Tip: Room 16 is a four poster room a very nice room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank postiesaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing