We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #18 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews about the 'basement rooms' I was slightly concerned when we were checked straight into one on arrival. But I had nothing to worry about. The room was great the decor was classic and well finished and the beds were very comfortable. The dining experience in the dining room and the comfort of the old bar were highlights. Despite the club being full of golfers (it was Open weekend) the staff were fantastic, helpful and as friendly as it gets. Class establishment and lots of fun for someone looking for a slightly old world experience.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JimmyRGOlfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    256
    57
    20
    13
See reviews for
153
415
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After finally negotiating a few days away from our children, my husband and I chose to stay at the Royal Scots Club after hearing how good it was. We arrived to be greeted by a very happy and helpful lady at reception and walked through to our room which was the most characterful and relaxing we have stayed at so far. We stayed in rm 16 and found it to be roomy, fresh and clean. The use of original/ period pieces added to the feel of the room. I can't praise the cleaning staff enough, the was not a square millimetre that didn't gleam, they deserve awards for the UKs best and most conciencious. The staff at breakfast were helpful and friendly and provide a substantial breakfast to start your day. All in all we found the club to be a hidden beauty that we will return to again and again and we have advised our friends to book in too if they are ever in Edinburgh. If you are sick of all the modern identical functional rooms that you find in the vast majority of hotels, you will love a stay here. If you are in any doubt about staying here, just do it!!!

Room Tip: Rm 16 was large and quiet and a room I will stay in again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived at the club at short notice after having to move from our pre-arranged accommodation which was unsuitable. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful and within about 15 minutes had made up a room to meet our needs (sofa bed and extra pillows for child guest they weren't expecting).

The location was excellent - rooms great and an excellent breakfast to start the day. An extra tea cup and extra milk were brought up our room on request with no fuss.

I would def. recommend this hotel & would consider staying again when we return to Edinburgh in future.

Our taxi driver also spoke very highly of the club as ex Scots military who had attended a number of functions at the club!

Room Tip: We had room 8 for two adults and a child which was more than satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had our wedding reception here on July 6th 2013. The venue was amazing, and the staff were attentive, courteous and friendly. The food was fantastic also. We stayed overnight and the room was bright and spacious, worth every penny. The breakfast was great, lots of choice and cooked to perfection. Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickymc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Royal Scots Club is on the old-fashioned side of traditional but is very comfortable with attentive staff and good facilities. It is well-placed for central Edinburgh attractions and it represents good value. Some of the rooms are better than others and there is sometimes some noise but then perhaps that is the product of staying in any city centre.

We enjoyed breakfast but otherwise the food was only average - we felt that there were much better places to eat a stone's throw away.

We attended a business meeting in the hotel and the room was ideal and we would use the hotel for this purpose again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement - there is more natural light elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After a wonderful 6 day trip with Robbie's Tour of the outer Hebrides & Sky in Scotland....arrived back in Eninburgh for a 2 day stay.....upon checking in discovered that their Internet service was not available due to technical reasons....this was on a Sunday and it had not been in service since at least Saturday.....and after 3 days it was still not up.....we stayed at some pretty small B&B's on the outer islands and Sky and each and everyone had up and running Internet service....the room we had (#14) was average to sub-average in every respect....and as I find more and more the front desk staff is the highlight of the property....and this certainly true at this property.....

Room Tip: Try not to end up in either rooms 14 or 15......and if your 6 feet tall or over the bathroom in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for a night before going to the Open at Muirfield. A 10 minute walk from the station through St Andrews Square to lovely air conditioned hotel to escape the unseasonably hot British summer. The room was a good size with modern decor and a good sized bathroom. The only downside was the room i had was on level B3 which was down from the ground floor meaning there was no real view from the window. The staff were all friendly and helpful, even the night proter who let us in after a rather late night on the town!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,262 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Property: The Royal Scots Club
Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing