We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Wedding 14 June 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #18 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“My Wedding 14 June 2014”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

All I can say is wow. The venue itself is extremely central, but not in the hustle bustle. The building is stunning with the old Georgian look. The rooms have recently been decorated which gave it a new feel and I couldn't fault the cleanliness. Everything you could need was in the room. The food was amazing, both at breakfast (good selection) and for catering my wedding - every plate was presented the same and the food was hot. As for the staff, each and every one of them were friendly and professional. No request was too big over the weekend and they helped with every little thing. I cannot thank them enough (especially Ayesha) for what they did for us in the run up to the wedding and on the day itself. I would whole heartedly recommend them to any looking for a city centre venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    241
    49
    17
    12
See reviews for
133
376
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is extremely charming, with loads of history and great traditional decor in the common areas. That being said, it could benefit from a few updates... They use actual keys rather than key cards for the rooms which we initially thought was unique and fun. As it turns out this means you leave your key with the staff each time you leave. While the staff was rather friendly, occasionally this was uncomfortable as they were very aware of our comings and goings and would make comments. Also if there was a queue at the front desk (as only one person works at a time) we waited upwards of five minutes or so just to retrieve our key. After a long day with loads of walking sometimes you just want to go straight to your room and lay down.

On this note, there are no "Do not disturb" signs in the rooms. After being jet lagged and exhausted from exploring the city we were looking forward to sleeping in. This was nearly impossible. Around 9 am the house keeper knocks very loudly, this could easily be avoided with a simple sign on the door. This happened anytime we were in our room past 9. One particular day the housekeeper knocked very lightly and before I could respond she was entering our room. There was very little privacy or anonymity at this hotel. This could be a great place to stay for someone traveling alone on business, but as a couple on vacation we felt pretty uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lovely hotel with very approachable and personable staff. Luxurious enough to make you feel like you're having a real holiday treat without being over the top. The beds are large and comfortable, and the room we were in had stunning views across the Firth of Forth. Immaculately clean, the rooms also have everything you may possibly need and more besides, from electrical requirements right down to disposable shower caps. Breakfast offers a plentiful choice in a beautiful setting. Very happy and would use this hotel again

Room Tip: Room 8 has a very relaxing feel to it, and the view is lovely , especially at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandymoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here October half term hols for a 4 nights with 12 year old son (mum in law also joined us for first two nights). Both of the rooms we were allocated were on the second floor close to each other despite a very late booking for the second room, both were decorated differently but
very nicely and were very clean. Staff here were very nice and knew which rooms we had as we returned each day, placing our room keys (yes proper keys) on the desk as we entered the door
each evening after our Edinburgh explorations, nice attention to detail I feel. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as we arrived on the Saturday and planned to meet a Canadian cousin currently studying at Edinburgh Uni that evening for a meal in the Grassmarket and the restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings. Mum had to leave on the Monday and the rest of our stay was spent eating at various restaurant with my eldest son and his lovely girlfriend, a pretty packed 4 days!! We did eat breakfast every morning in the restaurant which was lovely with a good selection of cold and and excellent choice of cooked all cooked to order (no buffet here thank goodness). Some reviewers have commented on the military theme as a negative but I actually found it quite interesting having had a father who was in the Coldstream Guards (a champion young solider at shooting) and in later life a reservist involved in the Falklands conflict, my youngest son who never met his grandfather also showed a keen interest in the military objects displayed around the hotel. I understand that this hotel is classed in parts as a members club which attracts certain privileges i.e private members and guests only areas (and why not) but I was a little unsure if the guest sign meant hotel guests or members guests causing me to stray into these areas as I like to look around, but no one appeared to object. Being naturally inquisitive mum and I ventured to the newer part of the hotel and discovered a different feel to the older part with a large cellar bar area, function rooms and more bedrooms, no one bothered us and we thoroughly enjoyed our adventure, this is a great place. An added bonus, I know it was October but the weather was kind to us, is the small outdoor decked seating area adjacent to the bar where you can sit with a glass of wine,(smokers do not need to stand out in the street). To conclude I feel that the best asset this hotel has apart from the beautiful building and excellent location not that far from Princes St, is the staff employed there, they are friendly, attentive, courteous and very professional, we cannot wait to go back, not cheap but well worth a visit (try booking .com)

Room Tip: Liked the rooms in the front of the original building overlooking the gardens which you have access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had our wedding & reception here & I could not recommend the place highly enough, the staff are all very friendly & extremely helpful, they contributed hugely to a perfect day. The venue is beautiful & if you're looking to get married in central Edinburgh, look no further.

My Wife & I were also invited to try the restaurant prior to the wedding & the food was amazing.

We also stayed at the hotel on our wedding night & the room was stunning.

5/5 all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mook1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend for the wife to go to the Romantic Authors and Readers event and found the hotel to be excelent Value.
Room was large with fourposter bed and very clean.
Breakfast was great and filling for a long day ahead.
Hotel is only a short 5 min stroll to centre of Edinbrugh (princess street).
The feel of this hotel is of an Oficers club/mess which it more than likely wasin the 1930's
staff were all friendly nd polte and if I come back to stay in Edinbrugh I would book again

Room Tip: Room 3 on second floor is large looking out to queens gardens and has fourposter bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Three couples stayed at the Royal Scots Club on June 21-22, and we were all pleased with the accommodations & location. Two ground floor double rooms were spacious with large bathrooms; the third room was on the second floor and had a great view of the Firth of Forth, but its size made it less desirable. Breakfast was expensive but well done, except the poached eggs had a bit of a vinegary taste. The staff was very accommodating. The lounge, bar area, terrace and main foyer were very beautiful and well appointed, honoring the Royal Scots nicely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Property: The Royal Scots Club
Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing