We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Scots Club
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
625
297
64
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
297
64
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen street gardensjacket and tiemembers clubfour posterwedding venuekippersprinces streetroom was largequiet streetcomfortable hotelfull scottish breakfastexcellent breakfastwithin easy walking distancelovely roomcentral edinburghenjoyable stayfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is the second time I've reviewed this, and one year on it is still as good as the first time.

This time the room was only £95. The room was at the front this time. This has the advantage that you overlook Queen St gardens, but the disadvantage that it is a lot noisier than rooms at the back.

Service and breakfast remain excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Large spacious rooms with big beds. A taste of old world charm and character. Good location within 5 minutes walk of main shops on Princess Street. Tasty breakfast as well. For the money £100/night you can't beat it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Well situated in the centre of Edinburgh, 10 minutes walk from the station. The staff were helpful and we were upgraded free of charge to a room with a four-poster bed on our arrival. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and chaise-lounge and view that over looked a park. Low speed wi-fi was available and this made an excellent base to explore the city.

As this hotel is adjoined to the Royal Scots Club my fiancee didn't feel entirely comfortable with the gentlemen's club atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonPeligro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I booked the Royal Scots Club for a Halloween break and was really pleased with the price, especially when compared with the accommodation deals in larger hotels along Prince's Street.
On arrival we were upgraded to a four poster bed room, and although we had a bit of a climb up the stairs, the room was comfortable and pleasant to spend time in. The hotel was really convenient for both the New Town and Prince's Street but also quiet at night. Ladies, one note - this is a gentlemen's club and as such the soap/shampoo provided are slightly 'unfeminine' in smell!
Breakfasts were fine and we did feel uncomfortable with the dress code in public areas - overall I enjoyed the idea of something different with a sense of history.
The Club was pleasantly busy at night with meetings/parties, and we had a lovely sense of being away from the tourist trail (without disturbing noise).
I would recommend this as a place to stay if you do not mind walking a bit and would like something different...

1  Thank SBamberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Good location , over the hill from Princes Street .....though this hill is a bit steep for a short while and would be tricky for people with walking problems. Whole hotel is spotlessly clean and furnished in quite a grand and traditional style. Fabulous soft white , large bathroom towels , Molten Brown shower and hair "stuff" and a superb power shower. On the down side , the Scottish breakfast is poor with very bland sausages, bacon and black pudding . A better alternative is to order 2 poached eggs with smoked salmon and wholemeal brown toast. William at reception was utterly charming and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews