We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
700
327
66
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
327
66
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen street gardens jacket and tie private park members club four poster bed kippers quiet street princes street full scottish breakfast room was large comfortable hotel lovely room central edinburgh high ceilings few minutes walk would definitely stay here again breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,010 - 1,015 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is old with a lot of old fictures etc but very charming and clean. It had a lot of character. Our room was huge with a big comfortable bed. The only complaint was that the TV was old and small but we were not in Scotland to watch TV anyway. The staff was helpful and courteous. We were able to walk every where from this location. They were filming a movie at the hotel 2 days that we were there and Princess Anne was there one night for a function of some kind but we were never disturbed by noise or made to feel "in the way". Would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is the second time I've reviewed this, and one year on it is still as good as the first time.

This time the room was only £95. The room was at the front this time. This has the advantage that you overlook Queen St gardens, but the disadvantage that it is a lot noisier than rooms at the back.

Service and breakfast remain excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Large spacious rooms with big beds. A taste of old world charm and character. Good location within 5 minutes walk of main shops on Princess Street. Tasty breakfast as well. For the money £100/night you can't beat it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Well situated in the centre of Edinburgh, 10 minutes walk from the station. The staff were helpful and we were upgraded free of charge to a room with a four-poster bed on our arrival. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and chaise-lounge and view that over looked a park. Low speed wi-fi was available and this made an excellent base to explore the city.

As this hotel is adjoined to the Royal Scots Club my fiancee didn't feel entirely comfortable with the gentlemen's club atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonPeligro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I booked the Royal Scots Club for a Halloween break and was really pleased with the price, especially when compared with the accommodation deals in larger hotels along Prince's Street.
On arrival we were upgraded to a four poster bed room, and although we had a bit of a climb up the stairs, the room was comfortable and pleasant to spend time in. The hotel was really convenient for both the New Town and Prince's Street but also quiet at night. Ladies, one note - this is a gentlemen's club and as such the soap/shampoo provided are slightly 'unfeminine' in smell!
Breakfasts were fine and we did feel uncomfortable with the dress code in public areas - overall I enjoyed the idea of something different with a sense of history.
The Club was pleasantly busy at night with meetings/parties, and we had a lovely sense of being away from the tourist trail (without disturbing noise).
I would recommend this as a place to stay if you do not mind walking a bit and would like something different...

1  Thank SBamberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews