We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mews Cottage is not really a part of hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I booked a room at The Royal Scots Club through laterooms.com and thought it was a reasonable rate for a room in a convenient location of the city until we saw the room, and we were caught totally off guard.. It was the "Mews Cottage" which is inconveniently located a long block and half around the back of the hotel with an outside door double locked . On check- in the receptionist tried to convince us that it was very nice roomy and private...sure. All the windows and the front door faced a construction dumpster which a worker had still been loading on our first afternoon's stay. Even with closed windows it was very noisy. The front desk was helpful enough with other things but would not give us another room in the hotel even though we would have paid extra for another room within the hotel . They certainly would not have been able to re-rent this Mews Cottage so easily. You cannot access the hotel through the back door unless someone walks down 3 flightsof steep stairs and opens it, and the staff seems very limited since no one was ever available. The alley which we had to walk around was not well lighted and so dark in the evening that we carried a flashlight. Taxi drivers had to stop at the front of the hotel to get exact directions to drive around to the back to access the Mews Cottage. The 2 bedroom apartment may work nicely for a family since it was neat and clean but was definitely not an enjoyable stay for my husband and me.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

Booked the hotel for our annual visit to the Tattoo, Previous stays have been at Radisson or similar but the price hike due to festival got too much (£240 night) The Royal Scots club charged £130 a night and offered a much better experience. We were a little worried about the formality reading some of the other reviews but found the "rules" totally relaxed , people in the breakfast room in jeans and sweatshirts, enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the library and reading room where you could sit and read through a good selection of current magazines and daily newspapers. Our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet, not an overlarge room but with the comfortable surrounding you only used it to sleep so not a problem, bathroom and toiletries supplied very good. Front desk staff very helpful checking tours on the internet and ringing bus companies on our behalf. Have provisionally booked for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Scots Club on 25th July and enjoyed our stay very much. The club is very traditional (note that there's a dress code for the dining room), but is also very peaceful and the staff are notably friendly - it is the latter quality, in particular, which lightens the otherwise slightly archaic formality of the place and gives it a real warmth. We were very pleased to be upgraded to a room with a 4-poster bed when we arrived, and the room was so large that it made the bed look small! Positioned at the back of the building the room was extremely peaceful and the only sound was that of the swifts darting about in the sunset. Breakfast was relaxed and offered a good selection of cooked options, including porridge. Check-out was quick and efficient - the Club is fairly small, so you don't have to queue like you do in some of the chain hotels - and we left feeling refreshed and as though we'd had a brief, welcoming, holiday in a slightly more graceful time. If you stay there, though, do pack a tie and jacket!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trouserpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Just wanted to compliment the staff, particularly Morag and William at the front desk -- but everyone, actually -- for their kind attention.Service discreet but efficient. It's a great base in Edinburgh -- close to nice shops in the New Town and 20 minutes' to the castle. Nice breakfasts too. Good restaurants closeby. Would recommend Stac Polly on Dublin Street around the corner for excellent Scottish food (try the Haggis parcels in plum sauce), and La Rusticana on Hanover Street for no-nonsense pizza and pasta

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Infantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is old with a lot of old fictures etc but very charming and clean. It had a lot of character. Our room was huge with a big comfortable bed. The only complaint was that the TV was old and small but we were not in Scotland to watch TV anyway. The staff was helpful and courteous. We were able to walk every where from this location. They were filming a movie at the hotel 2 days that we were there and Princess Anne was there one night for a function of some kind but we were never disturbed by noise or made to feel "in the way". Would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is the second time I've reviewed this, and one year on it is still as good as the first time.

This time the room was only £95. The room was at the front this time. This has the advantage that you overlook Queen St gardens, but the disadvantage that it is a lot noisier than rooms at the back.

Service and breakfast remain excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Large spacious rooms with big beds. A taste of old world charm and character. Good location within 5 minutes walk of main shops on Princess Street. Tasty breakfast as well. For the money £100/night you can't beat it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing