We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
690
323
65
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
323
65
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen street gardensjacket and tieprivate parkmembers clubfour poster bedkippersquiet streetprinces streetfull scottish breakfastroom was largecomfortable hotellovely roomcentral edinburghhigh ceilingsfew minutes walkwould definitely stay here againenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Booked the hotel for our annual visit to the Tattoo, Previous stays have been at Radisson or similar but the price hike due to festival got too much (£240 night) The Royal Scots club charged £130 a night and offered a much better experience. We were a little worried about the formality reading some of the other reviews but found the "rules" totally relaxed , people in the breakfast room in jeans and sweatshirts, enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the library and reading room where you could sit and read through a good selection of current magazines and daily newspapers. Our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet, not an overlarge room but with the comfortable surrounding you only used it to sleep so not a problem, bathroom and toiletries supplied very good. Front desk staff very helpful checking tours on the internet and ringing bus companies on our behalf. Have provisionally booked for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Scots Club on 25th July and enjoyed our stay very much. The club is very traditional (note that there's a dress code for the dining room), but is also very peaceful and the staff are notably friendly - it is the latter quality, in particular, which lightens the otherwise slightly archaic formality of the place and gives it a real warmth. We were very pleased to be upgraded to a room with a 4-poster bed when we arrived, and the room was so large that it made the bed look small! Positioned at the back of the building the room was extremely peaceful and the only sound was that of the swifts darting about in the sunset. Breakfast was relaxed and offered a good selection of cooked options, including porridge. Check-out was quick and efficient - the Club is fairly small, so you don't have to queue like you do in some of the chain hotels - and we left feeling refreshed and as though we'd had a brief, welcoming, holiday in a slightly more graceful time. If you stay there, though, do pack a tie and jacket!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trouserpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Just wanted to compliment the staff, particularly Morag and William at the front desk -- but everyone, actually -- for their kind attention.Service discreet but efficient. It's a great base in Edinburgh -- close to nice shops in the New Town and 20 minutes' to the castle. Nice breakfasts too. Good restaurants closeby. Would recommend Stac Polly on Dublin Street around the corner for excellent Scottish food (try the Haggis parcels in plum sauce), and La Rusticana on Hanover Street for no-nonsense pizza and pasta

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Infantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is old with a lot of old fictures etc but very charming and clean. It had a lot of character. Our room was huge with a big comfortable bed. The only complaint was that the TV was old and small but we were not in Scotland to watch TV anyway. The staff was helpful and courteous. We were able to walk every where from this location. They were filming a movie at the hotel 2 days that we were there and Princess Anne was there one night for a function of some kind but we were never disturbed by noise or made to feel "in the way". Would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is the second time I've reviewed this, and one year on it is still as good as the first time.

This time the room was only £95. The room was at the front this time. This has the advantage that you overlook Queen St gardens, but the disadvantage that it is a lot noisier than rooms at the back.

Service and breakfast remain excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews